Canadian toads are found in Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba as well as in the north-central United States. Their range in northern Alberta extends into the Northwest Territories, including in Wood Buffalo National Park. The Canadian toad populations within the park are the most northerly known within their range.

Canadian toads in Wood Buffalo National Park survive the cold subarctic winters by burrowing below the frost line into loose, sandy soils. Their burrowing areas are collectively called hibernacula, and they tend to return to the same wintering sites (hibernacula) year after year. Overwintering sites in northern regions such as the park often contain many individuals. One overwintering site in Wood Buffalo National Park near Fort Smith, NT, has been estimated to house several hundred hibernating toads. Other hibernacula within the park are found in exposed sandy cut-banks along NT Highway 5. The toads hibernate from September to May each year.

Canadian toad emerging from hibernaculum

Why Monitor Canadian Toads?

Amphibians such as Canadian toads are sensitive to environmental change. The relative abundance of Canadian toads, as measured in Wood Buffalo National Park over time, can be an indicator of the health of the local ecosystem.

Methodology

When Canadian toads emerge in the spring, a small hole (one hole per toad) is left in the sand. Resource conservation staff visit the toad monitoring sites in Wood Buffalo National Park around mid-May to early June. This is done shortly after the toads have emerged in the spring, but before the openings of the holes are obscured by rain. Seven hibernacula are surveyed along NT Highway 5 each year, and the number of holes at each site is recorded. The hibernacula were discovered in 1989, and the emergent hole surveys began in the early 2000’s.

For More Information:

Rhona Kindopp
A/ Resource Conservation Manager
Wood Buffalo National Park
rhona.kindopp@canada.ca
867-872-7932

On retrouve le crapaud du Canada en Alberta, en Saskatchewan et au Manitoba, ainsi que dans le nord et le centre des États-Unis. Son aire de distribution dans le nord de l’Alberta s’étend jusque dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le parc national Wood Buffalo. Les populations de crapaud du Canada dans le parc sont celles qui se trouvent le plus au nord.

Les crapauds du Canada dans le parc national Wood Buffalo survivent aux hivers subarctiques en s’enfouissant sous la ligne de gel dans des sols meubles et sableux, dans ce qu’on appelle des gîtes d’hibernation, où ils ont tendance à revenir d’une année à l’autre. Les sites d’hivernage dans les régions du nord comme le parc accueillent souvent de nombreux individus. On estime que l’un des sites dans le parc national Wood Buffalo près de Fort Smith, dans les T. N.-O., contient plusieurs centaines de crapauds qui hibernent. On trouve d’autres gîtes d’hibernation dans le parc dans des berges hautes sableuses le long de la route 5. Les crapauds hibernent de septembre à mai.

Crapaud du Canada émergeant de son gîte d’hibernation

Pourquoi surveiller le crapaud du Canada?

Les amphibiens comme le crapaud du Canada sont sensibles aux changements environnementaux. L’abondance relative des crapauds, comme mesurée dans le parc national Wood Buffalo au fil du temps, peut indiquer la santé de l’écosystème local.

Méthodologie

Lorsque les crapauds du Canada émergent au printemps, ils laissent un petit trou (un par crapaud) dans le sable. Des employés de la Conservation des ressources se rendent aux sites de surveillance dans le parc national Wood Buffalo entre la mi-mai et le début juin, soit peu de temps après la sortie des crapauds, mais avant que les trous disparaissent avec la pluie. Plusieurs gîtes d’hibernation sont surveillés le long de la route 5 chaque année, et le nombre de trous à chaque endroit est consigné. Les gîtes ont été découverts en 1989 et les relevés ont commencé au début des années 2000.

Pour plus d’information :

Rhona Kindopp
Gestionnaire adjointe, Conservation des ressources
Parc national Wood Buffalo
rhona.kindopp@canada.ca
867-872-7932