What are Nightjars?

Nightjars are a family of birds that forage for flying insects at night. Nightjars are found across Canada, with the exception of Newfoundland and the far north. They arrive later than most migratory bird species, showing up each year in late May and early June. During the summer, nightjars breed across Canada, laying two eggs directly on the ground with no nest.

The only nightjar species found in Wood Buffalo National Park is the Common Nighthawk. Common Nighthawks are listed as Threatened under the federal Species at Risk Act. They are generally found in open-area habitat such as grasslands, clearcuts, burn areas, sandy areas, peatlands, rocky bluffs, open forests, and even in urban areas. Males are thought to defend territories for mating and nesting, but will forage and roost outside those territories up to several kilometres away. Like all living creatures in the park, Common Nighthawks benefit from the protection of nocturnal conditions within their habitat under Wood Buffalo National Park’s designation as a Dark Sky Preserve.

Why Monitor Nightjars?

Due to their nocturnal habits, nightjars are understudied, but there is concern about their declining populations. Information on nightjar distribution, abundance, habitat associations, and population trends is important for conservation and management efforts. Wood Buffalo National Park participates in the Canadian Nightjar Survey, a citizen science monitoring program intended to help increase understanding of nightjar species in Canada.

Nighthawk Monitoring in Wood Buffalo National Park

In Wood Buffalo National Park, resource conservation staff conduct a Common Nighthawk Survey annually in early July using the methodology outlined in the Canadian Nightjar Survey Protocol. The survey is conducted along a transect starting 30 minutes before sunset. Participants listen for and count the number of Common Nighthawks at twelve points along the transect. They do this by listening for nighthawk calls for six minutes at each point, and then recording the number of birds heard.

Data from the Wood Buffalo National Park surveys is submitted to the Canadian Nightjar Survey database, which helps scientists and researchers expand their understanding of Common Nighthawks across the country.

How Can I Help?

Why not participate as a Citizen Scientist? If you are interested in helping with the Common Nighthawk surveys in Wood Buffalo National Park, contact:

Sharon Irwin
Resource Management Officer
Wood Buffalo National Park
Ph. 867-872-7948
E-mail: Sharon.Irwin2@canada.ca

Que sont les engoulevents?

Les engoulevents sont une famille d’oiseaux qui cherchent des insectes volants la nuit. On les retrouve partout au Canada, sauf à Terre-Neuve et dans le Grand Nord. Ils arrivent plus tard que la plupart des espèces d’oiseaux migrateurs, vers la fin mai et au début juin. L’été, ils se reproduisent partout au pays et pondent deux œufs directement sur le sol, sans nid.

La seule espèce d’engoulevent dans le parc national Wood Buffalo est l’engoulevent d’Amérique. C’est une espèce menacée en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. On la retrouve généralement dans les habitats ouverts comme les prairies, les zones de coupe, les aires brûlées, les secteurs sableux, les tourbières, les caps rocheux, les forêts à couvert ouvert, et même dans les zones urbaines. On croit que les mâles défendent leur territoire pour la reproduction et la nidification, mais ils se nourrissent et se reposent à une distance allant jusqu’à plusieurs kilomètres de leur territoire. Comme tous les animaux dans le parc, les engoulevents d’Amérique bénéficient de la protection des conditions nocturnes dans leur habitat, car le parc national Wood Buffalo est désigné comme une réserve de ciel étoilé.

Pourquoi surveiller les engoulevents?

En raison de leurs habitudes nocturnes, les engoulevents sont peu étudiés, mais on s’inquiète du déclin de leur population. Il est important de posséder de l’information sur la répartition, l’abondance, l’association à un habitat et les tendances de la population à des fins de conservation et de gestion. Le parc national Wood Buffalo participe au relevé des engoulevents (en anglais seulement), un programme de surveillance par les citoyens qui vise à faire mieux comprendre les espèces d’engoulevents au Canada.

Surveillance de l’engoulevent d’Amérique dans le parc national Wood Buffalo

Dans le parc national Wood Buffalo, des employés de la Conservation des ressources mènent chaque année un relevé de l’engoulevent d’Amérique au début du mois de juillet à l’aide de la méthodologie décrite dans le protocole du relevé des engoulevents canadien (en anglais seulement). Le relevé est effectué le long d’un transect en débutant 30 minutes avant le coucher du soleil. Les participants écoutent et comptent le nombre d’engoulevents d’Amérique à douze points le long du transect. Ils écoutent les cris des engoulevents pendant six minutes à chaque point, puis notent le nombre d’oiseaux entendus.

Les données tirées des relevés du parc national Wood Buffalo sont saisies dans la base de données du relevé des engoulevents canadien, qui aide les scientifiques et les chercheurs à enrichir leur connaissance de l’engoulevent d’Amérique partout au pays.

Comment puis-je aider?

Pourquoi ne pas devenir un citoyen scientifique? Si cela vous intéresse de contribuer aux relevés de l’engoulevent d’Amérique dans le parc national Wood Buffalo, communiquez avec :

Sharon Irwin
Agente, Gestion des ressources
Parc national Wood Buffalo
Tél. : 867-872-7948
Courriel : Sharon.Irwin2@canada.ca