Auyuittuq National Park is representative of the Northern Davis Natural Region, an area comprising the south and east coasts of Baffin Island and the east coasts of Devon and Ellesmere Island. The park straddles the Arctic Circle in an ecological transition between the High Arctic and Low Arctic vegetation zones.


Glacier and Permanent Ice Ecosystems

Glaciers and permanent ice, cover approximately 8470 km², or 40% of the landscape with the Penny Ice Cap covering about 28% and glacial cirques about 12%. This ecosystem plays a major role in the maintenance of the park’s systems through the influence on regional microclimate and water budgets for all the other systems of the park.

Coastal/Marine Ecosystems

Auyuittuq National Park has about 800 km of fiord coastline. The area is characterized by deep narrow fiords with vertical walls up to 900 m in height. It is here, and especially in the northeast corner of the park that wildlife is most abundant. The marine component, although small at about 7%, is especially diverse in wildlife. The important marine components are associated with the fiords of the northeast portion of the park.

Tundra/Barrens Ecosystems

One half of the park area (50%) is comprised of tundra/barrens ecosystems. Tundra vegetation accounts for about 20% of the park’s land area found predominantly through the Akshayuk Pass and Greenshield Lake Area, with approximately another 18% composed of bedrock. The other 12% is covered by non-continuous vegetation.

Freshwater Ecosystems

Freshwater is a comparatively small ecosystem in Auyuittuq National Park, comprising less than 3 % of the park’s surface, mostly in small lakes. They do, however, support landlocked populations of Arctic Char, an important species to the neighbouring Inuit communities. Also, precipitation and melt-water events occur across the entire landscape and the collection of water into rivers and streams provides a means to effectively monitor some aspects of overall park integrity. Seasonal and annual fluctuations in timing, flow and discharge from melting ice caps, glaciers and lakes impacts all the other systems in the park.

Le parc national Auyuittuq constitue un exemple représentatif de la région naturelle des hautes terres de Davis, une région qui englobe les côtes sud et est de l’île de Baffin et les côtes est de l’île Devon et de l’île d’Ellesmere. Le parc national Auyuittuq chevauche le cercle polaire arctique dans une zone de transition écologique entre les zones de végétation du Haut-Arctique et du Bas-Arctique.


Écosystèmes des glaciers et de la glace pérenne

Les glaciers et la glace pérenne ont une superficie d’environ 8 470 km², ou 40 % de la surface globale dont 28 % est occupée par la calotte glaciaire Penny et 12 % par les cirques glaciaires. Cet écosystème joue un rôle prépondérant par son influence sur les microclimats régionaux et par l’irrigation de l’ensemble des éléments du parc.

Écosystèmes maritimes et côtiers

Le parc national Auyuittuq recèle des fjords sur une longueur d’environ 800 km. Le lieu se caractérise par des fjords profonds et étroits avec des falaises verticales pouvant atteindre 900 m de hauteur. C’est à cet endroit, et tout particulièrement dans le coin nord-est du parc, que la faune est la plus abondante. La faune marine, bien que ne représentant que 7 % du tout, est très riche et variée. La portion la plus importante se situe dans les fjords occupant la partie nord-est du parc.

Écosystèmes de la toundra

L’écosystème de la toundra couvre la moitié de la superficie du parc (50 %). La végétation de la toundra occupe environ 20 % de la superficie du parc et est surtout située dans la passe d’Akshayuk et aux alentours du lac Greenshield, avec une autre tranche de 18 % formée de substrat rocheux. Les 12 % restants sont couverts de végétation non-continue.

Écosystèmes d’eau douce

L’eau douce représente un écosystème relativement limité du parc national Auyuittuq, occupant moins de 3 % de la superficie et provenant principalement de petits lacs. Elle abrite toutefois une population confinée d’omble chevalier, qui constitue une espèce importante pour les collectivités inuites environnantes. De plus, les précipitations et l’eau de fonte se manifestent dans l’ensemble de la région et, en formant des ruisseaux et des rivières, permettent de vérifier certains aspects de l’intégrité globale du parc. Les fluctuations annuelles et saisonnières du déversement provenant de la fonte des calottes glaciaires, des glaciers et des lacs ont un effet sur l’ensemble du parc.