An Action Plan to protect Wood Buffalo National Park World Heritage Site

The Government of Canada and its partners are pleased to present the Wood Buffalo National Park World Heritage Site Action Plan. The goal of the Action Plan is to ensure the Outstanding Universal Value of Wood Buffalo National Park is maintained for generations to come. Implementation of the Action Plan is now underway.

Wood Buffalo National Park’s world heritage values

Wood Buffalo National Park (WBNP) was designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1983 based on the following elements of Outstanding Universal Value (or “world heritage values”):

  • The only remaining nesting ground of the endangered Whooping Crane
  • Extensive salt plains and gypsum karst topography
  • The Peace-Athabasca Delta, one of the world’s largest boreal, freshwater deltas
  • The great plains-boreal grassland ecosystem
  • Wolf - Wood Bison relationship
  • Great concentrations of migratory wildlife

Why is an Action Plan needed?

In July 2017, the UNESCO World Heritage Committee requested that Canada develop an Action Plan for WBNP by December 1, 2018 (later amended to February 1, 2019). This request followed a 2016 reactive monitoring mission (RMM) to the site, through which the World Heritage Centre and the International Union for Conservation of Nature determined that the pace and scale of development pressures outside the boundaries of the park (specifically hydro-electric and oil sands development) and climate change posed threats to its world heritage values.

For additional background on the World Heritage Committee and its interest in Wood Buffalo National Park, please refer to our overview page.

How was the Action Plan developed?

A cooperative, inter-jurisdictional and multi-dimensional approach is required to address concerns regarding the world heritage values of WBNP. Parks Canada coordinated development of the Action Plan in partnership with the governments of Alberta, the Northwest Territories, and British Columbia (through a Federal-Provincial-Territorial coordinating committee), and in collaboration with the 11 Indigenous partners of WBNP. Industry associations, non-governmental organizations and the general public were also engaged in the development of the plan. In addition, the Action Plan was informed by the findings of a Strategic Environmental Assessment.

For additional detail on Indigenous and stakeholder involvement please visit our page on the engagement process.

What’s in the Plan?

The Action Plan contains 142 actions, organized across 7 thematic areas, that are required to protect the world heritage values of WBNP. These actions vary in scope and include:

  • actions to strengthen relationships with Indigenous partners,
  • actions to enhance research, monitoring and management of the Peace-Athabasca Delta, using both science-based and Indigenous knowledge,
  • actions to increase protection of ecosystems within and beyond Wood Buffalo National Park, and
  • actions to support the recovery of the Whooping Crane and the Wood Bison.

More information about these actions can be found here.

What happens next?

Implementation of the Action Plan has already begun. Parks Canada continues to coordinate collaboration between federal, provincial and territorial governments (each of which have specific responsibilities for action within their jurisdiction and authority) and with Indigenous governments that have stewardship responsibilities for their traditional territories. Parks Canada will also be reporting back to the World Heritage Committee on implementation progress by December 1, 2020.

Some examples of early implementation include:

  • The Government of Alberta announced the establishment of new Wildland Provincial Parks adjacent to WBNP in 2018, and in 2019 the Government of Alberta, in collaboration with Indigenous communities and industry, announced the establishment of Kitaskino Nuwenëné Wildland Provincial Park, which protects approximately 160,000 hectares of additional land immediately south of WBNP. These protected areas provide significant buffers and landscape connectivity to WBNP, contributing to the largest contiguous protected boreal forest in the world.
  • In June 2019, the Government of Canada enacted new legislation to change the way major projects under federal jurisdiction are reviewed and approved, including projects that may have an impact on WBNP. In part, these changes will ensure decisions are informed by consultation with, and input from, Indigenous peoples and the public.
  • The Government of Canada is convening a Federal-Provincial-Territorial-Indigenous committee to implement the more than 75 hydrology-related monitoring and management actions required to meet ecological and traditional use objectives within the delta.
  • Parks Canada, Environment and Climate Change Canada, the Government of Alberta and Indigenous communities are initiating work to further develop and monitor indicators of the site’s Outstanding Universal Value, with an initial focus on the Peace-Athabasca Delta.
  • Parks Canada and Indigenous partners are proceeding with further development of the Cooperative Management Committee and bilateral engagement processes to improve the cooperative management of the site.

Need more information?

Newsletters related to the development of the SEA and Action Plan can be found here.

For additional information on the Action Plan, please contact pc.woodbuffaloinfo-infowoodbuffalo.pc@canada.ca.

Plan d’action pour le site du patrimoine mondial du parc national Wood Buffalo 

Le gouvernement du Canada et ses partenaires sont heureux de présenter le plan d’action pour le site du patrimoine mondial du parc national Wood Buffalo. L’objectif de ce plan est d’assurer le maintien des valeurs universelles exceptionnelles du parc national Wood Buffalo pour les générations à venir. La mise en œuvre du plan d’action est en cours.

Valeurs du patrimoine mondial du parc national Wood Buffalo

Le parc national Wood Buffalo (PNWB) a été désigné site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO en 1983 sur la base des éléments suivants de la valeur universelle exceptionnelle (ou « valeurs du patrimoine mondial ») :

  • Dernier lieu de nidification de la grue blanche (espèce menacée);
  • Vastes plaines salées et karsts gypseux;
  • Delta des rivières de la Paix et Athabasca, l’un des plus grands deltas d’eau douce en milieu boréal au monde;
  • Écosystème des grandes plaines et prairies boréales;
  • Relation entre le loup et le bison des bois;
  • Faune migratrice en grandes concentrations.

Pourquoi est-il nécessaire d’établir un plan d’action?

En juillet 2017, le Comité du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO a demandé au Canada d’élaborer un plan d’action pour le PNWB au plus tard le 1er décembre 2018 (date reportée ultérieurement au 1er février 2019). Cette demande faisait suite à une mission de suivi réactif (MSR) effectuée sur le site en 2016, dans le cadre de laquelle le Centre du patrimoine mondial (CPM) et l’Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN) ont déterminé que le rythme et l’ampleur des pressions liées aux aménagements en dehors des limites du parc (en particulier l’exploitation hydroélectrique et des sables bitumineux) et les changements climatiques menaçaient ses valeurs du patrimoine mondial.

Pour en savoir plus sur le Comité du patrimoine mondial et l’intérêt qu’il porte au parc national Wood Buffalo, consultez notre page d’aperçu.

Comment le plan d’action a-t-il été élaboré?

Une approche coopérative, intergouvernementale et multidimensionnelle est nécessaire pour répondre aux préoccupations concernant les valeurs du patrimoine mondial du PNWB. Parcs Canada a coordonné l’élaboration du plan d’action en partenariat avec les gouvernements de l’Alberta, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et de la Colombie-Britannique (par l’entremise d’un comité de coordination fédéral-provincial-territorial), et en collaboration avec les 11 partenaires autochtones du PNWB. Les associations industrielles, les organisations non gouvernementales et le grand public ont également participé à l’élaboration du plan. De plus, le plan d’action a été guidé par les conclusions d’une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES).

Pour en savoir plus sur la participation des Autochtones et des intervenants, consultez notre page portant sur le processus de participation.

Contenu du plan d’action

Le plan d’action contient 142 mesures, organisées en 7 domaines thématiques, qui sont nécessaires pour protéger les valeurs du patrimoine mondial du PNWB. Ces mesures de portées variées comprennent notamment :

  • des mesures visant à renforcer les relations avec les partenaires autochtones;
  • des mesures pour améliorer la recherche, la surveillance et la gestion du delta des rivières de la Paix et Athabasca (delta Paix-Athabaska), en utilisant à la fois les connaissances scientifiques et le savoir autochtone;
  • des mesures pour accroître la protection des écosystèmes à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur du parc national Wood Buffalo;
  • des mesures pour appuyer le rétablissement de la grue blanche et du bison des bois.

Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements au sujet de ces mesures ici.

Que se passe-t-il ensuite?

La mise en œuvre du plan d’action est déjà amorcée. Parcs Canada continue de coordonner la collaboration entre les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux (qui ont chacun des responsabilités particulières à l’égard des mesures relevant de leurs compétences et pouvoirs) et avec les gouvernements autochtones qui ont des responsabilités d’intendance pour leurs territoires traditionnels. Parcs Canada fera également rapport au Comité du patrimoine mondial sur les progrès de la mise en œuvre d’ici le 1er décembre 2020.

Voici quelques exemples des premières mesures de mise en œuvre :

  • Le gouvernement de l’Alberta a annoncé la création de nouveaux parcs provinciaux sauvages adjacents au PNWB en 2018 et, en 2019, en collaboration avec les collectivités et l’industrie autochtones, le gouvernement de l’Alberta a annoncé la création du parc provincial sauvage Kitaskino Nuwenëné, qui protège environ 160 000 hectares de terres supplémentaires immédiatement au sud du PNWB. Ces aires protégées fournissent d’importantes zones tampons et une connectivité paysagère au PNWB, contribuant ainsi à la préservation de la plus grande forêt boréale protégée contiguë au monde;
  • En juin 2019, le gouvernement du Canada a adopté une nouvelle loi pour modifier la façon dont les grands projets de compétence fédérale sont examinés et approuvés, notamment les projets qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur le PNWB. À certains égards, ces changements feront en sorte que les décisions seront prises en consultation avec les peuples autochtones et le public et en tenant compte de leurs commentaires et suggestions;
  • Le gouvernement du Canada convoquera un comité fédéral-provincial-territorial-autochtone pour mettre en œuvre les 75 mesures de surveillance et de gestion liées à l’hydrologie nécessaires pour atteindre les objectifs écologiques et d’utilisation traditionnelle du delta;
  • Parcs Canada, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, le gouvernement de l’Alberta et les collectivités autochtones entreprennent des travaux visant à élaborer et à surveiller davantage les indicateurs de la valeur universelle exceptionnelle du site, en mettant d’abord l’accent sur le delta Paix Athabaska;
  • Parcs Canada et ses partenaires autochtones poursuivent l’élaboration des processus du Comité de gestion coopérative et de mobilisation bilatérale afin d’améliorer la gestion coopérative du site.

Avez-vous besoin de plus de renseignements?

Des bulletins d’information sur l’élaboration de l’EES et du plan d’action se trouvent ici.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le plan d’action, veuillez envoyer un courriel à pc.woodbuffaloinfo-infowoodbuffalo.pc@canada.ca.