RMM Recommendations: 3 and 7

Convened by: Environment and Climate Change Canada

New Multi-jurisdiction Process

Related to environmental changes that have been observed in the Peace and Athabasca Rivers and the Peace-Athabasca Delta, water levels (and the connections to ice, flooding, vegetation, birds, animals and Aboriginal rights) were a focus of the Strategic Environmental Assessment. Water has been identified as a multi-jurisdictional issue for which new partnerships are required for the Action Plan.

ECCC is leading a process to convene government and Indigenous partners and their technical advisors to form a working group that will support development of the draft Action Plan related to environmental flows and hydrology. Contributions are expected from science experts and holders of traditional knowledge.

Engagement

An initial meeting of approximately 50 representatives from FPT partners and Indigenous groups that work with WBNP was held in Edmonton on April 10-11th, 2018. Based on guidance from that workshop, ECCC is chairing a technical working group to develop the plan of work on hydrology and environmental flows through a series of meetings through May to September 2018.

Recommandations de la mission de suivi réactif : 3 et 7

Convocation par : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada

Nouveau processus multijuridictionnel

En ce qui concerne les changements environnementaux qui ont été observés dans les rivières de la Paix et Athabasca et dans le delta Paix-Athabasca, les niveaux d’eau (et leurs liens avec la glace, les inondations, la végétation, les oiseaux, les animaux et les droits ancestraux) ont été au centre de l’évaluation environnementale stratégique. L’eau est considérée comme un enjeu relevant de plusieurs compétences pour lequel de nouveaux partenariats sont nécessaires dans le cadre du Plan d’action.

ECCC dirige un processus visant à réunir les administrations, les partenaires autochtones et leurs conseillers techniques pour former un groupe de travail qui appuiera l’élaboration de la version préliminaire du Plan d’action sur les débits environnementaux et l’hydrologie. On s’attend à recevoir des contributions d’experts scientifiques et de détenteurs de connaissances traditionnelles.

Participation

Une première réunion d’environ 50 représentants des partenaires FPT et des groupes autochtones qui travaillent avec le parc national Wood Buffalo a eu lieu à Edmonton les 10 et 11 avril 2018. Selon l’orientation de cet atelier, ECCC préside un groupe de travail technique chargé d’élaborer le plan de travail sur l’hydrologie et les débits environnementaux dans le cadre d’une série de réunions allant de mai à septembre 2018.