Given the vast size of Wood Buffalo National Park, there are plenty of options to find your way here. Whether you travel the highway in your motorhome, decide to canoe the river network into the park, or relax with a good book on your flight, the journey can be just as exciting as the destination.

Wood Buffalo National Park has no gates or entry fees, but we ask all our visitors to check-in at the visitor centre in Fort Smith or Fort Chipewyan for the most up-to-date, safety information and to pick up your camping permits, if necessary.

Land

by road

Wood Buffalo National Park can be reached all year-round by paved highway. Coming from the Alberta-Northwest Territories border, head north on Mackenzie Highway/Highway 1 for about 83 km. Turn right onto Highway 2 N, follow signs for Fort Smith. Continue for 25 km, then turn right onto Highway 5/Wood Buffalo Parkway (signs for Fort Smith) and continue for 264 km. Stop in at the visitor centre with any questions and to check out the exhibits for heading in to the park.

Heading in from Yellowknife? Drive on Highway 3 South for 338 km before connecting to Mackenzie Highway/Highway 1 and following the route to Highway 5 indicated above.

A winter road connecting Fort Smith with Fort Chipewyan and Fort McMurray in Alberta is open for approximately three months during the winter. Special precautions are needed for safe travel on the winter road. Please read our winter road FAQs to learn more about what you need to know before travelling. Contact the Visitor Reception Centre in Fort Smith or Fort Chipewyan for updated winter road conditions within the park.

Road Distances to Fort Smith (km)
Yellowknife
 
Hay River
 
AB/NWT Border
 
High Level
 
Edmonton
 
Fort Chipewyan
winter road
Fort McMurray
winter road
Fort Smith 748 270 381 572 1310 228 508
Road Distances to Fort Smith (km)
Fort Smith
Yellowknife 748
Hay River 270
AB/NWT Border 381
High Level 572
Edmonton 1310
Fort Chipewyan winter road 228
Fort McMurray winter road 508

Air

by air

Edmonton is the main hub for air travel to the north. Flights are available to both Fort Smith and Fort Chipewyan from Edmonton, as well as between Fort Smith and Fort Chipewyan. Direct flights to Fort Smith are also available from Yellowknife. Contact Northwestern Air Lease for details.

Water

by water

Experienced wilderness travellers can access the park by boat or canoe between Fort McMurray, Fort Chipewyan and Fort Fitzgerald. Motorboat access is allowed along: Athabasca River, Rivière des Rochers, Quatre Fourches River, Peace River and Slave River. Only non-motorized watercraft is permitted on all other waterways. To read more about how to navigate these river corridors, check out the Guide to Waterways In and Around Wood Buffalo National Park

Compte tenu de la taille du parc national Wood Buffalo, il y a plusieurs possibilités pour s’y rendre. Que vous y alliez par la route au volant de votre motorisé, en pagayant sur le réseau de rivières qui entrent dans le parc ou avec un bon livre dans le confort d’un siège d’avion, le voyage peut être tout aussi agréable que la destination.

Le parc national Wood Buffalo n’impose aucun droit d’entrée, mais nous demandons à tous les visiteurs de s’inscrire au centre d’accueil de Fort Smith ou de Fort Chipewyan pour obtenir les derniers renseignements relatifs à la sécurité et prendre leur permis de camping, le cas échéant.

Par la route

Par la route

Le parc national Wood Buffalo est accessible en tout temps par une route pavée. Depuis la frontière entre l’Alberta et les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, empruntez la route Mackenzie/Route 1 vers le nord sur environ 83 km. Tournez à droite sur la route 2 N et suivez les indications pour Fort Smith. Continuez sur 25 km, puis tournez à droite sur la route 5/Wood Buffalo Parkway (signalisation pour Fort Smith) et continuez sur 264 km. Arrêtez-vous au centre d’accueil si vous avez des questions et pour voir les expositions avant d’entrer dans le parc.

Depuis Yellowknife, empruntez la route 3 Sud sur 338 km jusqu’à la route Mackenzie/Route 1, puis suivez les indications vers la route 5 mentionnées ci-dessus.

Une route d’hiver relie Fort Smith avec Fort Chipewyan et Fort McMurray en Alberta; cette route est praticable pendant environ trois mois en hiver. La conduite sécuritaire sur la route d’hiver nécessite de prendre des précautions particulières. Veuillez consulter notre FAQ sur la route d’hiver pour avoir toute l’information nécessaire avant votre départ. Communiquez avec le centre d’accueil de Fort Smith ou de Fort Chipewyan pour connaître les dernières conditions de la route d’hiver dans le parc.

Distances routières à partir de Fort Smith (km)
Yellowknife
 
Hay River
 
Frontière AB/TNO
 
High Level
 
Edmonton
 
Fort Chipewyan
route d'hiver
Fort McMurray
route d'hiver
Fort Smith 748 270 381 572 1310 228 508
Distances routières à partir de Fort Smith (km)
Fort Smith
Yellowknife 748
Hay River 270
Frontière AB/TNO 381
High Level 572
Edmonton 1310
Fort Chipewyan route d'hiver 228
Fort McMurray route d'hiver 508

Par avion

Par avion

Edmonton est la plaque tournante du trafic aérien vers le nord. On peut y prendre des vols à destination de Fort Smith et Fort Chipewyan. Des vols entre Fort Smith et Fort Chipewyan sont aussi offerts. Des vols directs vers Fort Smith sont aussi offerts depuis Yellowknife. Communiquez avec Northwestern Air Lease (en anglais seulement) pour en savoir plus.

Par les voies navigables

Par les voies navigables

Les voyageurs expérimentés dans l’arrière-pays peuvent se rendre dans le parc par bateau ou en canot depuis Fort McMurray, Fort Chipewyan et Fort Fitzgerald. Les embarcations motorisées sont permises sur les rivières suivantes : rivières Athabasca, des Rochers, Quatre Fourches, de la Paix et des Esclaves.

Seules les embarcations non motorisées sont permises sur toutes les autres voies navigables. Pour en savoir plus sur la navigation sur ces rivières, consultez le Guide des cours d’eau du parc national Wood Buffalo et des environs.