Parks Canada and its federal, provincial and territorial government partners recognize that meaningful involvement of affected right-holders and stakeholders is critical to the development and implementation of the Action Plan.

Indigenous partners that work with Wood Buffalo National Park have been participating in working groups related to cooperative management and environmental flows and hydrology. In addition to their representation on these working groups, all 11 partners had face-to-face meetings with Parks Canada, including opportunities to meet bilaterally and as a group, to review an early draft of the Action Plan.

To support their ability to contribute to the development of the Action Plan, funding was made available to affected Indigenous groups, including several additional communities located south of Wood Buffalo National Park.

Organizations representing industry, conservation and regional stakeholders also received updates and were invited to comment on the draft Action Plan.

In mid-November 2018, in advance of a public comment period, the draft Action Plan was shared with over 40 Indigenous, industry, conservation and regional organizations.

The process for developing the Action Plan is outlined below.

Action Plan for the Protection of the World Heritage Values of Wood Buffalo National Park World Heritage Site - Text version

Action Plan Development
FPT Committee proposes structure for Action Plan (AP) Fall 2017
Progress Report to World Heritage Center (WHC) Feb 1, 2018
Collaboration on development of Action Plan
Apr 2018 – Jan 2019
Increase communications and engagement on AP
Jan 2018
SEA and AP engagement – finalize SEA report
Mar – May 2018
Comment Period on the Final Draft of the Action Plan
Nov – Dec 2018
Action Plan Delivery
Action Plan Approval
Jan 2019
Action Plan to WHC
Feb 1, 2019

Action Plan includes:

  • Commitments of relevant jurisdiction
  • Key partnerships
  • Engagement processes
  • Phrases of action
  • Progress
  • Timelines
  • Reporting

Action Plan Implementation
10+ years
FPT Committee and collaboration provide ongoing direction for implementation of Action Plan
Parks Canada continues reporting to WHC

Feedback on the Draft Action Plan

Following collaboration with government and Indigenous partners on development of the draft Action Plan, the final draft was released for stakeholder and public review from November 19 to December 10, 2018.

In addition to comments submitted directly to Parks Canada, partners and stakeholders were also engaged in related processes led by other government partners, specific to thematic areas under their jurisdiction, such as meetings with the Government of Alberta related to the Lower Athabasca Regional Plan (LARP).

During development of the draft Action Plan, the public comment period, and meetings led by other jurisdictions, the following topics were raised by Indigenous partners, stakeholders and the public:

  • The Peace-Athabasca Delta (the PAD) remained a strong focus of the Action Plan. The Environmental Flows and Hydrology Working Group identified several management approaches to address water quantity issues in the PAD, including physical works to manage water levels, and a process to enable strategic release of water from the W.A.C. Bennett Dam to influence an ice jam event within WBNP and encourage flooding in the PAD.
  • Related to improved governance of the park, Indigenous partners and Parks Canada identified some ongoing challenges, which they continue to work on together. However, agreement was reached on several issues for priority action, including Indigenous participation in processes related to staffing, procurement and the development of training programs for WBNP staff.
  • Some conservation organizations and Indigenous groups continued to raise concerns about the Site C hydroelectric development that was assessed and approved prior to the requests from the World Heritage Committee. The environmental assessment resulted in specific, legally-binding conditions for the development of the project. Those federal and provincial conditions are monitored by both the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency and BC Environmental Assessment Agency, respectively.
  • The establishment of a “buffer zone” consisting of conservation areas adjacent to the WBNP was another theme of interest to many parties, with significant new protected areas announced by the Province of Alberta during development of the Action Plan.
  • Concerns were raised about the use of some existing provincial land-use management frameworks to protect the site’s world heritage values, resulting in additional adjustments to the Action Plan and commitments related to the management frameworks.
  • The need for improved coordination of monitoring programs and knowledge sharing (including the involvement of affected Indigenous communities, governments, industry and other stakeholders) continued to be raised, and helped shape related action items.

Parks Canada and its partners are appreciative of all those who provided comment on the draft Action Plan.

Action Plan Implementation

As the Action Plan is implemented, Parks Canada will continue to coordinate collaboration between federal, provincial and territorial governments (each of which have specific responsibilities for action within their jurisdiction and authority) and with Indigenous governments that have stewardship responsibilities for their traditional territories. Other affected stakeholders will also be engaged in specific aspects of plan implementation.

Parcs Canada et ses partenaires des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux reconnaissent qu’une participation significative des titulaires de droits et des intervenants concernés est essentielle à l’élaboration et à la mise en œuvre du plan d’action.

Les partenaires autochtones qui collaborent avec le parc national Wood Buffalo participent à des groupes de travail sur la gestion coopérative ainsi que sur les débits environnementaux et l’hydrologie. En plus de leur participation à ces groupes de travail, les 11 partenaires ont pris part à des réunions en personne avec Parcs Canada, notamment dans le cadre de réunions bilatérales ou en groupe, pour examiner une version provisoire du plan d’action.

Pour soutenir la capacité des partenaires à contribuer à l’élaboration du plan d’action, du financement a été accordé aux groupes autochtones concernés, notamment à plusieurs autres collectivités habitant au sud du parc national Wood Buffalo.

Des informations à jour ont également été communiquées aux organismes de conservation et aux organismes représentant l’industrie et les intervenants régionaux, qui étaient invités à se prononcer sur la version provisoire du plan d’action.

À la mi-novembre 2018, soit avant une période de consultation publique, la version provisoire du plan d’action a été distribuée à plus de 40 organismes autochtones, régionaux, de conservation et de l’industrie.

Une description du processus d’élaboration du plan d’action est présentée ci-dessous.

Plan d’action pour la protection des valeurs universelles exceptionnelles du site du patrimoine mondial du parc national Wood Buffalo - Version textuelle

Élaboration du plan d’action
Le Comité FPT propose une structure pour le plan d’action
Automne 2017
Rapport sur les progrès réalisés remis au Centre du patrimoine mondial (CPM)
1er février 2018
Collaboration en vue de l’élaboration du plan d’action
Avril 2018 - janvier 2019
Accroissement des communications et de la mobilisation en appui au plan d’action
Janvier 2018
Mobilisation en appui à l’EES et au plan d’action – terminer le rapport d’EES
Mars - mai 2018
Période de commentaires sur la version définitive du plan d’action
Novembre - décembre 2018
Prestation du plan d’action
Approbation du plan d’action
Janvier 2019
Présentation au CPM
1er février 2019

Action Plan includes:

  • Commitments of relevant jurisdiction
  • Key partnerships
  • Engagement processes
  • Phrases of action
  • Progress
  • Timelines
  • Reporting

Mise en œuvre du plan d’action
Plus de 10 ans
Le comité FTP et les collaborateurs fournissent une orientation continue pour la mise en œuvre du plan d’action
Parcs Canada continue de faire rapport au CPM

Commentaires reçus concernant la version provisoire du plan d’action

À la suite d’une collaboration avec les partenaires gouvernementaux et autochtones en vue de l’élaboration du plan d’action provisoire, celui-ci a été publié aux fins d’examen par les intervenants et le public du 19 novembre au 10 décembre 2018.

En plus des commentaires qu’ils ont envoyés directement à Parcs Canada, les partenaires et les intervenants ont également pris part à des processus connexes menés par d’autres partenaires gouvernementaux sur des thèmes relevant de leur compétence, par exemple les réunions avec le gouvernement de l’Alberta concernant le Plan régional pour le cours inférieur de la rivière Athabasca.

Pendant l’élaboration de la version provisoire du plan d’action, la période de consultation publique et les réunions dirigées par d’autres gouvernements, les questions suivantes ont été soulevées par les partenaires autochtones, les intervenants et le public :

  • Le delta Paix-Athabasca est demeuré un élément important dans le plan d’action. Le groupe de travail sur les débits environnementaux et l’hydrologie a déterminé plusieurs approches de gestion pour les problèmes de quantité d’eau dans le delta Paix-Athabasca, notamment des interventions physiques pour gérer les niveaux d’eau et un processus pour permettre un déversement stratégique des eaux depuis le barrage W.A.C. Bennett afin de favoriser une crue d’embâcle dans le PNWB et de contribuer à l’inondation du delta Paix-Athabasca.
  • En ce qui concerne l’amélioration de la gouvernance du parc, les partenaires autochtones et Parcs Canada ont relevé certaines difficultés constantes, au sujet desquelles ils poursuivent leur collaboration. Toutefois, ils se sont entendus sur plusieurs questions prioritaires, par exemple la participation des Autochtones aux processus relatifs à la dotation, à l’approvisionnement et à l’élaboration des programmes de formation à l’intention du personnel du PNWB.
  • Certains organismes de conservation et groupes autochtones ont continué à exprimer des préoccupations au sujet du projet hydroélectrique du site C qui a été évalué et approuvé avant les demandes du Comité du patrimoine mondial. L’évaluation environnementale a permis de fixer certaines conditions obligatoires pour la mise en œuvre du projet. L’Agence canadienne d’évaluation environnementale et l’agence d’évaluation environnementale de la Colombie-Britannique surveillent respectivement l’adhésion aux conditions fédérales et aux conditions provinciales.
  • La mise en place d’une zone tampon, soit des aires de conservation adjacentes au PNWB, était un autre sujet d’intérêt pour de nombreuses parties, et la province de l’Alberta a annoncé la création d’importantes aires protégées pendant l’élaboration du plan d’action.
  • Des préoccupations ont été exprimées au sujet de l’usage de certains cadres provinciaux actuels de gestion de l’utilisation des terres pour protéger les valeurs du patrimoine mondial du site, qui nécessite des modifications supplémentaires au plan d’action ainsi que la prise d’engagements relativement aux cadres de gestion.
  • La nécessité d’améliorer la coordination des programmes de surveillance et de la diffusion des connaissances (ce qui comprend la participation des collectivités autochtones concernées, des gouvernements, de l’industrie et d’autres intervenants) est une question qui continuait d’être soulevée et qui a contribué à définir les mesures de suivi connexes.

Parcs Canada et ses partenaires tiennent à remercier tous ceux qui ont formulé des commentaires sur la version provisoire du plan d’action.

Mise en œuvre du plan d’action

Au fur et à mesure que le plan d’action sera mis en œuvre, Parcs Canada continuera de coordonner la collaboration entre les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux (qui ont chacun des responsabilités particulières à l’égard des mesures relevant de leurs compétences et pouvoirs) et avec les gouvernements autochtones qui ont des responsabilités d’intendance pour leurs territoires traditionnels. D’autres intervenants concernés participeront également à des aspects particuliers de la mise en œuvre du plan.