Hiking and skiing opportunities are endless in Sirmilik National Park, while there are no designated travel routes, park staff will be able to help you with trip planning.


Hiking

A high plateau and broad river valleys of the Borden Peninsula and the variety of terrain of Bylot Island are prime hiking destinations in the park. In the Southwest region of Bylot there are extensive opportunities for wildlife viewing from foxes to geese. Most hikes on Bylot Island will put you up-close to numerous ancient glaciers whose grandeur can occupy your entire view. With 16 glaciers to choose from on Bylot Island alone, the hardest part of your trip will be deciding which ones to visit. Your approach to the glaciers is across varied terrain that will provide you with a hands-on experience into the world of glacial features and how their movement sculpts this land.


Skiing, mountaineering and glacier travel

Sirmilik National Park is ‘the place of glaciers’. Spring (late March to early June) is the ideal time for ski touring and mountaineering here, especially on Bylot Island. Groups planning to do glacier travel should have an experienced leader and have thorough knowledge of glacier travel including crevasse rescue.

Bylot Island can be seen from Pond Inlet. Visitors who only have a day or two can hire local outfitters to bring them to the island by boat or snow machine depending on the season for a short day hike or visit to Sermilik Glacier. Contact our office or an outfitter directly to discuss what trip would be best for you.

Les possibilités de randonnée et de ski sont infinies au Parc national Sirmilik, même s’il n’y a pas de sentier désigné dans le parc. Le personnel du parc vous aidera à planifier votre voyage.


Randonnée

Le haut plateau et les vastes vallées de la péninsule Borden, ainsi que le relief diversifié de l’île Bylot, sont des endroits exceptionnels pour pratiquer la randonnée. Dans la partie sud-ouest de l’île Bylot il y a de superbes possibilités d’observation de la faune, qu’il s’agisse de renards ou d’oies. La plupart des randonnées sur l’île Bylot vous amèneront près de nombreux glaciers anciens dont les dimensions remplissent parfois tout votre champ de vision. Avec 16 glaciers à visiter sur la seule île Bylot, la partie la plus difficile du voyage sera de choisir lesquels visiter. Votre approche des glaciers se fera par des terrains variés qui vous donneront une expérience de première main du monde de la glace et de la façon dont le mouvement des glaciers a sculpté ce pays.


Ski, alpinisme et excursion sur un glacier

Le Parc national Sirmilik est le « lieu des glaciers ». Le printemps (de la fin mars au début juin) est la saison idéale pour faire du ski de randonnée et de l’alpinisme à Sirmilik, en particulier sur l’île Bylot. Les groupes qui planifient de faire des expéditions vers le glacier doivent être accompagnés d’un chef de groupe expérimenté et avoir une connaissance approfondie des expéditions de glacier incluant les sauvetages dans les crevasses.

On peut apercevoir l’île de Bylot depuis Pond Inlet. Les visiteurs qui n’ont qu’une journée ou deux peuvent retenir les services d’un pourvoyeur local pour qu’il les amène à l’île, par bateau ou motoneige selon la saison, pour une courte randonnée ou une visite du glacier Sirmilik. Communiquez avec notre bureau ou un pourvoyeur directement pour discuter de l’excursion la plus appropriée pour vous.