RMM Recommendations: 1 and 13, 12, 14

Lead Jurisdiction: Parks Canada (Wood Buffalo National Park)

Existing Process

Parks Canada has the responsibility for recommendations on partnerships, cooperative management, park management and training. Existing processes and relationships are in place to continue developing the partnerships that Indigenous groups have with WBNP. Discussions will influence the how Indigenous groups participate in management decisions about the park. Relationships with Indigenous partners are an ongoing, long-term priority for Parks Canada.

Engagement

The 11 Indigenous groups that regularly work with WBNP will continue to be engaged in ongoing efforts to improve relationships for park management. This will include working through (and revising) the park’s Cooperative Management Committee, as well as bi-lateral engagement with all partners.

All of the Indigenous groups that work with WBNP also have opportunities to inform the overall Action Plan, and to be engaged on other Thematic Areas that support the Action Plan. An initial meeting to review these recommendations was held May 2-3, 2018 and follow-up meetings are continuing.

For more information

Background on the Cultural History of Wood Buffalo National Park and the park’s relationship with Indigenous peoples is available here.

Information on Parks Canada’s approach to working with Indigenous partners, including its guidance document Promising Pathways, is available here.

Recommandations de la mission de suivi réactif : 1 et 13, 12, 14

Administration responsable : Parcs Canada (parc national Wood Buffalo)

Processus actuel

Il incombe à Parcs Canada de formuler des recommandations sur les partenariats, la gestion coopérative, la gestion du parc et la formation. Il existe des processus et des relations qui permettent de poursuivre le développement de partenariats entre les groupes autochtones et les responsables du parc national Wood Buffalo. Les discussions influeront sur la façon dont les groupes autochtones participeront aux décisions de gestion concernant le parc. Les relations avec les partenaires autochtones constituent une priorité permanente à long terme pour Parcs Canada.

Participation

Les onze groupes autochtones qui travaillent régulièrement avec les responsables du parc national Wood Buffalo continueront de se mobiliser afin d’améliorer les relations pour la gestion du parc. Entre autres, les efforts porteront sur la structure (et le remaniement) du Comité de gestion coopérative du parc et sur un engagement bilatéral avec tous les partenaires.

Tous les groupes autochtones qui travaillent avec les gestionnaires du parc national Wood Buffalo ont également des occasions d’éclairer le Plan d’action dans son ensemble et de contribuer à d’autres domaines thématiques qui appuient le Plan d’action. Une rencontre initiale a eu lieu les 2 et 3 mai 2018 pour examiner ces recommandations et des réunions de suivi sont également tenues.

Renseignements supplémentaires

On trouvera ici des renseignements généraux sur l’histoire culturelle du parc national Wood Buffalo et sur les liens du parc avec les peuples autochtones.

Des renseignements sur la démarche adoptée par Parcs Canada concernant le travail avec les partenaires autochtones, notamment son document d’orientation Des parcours à découvrir, se trouvent ici.