Though remote, Auyuittuq is the most accessible of the Nunavut parks; fiords allow boat and snowmobile travel from nearby Inuit communities and its wild interior is reachable via Akshayuk Pass. While it is a place of moderate to extreme adventure for hikers, skiers and mountain climbers tackling vertical walls like Thor Peak, its raw beauty can also be experienced on a spring snowmobile day-trip to the Arctic Circle or short summer hike to Ulu Peak.

The hamlet of Qikiqtarjuaq makes a nice jumping off point for a variety of other excursions (starting by boat or by snow machine and depending on the season) - including trips to the Narpaing-Maktak Valley, seeing an iceberg calve into the ocean at Coronation Fjord, fishing, as well as polar bear and iceberg watching.

Activites and experiences

  • A person on the summit of a mountain. 
    Climbing and mountaineering

    The park is part of the northeastern edge of the Canadian Shield, and mountain peaks within the park are among the highest on Baffin Island and the Canadian Shield.


  •  
    Hiking

    Akshayuk Pass is the most popular hiking destination in Auyuittuq. A traditional Inuit travel corridor through spectacular mountain scenery, the 97 km pass connects Pangnirtung Fiord in Cumberland Sound with North Pangnirtung Fiord off Davis Strait.


  • A person at the summit of a mountain - arms are outstretched. 
    Skiing

    The park’s spring ski season is April and May, and ski travel in Akshayuk Pass is usually best accomplished along the Weasel River and Owl River valleys.


  •  
    Inuit cultural experiences

    Archaeological sites reveal past stories of the people who used the park’s fiords and valleys through time, and this land still remains a special place for Inuit today. Inuit continue to carry out cultural and harvesting activities with their community and family and share stories, cultures and traditions with visitors.

Auyuittuq est le plus éloigné, mais le plus accessible des parcs du Nunavut. Utilisez les déplacements en bateau et en motoneige dans les fjords depuis les collectivités inuites avoisinantes. Randonneurs, atteignez la nature sauvage de l’intérieur du parc par le col Akshayuk. Des aventures de difficulté modérée à extrême vous attendent. Skieurs et alpinistes, attaquez-vous à des parois verticales telles que celle du pic Thor. Explorateurs d’une journée, une excursion printanière en motoneige, en direction du cercle arctique, vous fera découvrir la beauté brute. Vous serez tout aussi ébloui par une courte randonnée estivale au pic Ulu.

Le hameau de Qikiqtarjuaq est idéal comme point de départ pour une variété d’autres excursions (dépendant de la saison, en bateau or en motoneige) - telles qu’un voyage à la vallée Narpaing-Maktak, l’observation du vêlage d’un iceberg dans l’océan au fjord Coronation, de la pêche et l’observation des ours polaires.

Activités

  • Une personne au sommet d'une montagne. 
    Escalade et alpinisme

    Le parc national se situe sur la bordure nord-est du Bouclier canadien, et ses montagnes figurent parmi les plus hautes de l’île de Baffin et du Bouclier canadien.


  •  
    Randonnée

    Pour la randonnée, le col Akshayuk est la destination la plus courue du parc national Auyuittuq. Corridor de déplacement traditionnel des Inuits, ce col de 97 km traverse une région montagneuse spectaculaire qui relie le fjord Pangnirtung, dans la baie Cumberland au fjord North Pangnirtung, dans le détroit de Davis.


  • Une personne au sommet d'une montagne. 
    Ski

    La saison de ski printanier a lieu en avril et mai, et les excursions de ski au col Akshayuk sont généralement réalisées le long des vallées des rivières Weasel et Owl.


  •  
    Activités culturelles Inuites

    Les sites archéologiques révèlent le passé historique des peuples ayant habité les fjords et les vallées au cours des siècles. L’endroit a encore aujourd’hui une importance vitale pour les collectivités et les familles inuites, puisqu’elles continuent d’en utiliser les ressources tout en partageant leur histoire, leur culture et leurs traditions avec les visiteurs.