Strategic Environmental Assessment of potential cumulative impacts of all developments on the World Heritage Values of Wood Buffalo National Park

Summary

In response to a request from the World Heritage Committee, Parks Canada has completed a Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA) of the potential cumulative impacts of all developments on the world heritage values of Wood Buffalo National Park World Heritage Site. The SEA presents the best available information (Indigenous traditional knowledge and science) on activities and trends that may be having negative impacts on the world heritage values of the site.

The focus of the assessment is cumulative effects on the features and species that are relevant to the park's designation as a world heritage site. Additional information on the status of Wood Buffalo National Park as a world heritage site is available on the Overview page.

Completion of the SEA fulfils the World Heritage Committee’s 2015 and 2017 requests for Canada to undertake a Strategic Environmental Assessment of the potential cumulative impacts to the world heritage values of the site.

The SEA in relation to the Action Plan

Along with the recommendations from the Reactive Monitoring Mission report, the recommendations from the SEA are being used by Parks Canada to inform park management, and are being used by federal-provincial-territorial partners and others in the development of an Action Plan. For additional information, please refer to our Action Plan page.

Final Report

Following a final round of workshops, meetings, and a public comment period that closed on April 13, 2018, the final SEA report was completed on May 30, 2018. The Executive Summary is available here. The full SEA report has been shared with interested parties and submitted to the World Heritage Centre.

If you have any questions about the SEA or the Action Plan, please contact us at wbnpwhs.pnwbspm@pc.gc.ca.

Engagement on the SEA

Working with the SEA contractor (Independent Environmental Consultants or IEC), Parks Canada managed the engagement process to ensure the SEA reflected a broad range of perspectives and presented complete information and balanced views.

Feedback and information received in meetings, workshops and written submissions helped improve the assessment and the final report. The SEA recognizes different perspectives and information gaps where they continue to exist. Recommendations from the SEA will be carried forward in continued dialogue related to the Action Plan and the long-term management of Wood Buffalo National Park and the surrounding area.

In August 2017, a Draft Scoping Report was made available for comment. Based on the feedback submitted to Parks Canada in September, the contractor prepared an addendum to the Draft Scoping Report which summarized the key messages received during the comment period and outlined how feedback expanded the scope of SEA and integrated ecological integrity and Indigenous ways of life along with the world heritage values.

In addition to the addendum and Draft Scoping Report, Parks Canada prepared two newsletters describing the process used to develop the SEA, which are also available on this web page. The SEA, at the scoping stage in August-September, 2017, throughout its development, and at the review stage in March-May, 2018, was developed with input from government partners, Indigenous groups, academic researchers, industry, and conservation organizations. Federal, provincial and territorial government partners received regular updates from Parks Canada, directed the contractor to sources of information, and Environment and Climate Change Canada in particular made relevant experts available to review draft content.

Considering the project was initiated by concerns raised by Mikisew Cree First Nation (MCFN), Parks Canada and IEC worked closely with MCFN and other Indigenous partners. The goal of the engagement process with Indigenous groups was to hear from a range of leaders, Elders, land-users and technical advisors in an iterative process, so that the lived experiences of Indigenous peoples are evident in the report, and so that participants had a clear understanding of how their input was being used by decision makers.

Acknowledgments

Parks Canada thanks the Indigenous groups and their advisors, government partners, academic researchers, and representatives of industry and conservation organizations for their interest in the SEA and their willingness to contribute time and share information.

Parks especially appreciates the contributions of Elders and land-users from Indigenous groups whose homelands are within the park. We sincerely thank the Elders for their time, and for their patience and passion in sharing their stories.

Évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) des effets cumulatifs possibles de tous les aménagements sur les valeurs du site du patrimoine mondial du parc national Wood Buffalo

Résumé

En réponse à une demande du Comité du patrimoine mondial, Parcs Canada a réalisé une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) des répercussions cumulatives potentielles de tous les aménagements sur les valeurs du patrimoine mondial du parc national Wood Buffalo. L’EES présente la meilleure information disponible (connaissances traditionnelles autochtones et sciences) sur les activités et les tendances qui pourraient avoir des répercussions négatives sur les valeurs du patrimoine mondial du site.

L’évaluation concerne les effets cumulatifs sur les éléments caractéristiques et les espèces qui jouent un rôle dans la désignation du parc comme site du patrimoine mondial. Des renseignements supplémentaires sur l’état du parc national Wood Buffalo en tant que site du patrimoine mondial sont disponibles sur la page Aperçu.

La réalisation de l’EES répond aux demandes du Comité du patrimoine mondial de 2015 et 2017 pour que le Canada entreprenne une évaluation environnementale stratégique des répercussions cumulatives potentielles sur les valeurs patrimoniales du site.

L’EES en lien avec le plan d’action

Conformément aux recommandations formulées dans le rapport de la mission de suivi réactif, les recommandations de l’EES sont utilisées par Parcs Canada pour informer les gestionnaires du parc, et sont utilisées par les partenaires FPT et autres dans l’élaboration d’un plan d’action. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter notre page consacrée au plan d’action.

Rapport définitif

À la suite d’une dernière ronde d’ateliers et de réunions, ainsi que d’une période de commentaires publics qui a pris fin le 13 avril 2018, la version définitive du rapport sur l’EES a été achevée le 30 mai 2018. Vous trouverez ici le résumé. La version complète du rapport d’EES a été transmise aux parties intéressées et présentées au Centre du patrimoine mondial.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de l’EES ou du plan d’action, veuillez communiquer avec nous à wbnpwhs.pnwbspm@pc.gc.ca.

Consultations sur l’EES

De concert avec l’entrepreneur chargé de l’EES (Independent Environmental Consultants ou IEC), Parcs Canada a géré le processus de consultation pour veiller à ce que l’EES reflète une vaste gamme de points de vue et présentent des renseignements complets et des perspectives équilibrées.

Les commentaires et les renseignements reçus dans le cadre des réunions, des ateliers et des présentations écrites ont permis d’améliorer l’évaluation et le rapport définitif. L’EES reconnaît les différents points de vue et les lacunes en matière d’information où elles persistent. Les recommandations de l’EES seront reportées dans le dialogue continu lié au plan d’action et la gestion à long terme du parc national Wood Buffalo et des environs.

En août 2017, une ébauche de rapport sur la portée a été diffusée aux fins de commentaires. Selon la rétroaction soumise à Parcs Canada en septembre, l’entrepreneur a préparé un addenda à la version provisoire du rapport sur la portée qui résume les principaux messages reçus pendant la période de commentaires et décrit la façon dont la rétroaction a élargi la portée de l’EES pour tenir compte de l’intégrité écologique et du mode de vie autochtone, ainsi que des valeurs du patrimoine mondial. En plus de l’addenda et de l’ébauche du rapport sur la portée, Parcs Canada a préparé deux bulletins d’information décrivant le processus utilisé pour élaborer l’EES; ces bulletins sont aussi disponibles sur cette page Web.

De l’étape d’établissement de la portée en août et septembre 2017, tout au long de son développement, et à l’étape de l’examen en de mars à mai 2018, l’EES a été élaborée avec la participation des partenaires du gouvernement, des groupes autochtones, des chercheurs universitaires, de l’industrie et des organismes de conservation. Les partenaires des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ont reçu des mises à jour régulières de Parcs Canada, ont orienté l’entrepreneur vers les sources d’information, et Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, en particulier, a libéré des experts aux fins de l’examen de l’ébauche du contenu.

Puisque que le projet a été lancé à la suite des préoccupations soulevées par la Première Nation crie Mikisew (PNCM), Parcs Canada et CEI ont travaillé en étroite collaboration avec la PNCM et d’autres partenaires autochtones. L’objectif du processus de consultation avec les groupes autochtones était d’entendre un éventail de leaders, d’aînés, d’utilisateur des terres et de conseillers techniques dans un processus itératif, afin que les expériences des peuples autochtones soient évidentes dans le rapport, de façon à ce que les participants aient une compréhension claire de la façon dont leurs commentaires ont été utilisés par les décideurs.

Remerciements

Parcs Canada remercie les groupes autochtones et leurs conseillers, les partenaires gouvernementaux, les chercheurs universitaires, ainsi que les représentants de l’industrie et les organismes de conservation pour leur intérêt envers l’EES et leur volonté d’y consacrer du temps et de partager l’information.

L’Agence apprécie particulièrement la contribution des aînés et des utilisateurs des terres des groupes autochtones dont le territoire ancestral se trouve dans le parc. Nous remercions sincèrement les aînés pour leur temps, et pour leur patience et leur passion à partager leurs histoires.