A portion of research and monitoring efforts are directed specifically at species identified by Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada as potentially at risk and other rare species. At this time in Quttinirpaaq National Park, these species include: Porsild’s bryum (a moss), polar bear, and Peary caribou.


Key information and threats

Porsild’s bryum: Specific threats for park population have not been identified. Overall species threats include recreational activities, stochastic events and climate change related factors such as drought (reduced water seepage) and temperature extremes.
Conservation status: Threatened

Polar bear: The recent analysis of the sub-population (Kane Basin) density nearest to the Arctic Basin sub-population suggests a stable to increasing abundance with an increasing range. Impacts of climate change may initially benefit the Kane Basin sub population before causing negative effects.
Conservation status: Special concern

Peary caribou: The most serious threat is climate change. The identification of critical habitat is outstanding for the park area.
Conservation status: Endangered

An overview of the ecological integrity indicators associated with species-at-risk monitoring at Quttinirpaaq National Park is contained in the park’s 2018 State of the park assessment.

Certains travaux de recherche et de surveillance déjà décrits seront axés sur des espèces considérées comme susceptibles d’être en péril par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada ainsi que sur d’autres espèces rares. Voici les espèces qui sont actuellement visées dans le parc national Quttinirpaaq : bryum de Porsild (une mousse), ours blanc et caribou de Peary.


Principaux renseignements et menaces

Bryum de Porsild : On n’a pas cerné de menaces précises pour la population dans le parc. Les menaces générales sont les suivantes : activités récréatives, phénomènes stochastiques et facteurs liés au changement climatique, comme la sécheresse (perte d’eau par infiltration) et les températures extrêmes.
Designation : Menacée

Ours polaire : La récente analyse de la densité de la sous-population (bassin Kane) la plus près de la sous-population du bassin arctique suggère une abondance stable à croissante, avec une augmentation de la répartition. Il est possible que le changement climatique soit avantageux pour la sous-population du bassin Kane avant d’avoir des effets négatifs.
Designation : Préoccupante

Caribou de Peary : La plus grave menace est le changement climatique. On doit déterminer l’habitat essentiel dans le parc.
Designation : En voie de disparition