Photography and Filming in Wood Buffalo National Park

photography

Through the Aboriginal Committee for the Cooperative Management of Wood Buffalo National Park, which meets a number of times per year, and bilateral projects and relationships, Parks Canada and local Indigenous partners are working toward a better future, one that better respects and represents the importance of the local Indigenous communities to the park. Filming in the park is an area we are working to build on and strengthen our relationships with our local Indigenous partners. Where projects can link respectfully to the local Indigenous people and their presence in the park and provide potential employment opportunities for their members this will be encouraged.

All photographic, video and film imagery undertakings on a commercial basis (e.g., intending to sell images or sharing images with sponsors) must go through an approval process. Profit and Not-for-Profit ventures must follow this process. Parks Canada reserves the right to determine whether an end product results in personal or corporate gain

Permits

As with all protected spaces in Canada, there are regulations established to ensure the longevity of these incredible places for years to come. This also minimizes the impacts on the ecosystems and creatures within the park, as well as visitors and park users.

The information here is intended for:
  • Individuals or groups
    • involved in commercial filming
    • wishing to film in sensitive areas of the park
    • performing film projects requiring staff time or park resources
    • using specialized equipment, such as drones
    • performing projects that will require impact assessments
  • Hobby photographers or videographers
  • Owners of existing cottage leases within Wood Buffalo National Park
  • Film Permit

    Film permits are required before undertaking professional commercial filming projects. Mitigating the impacts of large groups or film crews on natural and cultural resources within the area is one of the reasons why film permits are so important. Minimizing disruption on the enjoyment and use by visitors and park users is another factor.

    It is illegal to film in a national park for commercial purposes without a film permit.

    A film permit is also a requirement for projects proposed to occur in the whooping crane nesting area. Using specialised equipment such as helicopters, drones (UAVs), over-snow vehicles, quads (ATVs) and other off-road vehicles will require a film permit. Similarly, projects that draw on park resources (including staff) or may require impact assessments must be proposed for approval through the film permit process.

    Please contact us to learn more about the film permit process, to find out whether you need a business licence or a filming permit, or for any other questions you may have.

    Business Licence for Photography/Videography

    Hobby photographers or videographers capturing images and footage during their visit to Wood Buffalo National Park, with the intent to sell, require a business licence. Filming and photography covered within this licence must not impede park use and enjoyment by other visitors or damage cultural or natural resources.

    A Film Permit is required for photography or filming conducted in the whooping crane nesting habitat. If you anticipate your project will require restricted vehicles (like snowmobiles, ATVs, or personal watercrafts), park resources or impact assessments, please use the Film Permit Application form instead.

     

    Parks Canada regulations
    UAV /Drone related FAQ's
    Transport Canada links

    It is important to be aware that the use of Unmanned Air Vehicles (UAVs) or drones is a restricted activity and requires the permission of the Park Superintendent. Generally, a Transport Canada issued Special Flight Operations Certificate (SFOC) is required to operate a UAV within the park boundaries, in addition to a Parks Canada UAV permit.

    UAV

    With this in mind, film permitting at Wood Buffalo National Park generally follows this process:

    • Contact the Park (WBNP.info@pc.gc.ca) to determine if you need a film permit
    • Complete a detailed proposal for the film project including dates, names, and locations as per the Film Permit guidelines.
    • Film proposal is reviewed. You may be asked to participate in teleconference to further detail your project.
    • Film proposal undergoes a preliminary screening, including notification of partners/stakeholders that may be impacted.
    • Parks provides notification of film permit approval and conditions or its denial.
    • You provide proof of insurance, as per the Film Permit guidelines.
    • If approved, and fees are paid, the permit documentation is delivered for signature by all parties.

    For filming in the Northwest Territories other than in the National Parks of Canada please follow the guidelines provide on the Northwest Territories Tourism and Government of Northwest Territories Websites: http://www.nwtfilm.com"and Northwest Territories Tourism: http://media.spectacularnwt.com/media-fam-request

    For filming in Alberta, other than in the National Parks of Canada, please follow the guidelines provided on the Government of Alberta, Cultural and Tourism Website;https://albertafilm.ca/ and Travel Alberta: http://media.travelalberta.com/contact/

    FAQ’s

    What works well for filming in the Parks?
    • Productions involving minimal equipment and crew size.
    • Productions with minimum impact on the environment and visitors, e.g, avoiding locations that are more popular visitor attractions.
    • Productions contributing to public awareness, appreciation and understanding of Canada’s national parks and Parks Canada.
    • Productions that work with and respectfully incorporate the story of our Indigenous partners in the history and management of the parks.
    When’s the best time to plan filming in the Parks?

    Wood Buffalo National Park can be a year round filming destination and has hosted film projects in all seasons. It depends on the nature of your project and what you hope to capture. Spring colors are bright and bold as the land awakens from the cold. Summer is generally hot and beautiful with long, long days, but it can be a bit buggy for film crews. Fall is beautiful with the return of the night and a cooling that drops the bug numbers. The golden fall colors can be spectacular in contrast with the red samphire on the white Salt Plains. Winter holds its own wonders with snow laden trees and the enchanting Ice Road through the forest. Wild life can be seen along the roads depending on your patience and their cooperation year round with sightings of wood bison, black bear, lynx, wolves, moose and more. When the night sky returns Wood Buffalo’s status as the world’s largest Dark Sky Preserve steps up and you may see and film spectacular starry night skies and, when present, Aurora Borealis (Northern Lights) shows that you will not soon forget.

    The park is accessible by road year round via the fully chip sealed Highway 5 through Northern Alberta and Hay River to Fort Smith. There is also scheduled air access to Fort Smith and Fort Chipewyan through Edmonton and Yellowknife. Once in the communities you can access the park through automobile, hiking, bicycling, paddling, motor boat, skiing, snow shoeing and by charter helicopter. There is also charter float plane access to the communities of Fort Smith and Fort Chipewyan. Winter access is provided via the winter Ice Road between Fort Mc Murray, Fort Chipewyan and Fort Smith as well as the year round chip sealed Highway 5 from Fort Smith to Hay River and Enterprise with all road accessible points north or south from there.

    Please contact Park staff for more information.

    Can Parks Canada plan the filming locations for the production?

    Parks Canada can help you with filming questions and ideas, but your application should include a detailed list of proposed filming locations and a filming schedule. We understand schedules change and we can try to accommodate changes. Providing specific dates and location information ensures a timely process for you and gives us a better idea of what is possible. We strongly recommend researching and scouting locations before submitting an application.

    Would Parks Canada consider waiving some or all of the permit fees for the production??

    Fees may be reduced for proposals that assist Parks Canada in meeting its mandate and provide direct benefits to the park. An example of a direct benefit would be sharing of photos / footage for educational use by Parks Canada. Refer to list of fee reductions in the Film Guidelines for more details.

    Use of UAVs

    Unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs or drones) are increasing in popularity for hobbyists, photographers, and businesses. In national parks, the Canadian Aviation Regulations, and National Parks of Canada Aircraft Access Regulations, prohibit the take-off and landing a drone without a Parks Canada Restricted Activity Permit. Only Field Unit Superintendents may permit the use of unmanned aerial vehicles over Parks Canada property for purposes directly related to protected heritage area administration.

    UAV/Drones FAQ

    Transport Canada indicates that if an aircraft weighs less than 35kg and is used for recreational purposes, you don’t need permission to fly. Why doesn’t Parks Canada apply the same rules?
    National parks, national historic sites, and national marine conservation areas represent the very best that Canada has to offer. This restriction in Parks Canada’s protected areas is important to ensure the safety of wildlife and the quality of the visitor experiences. This is consistent with how UAVs are managed in other protected sites.
    What is the consequence for a member of the public caught using a drone?
    Contravention of these regulations may result in law enforcement action, including a $3000 fine for flying too high or too close to buildings, people or wildlife.
    Where can members of the public report the use of drones in Parks Canada places?
    Members of the public observing the use of drones are invited to contact the visitor information centre or park warden office in the park/site where use of the drone was observed or by calling our general information line toll-free at 1-888-773-8888.
    Parks Canada owns and operates drones, but the public can’t. Is that fair?
    Agency-approved drone usage supports Parks Canada’s mandate to protect ecological and commemorative integrity while presenting national parks, historic sites, and marine conservation areas to the public. A Field Unit Superintendent may authorize the use of drones for natural or cultural resource management, public safety, law enforcement, or park/site management purposes, including filming for outreach, education and promotional purposes. Parks Canada’s use of drones is carefully controlled.
    Will Parks Canada permit the use of drones for third-party scientific research?
    The use of drones for research purposes directly related to park/site management may be authorized by a Field Unit Superintendent. A permit application and subsequent approval process is required.
    Will Parks Canada permit the use of drones for commercial filming?
    The use of drones for commercial filming purposes may be authorized by a Field Unit Superintendent – similar to the use of helicopters or other filming methods. A permit application and subsequent approval process is required.
    Why do some commercial filming and research permits allow drone usage and some do not get permission to operate a drone? If I can operate a drone in one Parks Canada place, does it apply to all others?
    • Parks Canada manages one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and cultural heritage areas in the world. A Field Unit Superintendent may authorize limited use for natural and cultural resource management, public safety, law enforcement, or park/site management purposes, including filming for outreach, education and promotional purposes.
    • A permit must be sought from each national park or historic site before a drone can be operated because some commercial filming or research may support needs and goals associated with park or site management in one protected place but not in another.

     
    Transport Canada links
     
    From Transport Canada: Flying your drone safely and legally
    http://www.tc.gc.ca/eng/civilaviation/opssvs/flying-drone-safely-legally.html

    Recreational and non-recreational drone operations - Frequently Asked Questions
    http://www.tc.gc.ca/eng/civilaviation/opssvs/recreational-non-recreational-drone-operations-faq.htm

Photographie et tournage au parc national Wood Buffalo

photographie

Par l’entremise du comité autochtone pour la cogestion du parc national Wood Buffalo, qui se réunit un certain nombre de fois par année, et de relations et de projets bilatéraux, Parcs Canada et les partenaires autochtones de la région tracent la voie vers un avenir meilleur, avenir qui respecte et représente davantage l’importance des communautés autochtones locales pour le parc. Les tournages dans le parc sont un domaine que nous ciblons afin d’établir et de renforcer nos relations avec nos partenaires autochtones de la région. Nous encouragerons les projets qui peuvent être liés de manière respectueuse aux peuples autochtones locaux et à leur présence dans le parc et offrir des possibilités d’emploi potentielles à leurs membres.

Tous les projets de photos, de vidéos et films de nature commerciale (p. ex., visant à vendre des images ou à transmettre des images à des commanditaires) doivent passer par un processus d’approbation. Les entreprises à but lucratif et à but non lucratif doivent suivre ce processus. Parcs Canada se réserve le droit de déterminer si un produit final procure un gain personnel ou collectif.

Permis

Comme c’est le cas pour tous les espaces protégés au Canada, des règlements ont été adoptés pour assurer la pérennité de ces lieux extraordinaires. Ces règlements ont aussi pour but de minimiser les impacts sur les écosystèmes et les animaux qui vivent dans le parc, ainsi que sur les visiteurs et les utilisateurs qui le fréquentent.

Les renseignements fournis ici s’adressent :
  • aux individus ou groupes
    • engagés dans un tournage commercial;
    • souhaitant tourner dans les zones sensibles du parc;
    • engagés dans des projets de tournage nécessitant du personnel ou des ressources du parc;
    • utilisant de l’équipement spécialisé, comme des drones;
    • engagés dans des projets nécessitant des études d’impacts;
  • aux photographes ou vidéographes amateurs;
  • aux détenteurs de baux de villégiature dans le parc national Wood Buffalo.
  • Permis de tournage

    Il faut un permis de tournage avant de se lancer dans un tournage commercial et professionnel. L’atténuation des impacts de grands plateaux de tournage sur les ressources naturelles et culturelles explique l’importance d’avoir un permis de tournage. Un autre facteur à prendre en considération est la minimisation des dérangements pour les visiteurs et autres usagers du parc.

    Il est illégal de tourner dans un parc national à des fins commerciales sans permis de tournage.

    Il faut aussi un permis de tournage pour les projets réalisés dans l’aire de nidification de la grue blanche. L’utilisation de l’équipement spécialisé comme des hélicoptères, de véhicules aériens sans pilote (drones), des motoneiges, des véhicules tout-terrain (VTT) et des autres véhicules hors route a besoin d’un permis de tournage. Les projets qui nécessitent des ressources du parc (notamment des ressources humaines) ou des études d’impact doivent aussi être approuvés par le biais du processus de délivrance d’un permis de tournage.

    Veuillez communiquer avec nous pour en savoir plus sur le processus de délivrance d’un permis de tournage, pour savoir si vous avez besoin d’un permis d’exploitation commerciale ou d’un permis de tournage, ou pour toutes autres questions.

    Permis d’exploitation commerciale pour les photographes et les vidéographes

    Les photographes et les vidéographes amateurs qui prennent des images destinées à la vente lors de leur séjour au parc national Wood Buffalo doivent se procurer un permis d’exploitation commerciale. La prise d’images qu’autorise ce permis ne doit pas nuire aux autres usagers du parc ni endommager les ressources culturelles et naturelles.

    Un permis de tournage est nécessaire pour la prise d’images photographiques ou filmiques dans le lieu de nidification de la grue blanche. S’il est prévu que le projet nécessitera l’utilisation de véhicules faisant l’objet de restrictions (comme les motoneiges, les VTT ou les embarcations personnelles) et de ressources du parc, ou la tenue d’études d’impacts, il faut plutôt faire une demande de permis de tournage.

     

    Règlements de Parcs Canada
    FAQ sur les UAV /drones
    Liens de Transports Canada

    Il est important de savoir que l’utilisation de véhicules aériens sans pilote (UAV) ou de drones est une activité restreinte et que le directeur du parc doit donner son autorisation. Habituellement, un certificat d’opérations aériennes spécialisées (COAS) délivré par Transports Canada est nécessaire pour faire voler un UAV dans les limites du parc, en plus du permis d’UAV de Parcs Canada.

    UAV

    Ainsi, pour obtenir l’autorisation de faire un tournage dans le parc national Wood Buffalo, il faut habituellement suivre le processus suivant.

    • Communiquez avec un représentant du parc (WBNP.info@pc.gc.ca) pour déterminer s’il faut un permis de tournage.
    • Remplissez une proposition détaillée concernant le projet de tournage, en précisant notamment les dates, les noms et les lieux, conformément aux Lignes directrices sur les activités de tournage.
    • La proposition de tournage est examinée. On peut vous demander de participer à une téléconférence pour donner d’autres détails sur votre projet.
    • La proposition de tournage fera l’objet d’un examen préliminaire, dans le cadre duquel les partenaires ou les intervenants qui pourraient être touchés seront informés.
    • Parcs Canada transmet au demandeur un avis d’approbation ou de refus du permis de tournage ainsi que les conditions connexes.
    • Vous devez fournir une preuve d’assurance conformément aux Lignes directrices sur les activités de tournage
    • Si le permis est approuvé et que les frais ont été payés, les documents relatifs au permis sont transmis aux fins de signature par toutes les parties.

    Pour tourner dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, ailleurs que dans les parcs nationaux du Canada, veuillez suivre les directives fournies sur le site Web du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest http://www.nwtfilm.com/ (en anglais seulement) et de l’organisme Northwest Territories Tourism http://media.spectacularnwt.com/media-fam-request (en anglais seulement)

    Pour tourner un film en Alberta, ailleurs que dans les parcs nationaux du Canada, veuillez suivre les directives fournies sur le site Web de la culture et du tourisme du gouvernement de l’Alberta : https://albertafilm.ca/ (en anglais seulement) et de l’organisme Travel Alberta http://media.travelalberta.com/contact/ (en anglais seulement)

     

    FAQ’s

    Quels projets conviennent à un parc national?
    • Les projets de tournage qui nécessitent peu d’équipement et une petite équipe.
    • Les projets de tournage qui ont une incidence minimale sur l’environnement et les visiteurs, p. ex., éviter les endroits qui sont très fréquentés par les visiteurs.
    • Les projets de tournage qui contribuent à la sensibilisation du public ainsi qu’à l’appréciation et à la compréhension des parcs nationaux du Canada et de Parcs Canada.
    • Les projets de tournage qui collaborent avec nos partenaires autochtones et la direction des parcs et qui intègrent respectueusement l’histoire de nos partenaires autochtones.
    Quel est le meilleur moment pour planifier un tournage dans les parcs?

    Le parc national Wood Buffalo est une destination de tournage parfaite toute l’année qui a déjà accueilli des projets de tournage dans toutes les saisons. Cela dépend de la nature de votre projet et de ce que vous souhaitez filmer. Au printemps, les couleurs sont vives et riches étant donné que la terre se réveille après le froid de l’hiver. L’été est généralement chaud et magnifique avec ses très longues journées, mais il peut y avoir beaucoup d’insectes pour l’équipe de tournage. L’automne est splendide; c’est le retour de l’obscurité et le temps est plus frais, ce qui réduit le nombre d’insectes. Le contraste des couleurs dorées de l’automne peut être spectaculaire avec la salicorne rouge sur les plaines salées blanches. L’hiver propose ses propres merveilles avec des arbres chargés de neige et le ravissant chemin de glace dans la forêt. Toute l’année, le long des routes, il est possible d’apercevoir des animaux sauvages, selon votre patience et leur collaboration, comme des bisons des bois, des ours noirs, des lynx, des loups, des orignaux et plus encore. Lorsque le ciel nocturne est de retour, le parc national Wood Buffalo fait valoir son statut de plus grande réserve de ciel étoilé au monde et vous pouvez voir et filmer un ciel étoilé spectaculaire et, lorsqu’il y en a, des aurores boréales que vous ne serez pas prêts d’oublier.

    Le parc est accessible tout au long de l’année par la route 5, revêtue d’un enduit superficiel, qui traverse le Nord de l’Alberta et passe par Hay River jusqu’à Fort Smith. Il est aussi possible d’y accéder grâce aux services aériens réguliers assurés jusqu’à Fort Smith et Fort Chipewyan depuis Edmonton et Yellowknife. Une fois rendu dans ces collectivités, vous pouvez vous rendre au parc par divers moyens : voiture, randonnée, vélo, canot, bateau, ski, raquette et hélicoptère nolisé. Vous pouvez également vous rendre dans les collectivités de Fort Smith et Fort Chipewyan en hydravion nolisé. En hiver, le parc est accessible par la route de glace reliant Fort Mc Murray, Fort Chipewyan et Fort Smith ainsi que par la route 5, revêtue d’un enduit superficiel, de Fort Smith à Hay River et Enterprise, où il est possible d’avoir accès à toutes les routes menant au nord ou au sud.

    Veuillez vous adresser à un employé du parc pour en savoir plus.

    Est-ce que Parcs Canada peut prévoir les lieux de tournage du projet?

    Parcs Canada peut répondre à vos questions relatives au tournage et vous donner des idées. Toutefois, votre demande doit inclure une liste détaillée des lieux de tournage proposés et un calendrier de tournage. Nous comprenons que les calendriers peuvent changer et nous pouvons essayer de nous adapter à ces changements. Fournir des dates et des renseignements précis sur les lieux vous assure un traitement rapide et nous donne une meilleure idée de ce qui est possible. Nous vous recommandons fortement de faire des recherches sur les lieux avant de présenter une demande.

    Parcs Canada envisagerait-il de renoncer à une partie ou à la totalité des droits de permis pour le projet de tournage?

    Il est possible de réduire le montant des droits pour des projets qui aident Parcs Canada à exécuter son mandat et qui procurent des avantages directs au parc. Par exemple, le partage de photos ou de séquences que Parcs Canada pourra utiliser à des fins éducatives constitue un avantage direct. Consultez la liste de réduction des droits présentée dans les Lignes directrices sur les activités de tournage pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

    Utilisation des UAV

    Les véhicules aériens sans pilote (UAV ou drones) gagnent en popularité auprès des amateurs, des photographes et des entrepreneurs. Dans les parcs nationaux, conformément au Règlement de l’aviation canadien et au Règlement sur l’accès par aéronef aux parcs nationaux du Canada, il est interdit de faire décoller ou atterrir un drone sans permis d’activité restreinte de Parcs Canada. Seuls les directeurs d’unité de gestion peuvent autoriser l’utilisation d’UAV au-dessus des terrains de Parcs Canada pour des raisons directement liées à l’administration des aires patrimoniales protégées.

    FAQ sur les UAV/drones

    Transports Canada précise que si un aéronef dont la masse est inférieure à 35 kg est utilisé à des fins récréatives, aucun permis n’est nécessaire pour le faire voler. Pourquoi Parcs Canada n’applique-t-il pas les mêmes règles?
    Les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation représentent les plus beaux fleurons du Canada. La restriction imposée dans les aires protégées de Parcs Canada est importante pour assurer la sécurité de la faune et la qualité de l’expérience des visiteurs. Elle est conforme à la manière dont les UAV sont gérés dans d’autres lieux protégés.
    Quelle est la conséquence si un membre du public est pris à utiliser un drone?
    Une infraction à ce règlement peut donner lieu à des mesures d’application de la loi, notamment une contravention de 3 000 $ pour avoir volé trop haut ou trop près de bâtiments, de personnes ou d’animaux sauvages.
    Comment les membres du public peuvent-ils signaler l’utilisation de drones dans les lieux de Parcs Canada?
    On invite les membres du public qui sont témoins de l’utilisation de drones à communiquer avec le bureau du parc en composant le 867-588-4884 ou le bureau du garde du parc où l’utilisation d’un drone a été observée ou en communiquant avec notre ligne d’information générale sans frais au 1-888-773-8888.
    Parcs Canada possède des drones et les fait voler, mais le public ne peut pas. Est-ce juste?
    L’utilisation de drones approuvés par l’Agence appuie le mandat de Parcs Canada qui vise à protéger l’intégrité écologique et l’intégrité commémorative tout en mettant en valeur les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques et les aires marines de conservation auprès du public. Un directeur d’unité de gestion peut autoriser l’utilisation de drones pour la gestion des ressources naturelles ou culturelles, la sécurité publique, l’application de la loi ou la gestion du parc ou du lieu historique, notamment un tournage à des fins de sensibilisation, d’éducation et de promotion. L’utilisation des drones à Parcs Canada est rigoureusement contrôlée.
    Parcs Canada autorisera-t-il l’utilisation de drones pour la recherche scientifique de tiers?
    L’utilisation de drones à des fins de recherche directement liée à la gestion du parc ou du lieu historique peut être autorisée par un directeur d’unité de gestion. Il faut présenter une demande de permis et suivre le processus d’approbation subséquent.
    Parcs Canada autorisera-t-il l’utilisation de drones pour des tournages commerciaux?
    L’utilisation de drones à des fins de tournage commercial peut être autorisée par un directeur d’unité de gestion (semblable à l’utilisation d’hélicoptères ou d’autres méthodes de tournage). Il faut présenter une demande de permis et suivre le processus d’approbation subséquent.
    Pourquoi certains permis de tournage commercial et de recherche autorisent-ils l’utilisation de drones et d’autres, non? Si je peux utiliser un drone dans un lieu de Parcs Canada, cette autorisation s’applique-t-elle à tous les autres lieux?
    • Parcs Canada gère l’un des plus beaux et des plus grands réseaux d’aires naturelles et culturelles protégées de la planète. Un directeur d’unité de gestion peut autoriser une utilisation limitée pour la gestion des ressources naturelles ou culturelles, la sécurité publique, l’application de la loi ou la gestion du parc ou du lieu historique, notamment un tournage à des fins de sensibilisation, d’éducation et de promotion.
    • Il faut obtenir un permis auprès de chaque parc national ou lieu historique avant de pouvoir utiliser un drone parce que certains tournages commerciaux ou travaux de recherche peuvent soutenir les besoins et les objectifs associés à la gestion du parc ou du lieu historique dans un endroit protégé, mais pas dans l’autre.

     
    Liens de Transports Canada
     
    De Transports Canada : Utiliser votre drone de façon sécuritaire et légale
    http://www.tc.gc.ca/fra/aviationcivile/opssvs/utiliser-drone-facon-securitaire-legale.html

    Utilisation de drones à des fins récréatives et non récréatives :  Foire aux questions
    http://www.tc.gc.ca/fra/aviationcivile/opssvs/utilisation-drones-fins-recreatives-non-recreatives-faq.html