This team has been studying the impact of climate change on Northern Ellesmere Island for many years, including in the north of Quttinirpaaq National Park since 1998. They have been gathering information on the weather, ice shelves, lakes, fjords and glaciers of the area, including on the microorganisms that live there.


Methods

There were six aspects to this research project in 2018:

Environmental monitoring

Long-term measurements continue to be taken from climate stations, permafrost monitoring and automated cameras on Ward Hunt Island. These data are available to all stakeholders including northern communities by publication in the online, open access data report series Nordicana D. Another one-year record of lake temperatures and underwater light at Ward Hunt Lake were also retrieved, and the instruments were reinstalled for retrieval next year. New high resolution automated camera data at Ward Hunt Lake was downloaded to track the changes in ice cover more precisely.

Lake profiling

Measurements continued for tracking water column change, with a profiling of Ward Hunt Lake. These data are also being made available through Nordicana D.

Microbiological research

This summer, ongoing progress was made with high resolution sampling of Ward Hunt Island Lake and Thores Lake. Sampling was carried out for viruses, other microbes, pigments and a wide range of physical and chemical measurements. It is anticipated that these data will provide a baseline from which to study future change in these sensitive environments.

Air sampling

This summer, aerosol samples were collected by concentrating large volumes of air onto filters. Samples were collected across Ward Hunt Island and on the Ward Hunt ice rise, as well as at Thores Lake and Thores Glacier. It is expected that the analysis of these samples will describe the viruses and microbes in the atmosphere for these environments. This type of research has never been conducted in the Arctic, and it is expected that the results will provide unique information on the connectivity of microbial habitats in the North.

Ice sampling

Ice cores were collected at Ward Hunt and Thores Lake to assess the microbial populations of frozen freshwater environments. Ice was collected from the surface at the air-ice interface (to understand microbial contributions from the atmosphere) and from the bottom at the ice-water interface (to understand microbial exchanges between the ice and water column). Ice cores were also collected at a depth of 30cm at Thores Glacier, to describe the surface microbes this glacier may be contributing to downstream environments through its thawing.

Water and sediment sampling

A successful sampling trip to the Stuckberry Point lakes was carried out and obtained sediment cores and water samples from four lakes, as planned.


Discussion and results

All samples are currently being analysed. The team would like to return in May-August 2019 to continue each of these projects, with the possibility of a return visit to Thores Lake (82.65N; 73.68W), a long proglacial lake near Disraeli Fiord. A new paper has been produced on the microbial ecology of Ward Hunt Lake by the team.


Research partners

Principal researchers:
Dr. Warwick F. Vincent, Département de biologie & Centre d’études nordiques, Université Laval
Dr. Alexander Culley, Département de microbiologie & Centre d’études nordiques, Université Laval
Dr. Dermot Antoniades, Département de géographie & Centre d’études nordiques, Université Laval

Field research team:
Dermot Antoniades, Département de géographie & Centre d’Études Nordiques, Université Laval
Alexander Culley, Département de microbiologie, Université Laval
Catherine Girard, Département de microbiologie, Université Laval
Elise Imbeau, Département des sciences fondamentales, Université du Québec à Chicoutimi
Yohanna Klanten, Département de géographie & Centre d’Études Nordiques, Université Laval
Catherine Marois, Département de microbiologie & Centre d’Études Nordiques, Université Laval
Katherine Triglav, Département de géographie & Centre d’études nordiques, Université Laval
Denis Sarrazin, Centre d’Études Nordiques, Université Laval
Yukiko Tanabe, National Institute of Polar Research, Tokyo, Japan


For more information on Dr. Warwick Vincent’s research, you can read this Parks Canada profile; articles on climate station data, water column profiles, and phytoplankton pigments at the open access data report series Nordicana D; and this article from Frontiers in Microbiology.


The recently released Integrated Regional Impact Study (IRIS) on the Eastern Arctic includes a chapter on the state of freshwater and glacier environments in that region. The report includes information on the studies conducted by the team mentioned above.

Cette équipe étudie les effets des changements climatiques sur le nord de l’île d’Ellesmere depuis de nombreuses années, et dans le nord du parc national Quttinirpaaq depuis 1998. Elle recueille des données sur la météo, les plateformes de glace, les lacs, les fjords et les glaciers de la région, y compris sur les microorganismes qui y vivent.


Méthodes

Ce projet de recherche comportait six volets en 2018 :

Surveillance de l’environnement

Grâce aux stations climatiques, à la surveillance du pergélisol et aux caméras automatisées installées sur l’île Ward Hunt, on continue d’obtenir des mesures à long terme. Ces données sont mises à la disposition de tous les intervenants, y compris les collectivités du Nord, par voie de publication sur Nordicana D, la série de rapports de données en libre accès en ligne. D’autres données recueillies au cours d’une année sur les températures des lacs et la lumière sous-marine dans le lac Ward Hunt ont également été récupérées, et les instruments ont été réinstallés en vue d’une autre récupération l’an prochain. De nouvelles données sur le lac Ward Hunt obtenues au moyen d’une caméra automatisée à haute résolution ont été téléchargées dans le but de suivre avec plus de précision les changements dans la couverture de glace.

Établissement du profil du lac

La prise de mesures pour suivre les changements dans la colonne d’eau s’est poursuivie, avec établissement du profil du lac Ward Hunt. Ces données sont également publiées dans Nordicana D.

Recherche microbiologique

Cet été, on a continué de progresser au moyen de l’échantillonnage à haute résolution du lac Ward Hunt et du lac Thores. L’échantillonnage a été effectué pour repérer des virus, d’autres microbes et des pigments, et pour procéder à une vaste gamme de mesures physiques et chimiques. On prévoit que ces données serviront de base de référence à partir de laquelle étudier les changements à venir dans ces milieux sensibles.

Échantillonnage de l’air

Cet été, des échantillons d’aérosols ont été prélevés après concentration de grands volumes d’air sur des filtres. Les échantillons ont été prélevés sur l’île Ward Hunt et sur la croupe glaciaire de Ward Hunt, ainsi que dans le lac Thores et sur le glacier Thores. L’analyse de ces échantillons devrait permettre de déterminer les virus et les microbes présents dans l’atmosphère de ces milieux. Ce type de recherche n’a jamais été mené dans l’Arctique, et les résultats sont censés fournir des renseignements intéressants sur la connectivité des habitats microbiens dans le Nord.

Échantillonnage de glace

Des carottes de glace ont été prélevées à Ward Hunt et dans le lac Thores dans le but d’examiner les populations microbiennes des milieux d’eau douce gelée. La glace a été prélevée à la surface, au niveau de l’interface air-glace (pour comprendre la contribution microbienne de l’atmosphère) et au fond, au niveau de l’interface eau-glace (pour comprendre les échanges microbiens entre la glace et la colonne d’eau). Des carottes de glace ont également été prélevées à une profondeur de 30 cm sur le glacier Thores, dans le but de déterminer les microbes de surface que ce glacier pourrait libérer en aval par son dégel.

Échantillonnage d’eau et de sédiments

Un déplacement vers les lacs Stuckberry Point a permis de prélever avec succès des carottes de sédiments et des échantillons d’eau dans quatre lacs.


Discussion et résultats

Tous les échantillons sont en cours d’analyse. L’équipe souhaite revenir pendant la période de mai à août 2019 pour poursuivre chacun de ces projets, avec la possibilité de retourner au lac Thores (82,65N; 73,68O), un long lac pro-glaciaire près du fjord Disraeli. Elle a publié un nouveau document sur l’écologie microbienne du lac Ward Hunt.


Partenaires de recherche

Chercheurs principaux :
M. Warwick F. Vincent, Département de biologie et Centre d’études nordiques, Université Laval
M. Alexander Culley, Département de microbiologie et Centre d’études nordiques, Université Laval
M. Dermot Antoniades, Département de géographie et Centre d’études nordiques, Université Laval

Équipe de recherche sur le terrain :
Dermot Antoniades, Département de géographie & Centre d’Études Nordiques, Université Laval
Alexander Culley, Département de microbiologie, Université Laval
Catherine Girard, Département de microbiologie, Université Laval
Elise Imbeau, Département des sciences fondamentales, Université du Québec à Chicoutimi
Yohanna Klanten, Département de géographie & Centre d’Études Nordiques, Université Laval
Catherine Marois, Département de microbiologie & Centre d’Études Nordiques, Université Laval
Katherine Triglav, Département de géographie & Centre d’études nordiques, Université Laval
Denis Sarrazin, Centre d’Études Nordiques, Université Laval
Yukiko Tanabe, National Institute of Polar Research [Institut national de recherche polaire], Tokyo (Japon)


Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les recherches effectuées par M. Warwick Vincent, vous pouvez lire ce profil de Parcs Canada; les articles sur les données des stations climatiques, les profils de la colonne d’eau, et les pigments phytoplanctoniques sur Nordicana D, la série de rapports de données en libre accès, et cet article dans Frontiers in Microbiology.


L’Étude intégrée d’impact régional (Integrated Regional Impact Studies – IRIS) publiée récemment sur l’Arctique de l’Est comprend un chapitre sur l’état des milieux d’eau douce et des glaciers dans cette région. Le rapport contient des renseignements sur les études menées par l’équipe susmentionnée.