Inuit and Parks Canada manage Auyuittuq National Park cooperatively. The Joint Inuit / Government Park Planning and Management Committee (Joint Park Management Committee) is the cooperative management committee for the park. The role of the Committee is to advise Parks Canada, the Minister responsible for national parks, the Nunavut Wildlife Management Board and other agencies on all matters related to park management.

The creation of the Joint Park Management Committee was provided for in the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement. The Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreement created, and outlined the details of structure and responsibility, for the Committee. Each member of the Joint Park Management Committee has the responsibility to act impartially in the public interest and for the public good.

The first members of the Joint Park Management Committee were appointed in fall of 2000 and held their first meeting in March 2001. The Committee meets at least twice each year and consists of six members, three appointed by the Qikiqtani Inuit Association and three appointed by the Government of Canada.

Park management

Les Inuits et Parcs Canada gèrent le parc national Auyuittuq de façon concertée. Le Comité mixte de inuit/gouvernemental de planification et de gestion du parc national Auyuittuq est le Comité de gestion participative du parc. Le rôle du Comité consiste à donner des conseils à Parcs Canada, le ministre chargé des parcs nationaux, le Conseil de gestion des ressources fauniques du Nunavut et d’autres organismes de toutes les questions se rapportant à la gestion du parc.

L’établissement du Comité mixte de gestion du parc a été prévu par l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut. L’Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuits (ERAI) a créé le Comité et décrit les détails de sa structure et ses responsabilités. Chaque membre du Comité mixte de gestion du parc doit agir avec impartialité dans l’intérêt du public et pour le bien général.

Les premiers membres du Comité mixte de gestion du parc ont été nommés à l’automne 2000, et leur première réunion a été tenue en mars 2001. Le Comité se rencontre au moins deux fois l’an et est constitué de six membres, dont trois sont nommés par l’Association inuite Qikiqtani et trois par le gouvernement du Canada.

Gestion du parc