Seasonal area closure: Narwhal

Issued: April 29, 2019

Pursuant to subsection 7(1) of the National Park General Regulations, the following area is hereby seasonally closed for all persons not exercising harvesting rights under the Nunavut Agreement by Order of Superintendent, Nunavut Field Unit.

Where: All marine areas of Maktak and Coronation Fiords that fall within Auyuittuq National Park. See attached map.

When: From the time when the first narwhals are observed in the fiords until freeze-up each year. Generally, access to these fiords will be prohibited starting late-August or early September for the remainder of the calendar year. Check with the Park Office for exact closure dates.

Why: Pursuant to the Auyuittuq National Park of Canada Management Plan, these areas have been identified as an Area of Special Importance to Inuit for narwhal hunting. This closure is to respect this activity.

Persons contravening this closure may be subject to prosecution under the Canada National Parks Act; maximum fine $100 000.

For more information, call the Park Office at 867-473-2500.

Fermeture saisonnière : Narval

Émis le : 29 avril 2019

En vertu du paragraphe 7(1) du Règlement général sur les parcs nationaux, il est désormais interdit à toute personne n’exerçant pas un droit d’exploitation issu de l’Accord du Nunavut de fréquenter le secteur suivant en une certaine saison, par ordre du directeur de l’Unité de gestion du Nunavut.

Secteur : Toutes les zones marines des fjords Maktak et Coronation situées à l’intérieur du parc national Auyuittuq (voir carte ci-contre).

Saison : De l’arrivée des premiers narvals dans les fjords jusqu’à la prise de la glace, chaque année. En général, l’accès aux fjords sera interdit de la fin d’août ou du début de septembre à la fin de l’année. Vérifiez les dates précises de la fermeture saisonnière auprès du bureau du parc.

Motif : Conformément au Plan directeur du parc national du Canada Auyuittuq, ce secteur revêt une importance particulière pour les Inuits qui y chassent le narval. La fermeture vise à garantir le respect de cette activité.

Les personnes qui ne respecteront pas la fermeture sont passibles de poursuites en vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada. L’amende maximale s’élève à 100 000 $.

Pour en savoir davantage, appelez au bureau du parc en composant le 867-473-2500.