Recommendation 1

(Indigenous Partnerships with WBNP) 

Adopt a clear and coherent policy and guidance to enable the transition to a genuine partnership with First Nations and Métis communities in the governance and management of the property.

Recommendation 2

(Monitoring and Science) 

Considering the increasing pressures on the property at this time, prioritise conservation and ensure that the State Party’s science capacity enables Parks Canada’s legal obligation to maintain and restore the Ecological Integrity of the property.

Recommendation 3

(Environmental Flows and Hydrology) 

To enable informed decision-making, conduct environmental flows assessments to the highest international standards for the Peace, Athabasca and Slave Rivers as they pertain to the health of the Peace-Athabasca Delta (PAD), in order to identify water flows needed to sustain the ecological functioning of the PAD under the circumstances of existing and planned future dams and water withdrawals. These assessments should incorporate projections of climate change and should determine the cumulative effects on the PAD and the property of flow regulation of all existing and proposed dams on all three rivers.

Recommendation 4

(Environmental Assessment) 

Conduct, in line with the IUCN World Heritage Advice Note on Environmental Assessment, an environmental and social impact assessment of the Site C project and, if moved forward, any other hydropower projects potentially affecting the Outstanding Universal Value of the property.

Recommendation 5

(Environmental Assessment) 

Conduct an environmental and social impact assessment of the proposed Teck Frontier oil sands mine project in line with the IUCN World Heritage Advice Note on Environmental Assessment, fully taking into account the Outstanding Universal Value of the property, including the Peace-Athabasca Delta.

Recommendation 6

(Tailings Ponds Risk Assessment) 

Conduct a systematic risk assessment of the tailings ponds of the Alberta Oil Sands region with a focus on risks to the Peace-Athabasca Delta, and submit the report of this assessment to the World Heritage Centre, for review by IUCN, in accordance with Paragraph 172 of the Operational Guidelines.

Recommendation 7

(Environmental Flows and Hydrology) 

Establish adequate baseline hydrological information of the Peace and Athabasca River Basins to enhance the reference for monitoring and assessing current and future hydrological conditions.

Recommendation 8

(SEA - Completed) 

Expand the scope of the Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA), which was requested by the Committee in its Decision 39 COM 7B.18, so that it adequately reflects the scale, pace and complexity of industrial development, land use changes and river flow manipulations in the Peace and Athabasca River watersheds, both in terms of individual and cumulative impacts.

Recommendation 9

(Environmental Assessment) 

Expand the scope of monitoring and project assessments to encompass possible individual and cumulative impacts on the Outstanding Universal Value of the property and in particular the PAD.

Recommendation 10

(Conservation Area Connectivity) 

Conduct a comprehensive assessment of options, in order to underpin decision-making to put in place an effective buffer zone, as defined in the Operational Guidelines. The Birch River deserves particular attention as the only relatively intact major watershed of the PAD.

Recommendation 11

(Conservation Area Connectivity) 

Conduct a systematic assessment of options to better realize synergies between the property and land use planning in its immediate vicinity, including the existing and planned provincial protected areas.

Recommendation 12

(Indigenous Partnerships with WBNP) 

Consolidate the management resources and capacity to a standard commensurate with World Heritage status and adequately respond to the challenges facing the property by:

a) Reinstating a year round status and staffing of WBNP;

b) Recruiting a full-time Superintendent exclusively in charge of WBNP;

c) Ensuring an adequate Parks Canada presence in Fort Chipewyan, part of the critical Peace-Athabasca Delta area and a major ecological region of WBNP.

Recommendation 13

(Indigenous Partnerships with WBNP) 

Further develop the existing Cooperative Management Committee established by the State Party, and consolidate a functional and effective mechanism to involve Aboriginal Peoples in the management of the property.

Recommendation 14

(Indigenous Partnerships with WBNP) 

Ensure that the preparation and skills of involved governmental staff correspond to the requirements inherent in the evolving relationship with First Nations and Métis communities.

Recommendation 15

(Wildlife) 

Further harmonize and adopt the Species Recovery Strategy for Wood Bison throughout its range, including but not limited to the Greater WBNP Ecosystem, and specifically:

a) Urgently invest in comprehensive and independent analysis of the conservation importance and status of the Ronald Lake Bison Herd, including threats to it posed by proposed development, within a broader Species Recovery Strategy;

b) Dedicate, in full cooperation with Aboriginal Peoples, adequate attention and funding to the management of Wood Bison, including as regards the development of disease management options other than culling.

Recommendation 16

(Wildlife) 

Continue to closely monitor the entire used and potential nesting area of the Whooping Crane within the Greater WBNP Ecosystem so as to be able to respond to possibly changing management requirements.

Recommendation 17

(Monitoring and Science) 

Incorporate invasive alien species (IAS) into the overall monitoring of the property and the PAD based on science and local and indigenous knowledge, and based on monitoring results, develop an appropriate management response to control the spread of IAS.

Les 17 recommandations de le Comité du patrimoine mondial

Recommandation 1

(Partenariats autochtones avec le PNWB) 

Adopter une politique et des directives claires et cohérentes de façon à permettre la transition vers un véritable partenariat avec les communautés des Premières Nations et des Métis en matière de gouvernance et de gestion du bien.

Recommandation 2

(Surveillance et science) 

Compte tenu des pressions croissantes actuelles sur le bien, donner la priorité à la conservation et veiller à ce que la capacité scientifique de l’État permette à Parcs Canada de respecter et de restaurer l’intégrité écologique du bien.

Recommandation 3

(Hydrologie et débits écologiques) 

De façon à permettre une prise de décision éclairée, effectuer des évaluations des débits écologiques selon les normes internationales les plus élevées pour les rivières de la Paix, Athabasca et des Esclaves en ce qui concerne la santé du delta Paix-Athabasca (DPA), le tout afin d’identifier les débits de fonctionnement écologique du DPA dans le cadre des barrages actuels et futurs, ainsi que des prélèvements d’eau prévus. Ces évaluations devraient incorporer des projections relatives au changement climatique et déterminer les effets cumulatifs de la régulation du débit de tous les barrages actuels et proposés sur les trois rivières sur le DPA et le bien.

Recommandation 4

(Évaluation environnementale) 

Effectuer, conformément à la Note consultative de l’UICN sur l’évaluation environnementale, une étude d’impact environnemental et social du projet du Site C et de tout autre projet hydroélectrique qui serait proposé allant de l’avant et pouvant affecter la valeur universelle exceptionnelle du bien.

Recommandation 5

(Évaluation environnementale) 

Effectuer, conformément à la Note consultative de l’UICN sur l’évaluation environnementale, une étude d’impact environnemental et social du projet de mine de sables bitumineux Teck Frontier, en tenant pleinement compte de la valeur universelle exceptionnelle du bien, notamment du delta Paix-Athabasca.

Recommandation 6

(Évaluation des risques associés aux bassins de résidus) 

Procéder à une évaluation systématique des risques présentés par les bassins de résidus de la région des sables bitumineux de l’Alberta en mettant l’accent sur les risques pour le delta Paix-Athabasca et soumettre le rapport de cette évaluation au Centre du patrimoine mondial, pour examen par l’UICN conformément à l’alinéa 172 des Directives opérationnelles.

Recommandation 7

(Hydrologie et débits écologiques) 

Établir des données hydrologiques de référence adéquates pour les bassins des rivières de la Paix et Athabasca afin d’améliorer la référence en matière de surveillance et d’évaluation des conditions hydrologiques actuelles et futures.

Recommandation 8

(EES – Terminé) 

Accroitre la portée de l’évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES), demandée par le Comité dans sa décision 39 COM 7B.18, de façon à refléter adéquatement l’ampleur, le rythme et la complexité du développement industriel, des changements d’affectation des terres et des manipulations des bassins versants des rivières de la Paix et Athabasca, à la fois en termes d’incidences particulières et cumulatives.

Recommandation 9

(Évaluation environnementale) 

Accroitre la portée du suivi et des évaluations de projets pour englober les incidences particulières et cumulatives possibles sur la valeur universelle exceptionnelle du bien et en particulier du DAP.

Recommandation 10

(Connectivité des aires de conservation) 

Procéder à une évaluation exhaustive des options, afin de soutenir la prise de décision pour la mise en place d’une zone tampon efficace, telle que définie dans les Directives opérationnelles. La rivière Birch mérite une attention particulière en tant que seul bassin hydrographique majeur relativement intact du DAP.

Recommandation 11

(Connectivité des aires de conservation) 

Procéder à une évaluation systématique des options afin de mieux réaliser les synergies entre le bien et l’utilisation planifiée de son voisinage immédiat, notamment pour ce qui est des aires provinciales protégées actuelles et prévues.

Recommandation 12

(Partenariats autochtones avec le PNWB) 

Consolider la capacité et les ressources de gestion pour atteindre une norme correspondant au statut de patrimoine mondial et répondre de façon adéquate aux défis auxquels le bien est confronté en procédant comme suit :

a) Rétablir le statut d’exploitation annuel et la dotation en effectifs du PNWB;

b) Recruter un surintendant à temps plein exclusivement responsable du PNWB;

c) Assurer une présence adéquate de Parcs Canada à Fort Chipewyan, région critique du delta de la Paix-Athabasca et importante région écologique du PNWB.

Recommandation 13

(Partenariats autochtones avec le PNWB) 

Poursuivre le développement du Comité de gestion coopérative établi par l’État et consolider un mécanisme fonctionnel et efficace pour faire participer les peuples autochtones dans la gestion du bien.

Recommandation 14

(Partenariats autochtones avec le PNWB) 

Veiller à ce que la préparation et les compétences du personnel gouvernemental concerné correspondent aux exigences inhérentes à l’évolution de la relation avec les communautés des Premières Nations et des Métis.

Recommandation 15

(Faune) 

Harmoniser davantage le Programme de rétablissement des espèces pour le bison des bois et l’adopter dans l’ensemble de son aire de répartition, y compris, mais sans s’y limiter, dans l’écosystème du Grand PNWB, et plus particulièrement :

a) Investir d’urgence dans une analyse exhaustive et indépendante de l’importance et du statut de conservation de la harde de bisons du lac Ronald, y compris des menaces que présente le développement proposé, dans le cadre du Programme de rétablissement des espèces plus vaste;

b) Consacrer, en pleine coopération avec les peuples autochtones, une attention et un financement adéquats à la gestion du bison des bois, notamment en ce qui concerne l’élaboration d’options de gestion des maladies autres que l’abattage sélectif.

Recommandation 16

(Faune) 

Continuer de surveiller de près l’ensemble de la zone de nidification utilisée et potentielle de la grue d’Amérique dans l’écosystème du Grand PNWB afin de pouvoir répondre à des exigences de gestion qui pourraient changer.

Recommandation 17

(Surveillance et science) 

Incorporer les espèces exotiques envahissantes (EEE) dans la surveillance générale du bien et du DPA sur la base des connaissances scientifiques, locales et autochtones et, sur la base les résultats du suivi, élaborer une réponse de gestion appropriée pour contrôler leur propagation.