A management plan is the central document that guides Parks Canada in the protection, management, and operation of a national park. As the key accountability document for the park to the Canadian public, the management plan outlines how Parks Canada’s legislated mandate of protection, education, and enjoyment of the national park will be met. The plan also provides the framework for how Parks Canada, Inuit, stakeholders, and the general public will work together to manage the park for the long term.

We are working on a new management plan for Quttinirpaaq National Park!

The Canada National Parks Act and the Parks Canada Agency Act require management plans to be reviewed every ten years with any resulting amendments to be tabled in Parliament. The first management plan for Quttinirpaaq National Park was developed in 2009 and is due for an update, and Parks Canada would like to invite you to share your thoughts and input on the new draft management plan!

In the Nunavut Field Unit, implementing the Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreement for Auyuittuq, Quttinirpaaq and Sirmilik National Parks (the Baffin IIBA) requires the management plan to be developed by a Park Planning Team. The Park Planning Team is a joint Government/Inuit planning team that consists of an equal number of members appointed by Parks Canada and the Qikiqtani Inuit Association. In preparation of the Quttinirpaaq 2020 draft management plan, the Park Planning Team undertook early engagement with key stakeholders including Inuit in the communities of Resolute Bay and Grise Fiord, the adjacent communities with a special relationship to Quttinirpaaq National Park in accordance with the Baffin IIBA. The draft plan has been reviewed by the Qikiqtani Inuit Association, and in late 2019, was approved for public consultations by the Quttinirpaaq Joint Park Management Committee.

Although ready for review in 2020, consultations on the draft plan were delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Now, Parks Canada would like to hear your opinions, and suggestions on the future of this treasured place.

As the planning process unfolds through 2022, you can find updates on this page, including a “what we heard” summary report once consultations close, and the final management plan when available.


Join the conversation!

Please take a few minutes to provide us with your views on the proposed vision and opportunities for Quttinirpaaq National Park using the comment card linked below or by contacting nfu_consultations_ugn@pc.gc.ca by November 30, 2022:

Key resources

Park plans

Le plan directeur est un document cadre qui expose l’orientation à suivre pour protéger, gérer et assurer les opérations d’un parc national. Comme il s’agit du principal document de responsabilisation du parc à l’égard du public canadien, le plan directeur décrit les mesures que Parcs Canada doit prendre pour s’acquitter de son mandat, soit de protéger le parc tout en sensibilisant la population et en l’aidant à en profiter pleinement. Le plan présente également les paramètres à l’intérieur desquels Parcs Canada, les Inuit, les intervenants et le grand public travailleront de concert à la gestion à long terme du parc.

Nous travaillons à l’élaboration d’un nouveau plan directeur pour le parc national Quttinirpaaq!

La Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada et la Loi sur l’Agence Parcs Canada prévoient la révision des plans directeurs tous les dix ans et le dépôt au Parlement de toutes les modifications qui en résultent. Le premier plan directeur du parc national Quttinirpaaq élaboré en 2009 doit être mis à jour et Parcs Canada vous invite à nous faire part de vos idées et de vos commentaires sur le nouveau plan directeur provisoire!

Au sein de l’unité de gestion du Nunavut, la mise en œuvre de l’Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuit des parcs nationaux Auyuittuq, Quttinirpaaq et Sirmilik (l’ERAI de Baffin) nécessite que le plan directeur soit élaboré par une équipe de planification. L’équipe de planification est une équipe mixte de représentants du gouvernement et des Inuit et compte un nombre égal de membres nommés par Parcs Canada et l’Association inuit Qikiqtani. Dans le cadre de la préparation du plan directeur provisoire pour 2020 de Quttinirpaaq, l’équipe de planification a entrepris de consulter les principaux intervenants, y compris les Inuit des collectivités de Resolute Bay et de Grise Fiord, les collectivités adjacentes qui entretiennent une relation particulière avec le parc national Quttinirpaaq, conformément à l’ERAI de Baffin. Le plan provisoire a été examiné par l’Association inuit Qikiqtani et, à la fin de 2019, a été approuvé pour des consultations publiques par le Comité mixte de gestion du parc Quttinirpaaq.

Le plan provisoire était prêt à être examiné en 2020, mais les consultations à ce sujet ont été reportées en raison de la pandémie de COVID 19. À présent, Parcs Canada souhaite connaître votre opinion et vos suggestions sur l’avenir de ce lieu prisé.

Au fil de l’évolution du processus de planification jusqu’en 2022, vous trouverez des mises à jour sur cette page, y compris un rapport sommaire de « ce que nous avons entendu » une fois les consultations terminées, ainsi que le plan directeur définitif lorsqu’il sera disponible.


Rejoindre la conversation!

Veuillez prendre quelques minutes pour nous faire part de votre opinion sur la vision et les possibilités proposées pour le parc national Quttinirpaaq en utilisant la fiche de commentaires dont le lien figure ci-dessous ou en communiquant avec nfu_consultations_ugn@pc.gc.ca d’ici le 30 novembre 2022 :

Ressources clés

Plans du parc