Goals:

  • Within individual jurisdictions, establish buffer zones around WBNP through the establishment of adjacent protected and conserved areas.
  • Determine the ecological functional needs of the elements of OUV as they relate to conservation area connectivity.
  • Identify potential gaps in the maintenance of OUV that can guide future conservation planning and/or management.

Leads:

  • Government of Alberta
  • Government of Northwest Territories
  • Parks Canada

Long-term biodiversity conservation requires that protected areas are incorporated into regional networks of protected and conserved areas integrated within landscape-scale land-use planning. The actions in this theme are focused on ensuring WBNP is supported by an ecologically connected landscape through the creation of effective buffer zones and supportive land-use planning. The actions are intended to advance the following outcomes:

  1. Improved connectivity for wildlife and supporting ecological processes.
  2. Increased ecological integrity and resiliency of WBNP’s OUV.
  3. Improved connectivity for the protection and exercise of Aboriginal and treaty rights.
  4. Strengthened relationships with Indigenous partners through respectful application of science-based and Indigenous Knowledge to conservation planning.

Early actions related to this theme include:

  • In 2018, the Government of Alberta announced the establishment of new Wildland Provincial Parks adjacent to WBNP that contribute to the conservation of more than 6.7 million hectares of boreal forest, providing significant buffers and landscape connectivity to WBNP and contributing to the largest contiguous protected boreal forest in the world.
  • In March 2019, the Government of Alberta announced the establishment of Kitaskino Nuwenëné Wildland Provincial Park, which protects an additional approximately 160,000 hectares of land immediately south of Wood Buffalo National Park, protecting the Peace-Athabasca watershed and increasing ecological integrity and habitat for species such as wood bison, one component of the site’s OUV. Kitaskino Nuwenëné means "our land" in both Cree and Dene languages.

For more information

Government of Alberta - Information on processes related to Alberta Parks, Regional Plans, and the Lower Athabasca Regional Plan.

Government of the NWT - Information on Conservation Networks in NWT.

Buts

  • Au sein de chacune des administrations, établir des zones tampons autour du PNWB en créant des aires protégées et de conservation adjacentes.
  • Déterminer les besoins fonctionnels écologiques des éléments de la VUE en ce qui a trait à la connectivité des aires de conservation.
  • Cerner les lacunes éventuelles pour préserver la VUE qui sont susceptibles d’orienter la planification ou la gestion future de la conservation.

Responsables :

  • Gouvernement de l’Alberta
  • Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest
  • Parcs Canada

La conservation à long terme de la biodiversité exige que les aires protégées soient intégrées dans des réseaux régionaux d’aires protégées et conservées dans le cadre d’un aménagement du territoire à l’échelle du paysage. Les mesures liées à ce thème visent à faire en sorte que le PNWB soit soutenu par un paysage écologiquement connecté grâce à la création de zones tampons efficaces et à une planification favorable de l’utilisation des terres. Les mesures visent à faire progresser les résultats suivants :

  1. Connectivité améliorée pour la faune et les processus écologiques connexes;
  2. Intégrité écologique et résilience accrues de la VUE du PNWB;
  3. Connectivité améliorée pour la protection et l’exercice des droits ancestraux et issus de traités;
  4. Relations avec les partenaires autochtones consolidées grâce à l’application respectueuse du savoir scientifique et autochtone à la planification de la conservation.

Parmi les mesures immédiates liées à ce thème figurent les suivantes :

  • En 2018, le gouvernement de l’Alberta a annoncé la création de nouveaux parcs provinciaux sauvages près du PNWB qui contribuent à la conservation de plus de 6,7 millions d’hectares de forêt boréale, fournissant ainsi des zones tampons et une connectivité du paysage importantes pour le PNWB et contribuant à la préservation de la plus grande forêt boréale protégée contiguë du monde;
  • En mars 2019, le gouvernement de l’Alberta a annoncé la création du parc provincial sauvage Kitaskino Nuwenëné, qui ajoute une protection d’environ 160 000 hectares de terres immédiatement au sud du PNWB, ce qui permet la préservation du bassin hydrographique Paix-Athabasca et améliore l’intégrité écologique et l’habitat des espèces comme le bison des bois, une composante de la VUE du site. Kitaskino Nuwenëné signifie « notre terre » en langue crie et dénée.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements

Gouvernement de l’Alberta - Information sur les processus concernant Alberta Parks (en anglais seulement), les plans régionaux (en anglais seulement) et le Plan régional pour le cours inférieur de la rivière Athabasca (en anglais seulement).

Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest – Information sur les Réseaux de conservation dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest (en anglais seulement).