In the summer, outfitters prefer to travel on the incoming or high tide. Check with your outfitter for the best times for travel to and from the park. Due to the large tides experienced in the Pangnirtung region, outfitters are wary of travelling to the park on a falling tide as this can result in the boat becoming grounded. You can also check the timing of tides on your preferred day of travel through the local tide tables (Pangnirtung for the southern entrance to Akshayuk Pass or Qikiqtarjuaq for the northern entrance to the pass).

During ice break up in June/July (depending on location), you cannot travel to the park by boat or snowmobile. If your plans include travel to the park around these times, please phone the park office to check ice and route conditions. Or, check the Environment Canada sea ice website (Davis Strait for the Auyuittuq National Park area).

While it is possible to travel the 31 kilometres from Pangnirtung to the park by foot along the fiord in summer, this has been likened to a 2-3 day slog and is not recommended. It is much easier during the winter, when travelling on the sea ice. At the north end of the park, it is approximately 82 kilometres from the community of Qikiqtarjuaq to the North Pangnirtung Emergency Shelter.

Les pourvoyeurs préfèrent voyager lorsque la marée monte et qu’elle est haute. Demandez à votre pourvoyeur de vous indiquer les meilleures heures pour se rendre au parc et en revenir. En raison des grandes marées enregistrées dans la région de Pangnirtung, les pourvoyeurs hésitent à se rendre au parc lorsque la marée descend compte tenu que le bateau peut s’échouer. Vous pouvez vérifier l’horaire des marées de la journée de votre voyage en consultant les tables des marées locales ( Pangnirtung pour obtenir les données à l’entrée sud du col Akshayuk ou Qikiqtarjuaq pour celles à l’entrée nord du col ).

Pendant la débâcle, il est impossible d’accéder au parc par bateau ou par motoneige. Si vous comptez vous y rendre durant cette période, appelez au bureau du parc pour vous informer de l’état des glaces. Vous pouvez par ailleurs consulte le site Web d’Environnement Canada sur les glaces de mer (Détroit de Davis pour voir la région du parc national Auyuittuq).

Malgré qu’il soit possible de se rendre les 31 kilomètres au parc en longeant le fjord, c’est une randonnée pénible de 2 ou 3 jours et, donc, ce n’est pas conseillé. Il est beaucoup plus facile de marcher sur la glace marine en hiver. Au nord du parc, il y a environ 82 kilomètres entre la communauté de Qikiqtarjuaq au refuge d’urgence à Pangnirtung Nord.