Summary

In response to a request from the World Heritage Committee (July 2015), Parks Canada completed a Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA) of the potential cumulative impacts of all developments on the world heritage values of Wood Buffalo National Park World Heritage Site. The SEA presents the best available information (science-based and Indigenous Knowledge) regarding activities and developments that may be having negative impacts on the world heritage values of the site.

The assessment focused on the cumulative effects of developments on park features that are relevant to its designation as a world heritage site. Additional information on the status of Wood Buffalo National Park as a world heritage site is available on the Overview page.

Engagement on the SEA

Working with the SEA contractor (Independent Environmental Consultants, or IEC), Parks Canada managed the engagement process to ensure the SEA reflected a broad range of perspectives and presented complete information and balanced views.

Feedback and information received in meetings, workshops and written submissions helped improve the assessment and the final report. The SEA recognizes different perspectives and identifies information gaps. Recommendations from the SEA are being carried forward in continued dialogue related to Action Plan implementation and the long-term management of Wood Buffalo National Park and the surrounding area.

In August 2017, a Draft Scoping Report was made available for comment. Based on the feedback submitted to Parks Canada in September, the contractor prepared an addendum to the Draft Scoping Report which summarized the key messages received during the comment period and outlined how feedback expanded the scope of SEA and integrated ecological integrity and Indigenous ways of life along with the world heritage values.

In addition to the addendum and Draft Scoping Report, Parks Canada prepared two newsletters describing the process used to develop the SEA. At all stages of development, the SEA benefitted from the input of government partners, Indigenous groups, academic researchers, industry, and conservation organizations.

Parks Canada and IEC worked closely with MCFN and other Indigenous partners. The goal of the engagement process with Indigenous groups was to hear from a range of leaders, Elders, land-users and technical advisors in an iterative process, so that the lived experiences of Indigenous peoples are evident in the report, and so that participants had a clear understanding of how their input was being used by decision makers.

Final Report

Following a final round of workshops, meetings, and a public comment period that closed on April 13, 2018, the final SEA report was completed on May 30, 2018. The Executive Summary is available here. The full SEA report has been shared with interested parties and submitted to the World Heritage Centre.

The SEA in relation to the Action Plan

Along with the recommendations from the Reactive Monitoring Mission report, the recommendations from the SEA were used by Parks Canada and its federal-provincial-territorial partners, Indigenous partners and others to inform the development of the Action Plan. For additional information, please refer to our Action Plan page.

Acknowledgments

Parks Canada thanks the Indigenous groups and their advisors, government partners, academic researchers, and representatives of industry and conservation organizations for their interest in the SEA and their willingness to contribute time and share information.

Parks especially appreciates the contributions of Elders and land-users from Indigenous groups whose homelands are within the park. We sincerely thank the Elders for their time, and for their patience and passion in sharing their stories.

Résumé

En réponse à une demande du Comité du patrimoine mondial (juillet 2015), Parcs Canada a réalisé une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) sur les effets cumulatifs que pourraient avoir tous les aménagements sur les valeurs du patrimoine mondial du site du patrimoine mondial du parc national Wood Buffalo. L’EES renferme les meilleurs renseignements accessibles (savoir traditionnel autochtone et données scientifiques) sur les activités et les aménagements qui pourraient avoir des effets négatifs sur les valeurs du patrimoine mondial du site.

L’évaluation s’est concentrée sur les effets cumulatifs des aménagements sur les caractéristiques du parc qui sont pertinentes pour sa désignation à titre de site du patrimoine mondial. Vous pourrez trouver sur la page d’aperçu d’autres renseignements sur le statut du parc national Wood Buffalo en tant que site du patrimoine mondial.

Discussions sur l’EES

De concert avec l’entrepreneur responsable de l’EES (Independent Environmental Consultants ou IEC), Parcs Canada a géré le processus de discussion de façon à s’assurer que l’EES tienne compte d’une multitude de perspectives et présente des renseignements complets et des points de vue équilibrés.

Les commentaires et les renseignements reçus dans le cadre des réunions, des ateliers et des présentations écrites ont permis d’améliorer l’évaluation et le rapport définitif. L’EES reconnaît les différents points de vue et les lacunes en matière d’information. Les recommandations issues de l’EES sont prises en compte dans le cadre d’un dialogue continu sur la mise en œuvre du plan d’action et la gestion à long terme du parc national Wood Buffalo et de la région environnante.

En août 2017, un rapport provisoire d’établissement de la portée a été diffusé à des fins de rétroaction. À la lumière des commentaires soumis à Parcs Canada en septembre, l’entrepreneur a préparé un addenda au rapport de portée, lequel résumait les principaux messages reçus durant la période de rétroaction et décrivait en quoi cette rétroaction avait élargi la portée de l’EES : elle tenait maintenant compte de l’intégrité écologique et du mode de vie autochtone, en plus des valeurs du patrimoine mondial.

En plus de l’addenda et du rapport de portée provisoire, Parcs Canada a préparé deux bulletins décrivant le processus ayant servi à élaborer l’EES. À toutes les étapes de son élaboration, l’EES a bénéficié de la contribution de partenaires gouvernementaux, de groupes autochtones, de chercheurs universitaires, de l’industrie et d’organisations de conservation.

Parcs Canada et IEC ont travaillé en étroite collaboration avec la Première Nation crie Mikisew (PNCM) et d’autres partenaires autochtones. L’objectif du processus de mobilisation des groupes autochtones était de connaître le point de vue d’une multitude de chefs, d’aînés, d’utilisateurs des terres et de conseillers techniques, afin que le rapport fasse état des expériences vécues des Autochtones et que les participants comprennent bien comment leurs commentaires avaient été utilisés par les décideurs.

Rapport final

Après une dernière série d’ateliers et de réunions et une période de rétroaction du public ayant pris fin le 13 avril 2018, le rapport final d’EES a été achevé le 30 mai 2018. Le sommaire de ce rapport est disponible ici. Le rapport complet d’EES a été communiqué aux parties intéressées et soumis au Centre du patrimoine mondial.

L’EES par rapport au plan d’action

Tout comme les recommandations découlant du rapport de mission de suivi réactif, les recommandations issues de l’EES sont utilisées par Parcs Canada et ses partenaires des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux et ses partenaires autochtones et autres pour éclairer l’élaboration du plan d’action. Pour obtenir d’autres renseignements, veuillez consulter la page sur le plan d’action.

Remerciements

Parcs Canada souhaite remercier les groupes autochtones et leurs conseillers, les partenaires gouvernementaux, les chercheurs universitaires et les représentants de l’industrie et des organisations de conservation pour l’intérêt qu’ils ont porté à l’EES et leur volonté de nous consacrer du temps et de communiquer les renseignements nécessaires. Parcs Canada apprécie particulièrement la contribution des aînés et des utilisateurs des terres des groupes autochtones dont le territoire fait partie du parc. Nous remercions sincèrement les aînés pour le temps qu’ils nous ont consacré, ainsi que pour la patience et la passion dont ils ont fait preuve en nous racontant leurs histoires.