Muskrats are important to the Indigenous people of the region who harvest the animals for both food and fur. The pelts are used locally for making traditional clothing, or are sold commercially for trapping income. As aquatic herbivores and an important food source for carnivores, the presence of muskrats in wetland habitats is a sign of a healthy ecosystem.

The Peace-Athabasca Delta is one of the largest inland freshwater deltas in the world and a Wetland of International Significance (Ramsar site). 80% of the delta lies within Wood Buffalo National Park, which is a World Heritage Site. In 2011, Wood Buffalo National Park and local Indigenous communities started working together on muskrat monitoring in the Peace-Athabasca Delta in response to questions and concerns about muskrat abundance raised by traditional land users.

Why Monitor Muskrats?

Muskrats are an excellent indicator of ecosystem health because their numbers respond strongly to natural deltaic processes of flooding and drying. In the Peace-Athabasca Delta, seasonal spring flooding caused by natural ice jams on rivers during spring break-up is beneficial to the muskrats as it replenishes the wetlands where they build their houses.

One environmental concern is that these types of ice jams and floods are happening less often due to climate change and upstream flow regulation by hydro dams. As a result, some of the delta’s wetlands have either dried up or are in the process of drying up. This has reduced the amount of wetland habitat available for species such as waterfowl, shorebirds, and muskrats.

Methodology

Muskrat abundance is one indicator of wetland health in the park’s ecological monitoring program. Since 2012, annual muskrat surveys have been conducted in the Peace-Athabasca Delta by collaborative teams of local Indigenous land users and Parks Canada resource conservation staff. Members of the Mikisew Cree First Nation, Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation, and Fort Chipewyan Métis Local 125 conduct the surveys in study areas within their respective traditional territories where muskrats are known to reside.

The surveys are conducted in early winter when the muskrat houses can be reached by snowmobile. In each study basin they count the number of muskrat houses and also measure snow depth, ice thickness, and the depth of water beneath the ice.

For More Information:

Rhona Kindopp
A/ Resource Conservation Manager
Wood Buffalo National Park
rhona.kindopp@canada.ca
867-872-7932

Les rats musqués sont importants pour les Autochtones de la région, qui les récoltent pour la nourriture et la fourrure. Les peaux servent à fabriquer des vêtements traditionnels localement ou sont vendues commercialement comme revenu de trappage. Les rats musqués sont des herbivores aquatiques et une importante source de nourriture pour les carnivores, et leur présence dans les zones humides sont un signe d’écosystème sain.

Le delta Paix-Athabasca est l’un des plus grands deltas intérieurs d’eau douce du monde et une zone humide d’importance internationale (site Ramsar); 80 % du delta se trouve dans le parc national Wood Buffalo, un lieu du patrimoine mondial. En 2011, le parc et les collectivités autochtones locales ont commencé à travailler ensemble pour surveiller le rat musqué dans le delta Paix-Athabasca en réaction aux questions et préoccupations soulevées par les utilisateurs traditionnels des terres et concernant l’abondance de cet animal.

Pourquoi surveiller le rat musqué?

Les rats musqués sont un excellent indicateur de la santé de l’écosystème, car leur nombre réagit fortement aux phénomènes naturels des deltas comme les inondations et la sécheresse. Dans le delta Paix-Athabasca, les inondations printanières causées par les embâcles sur les rivières pendant la débâcle profitent aux rats musqués, car elles renflouent les zones humides où ils creusent leurs terriers.

Du point de vue environnemental, on se soucie du fait que ces types d’embâcles et de débâcles se produisent moins souvent en raison des changements climatiques et de la régulation des eaux en amont par les barrages hydroélectriques. Par conséquent, certaines des zones humides du delta se sont asséchées ou sont en cours d’assèchement, ce qui a réduit la superficie d’habitat pour des espèces comme la sauvagine, les oiseaux de rivage et les rats musqués.

Méthodologie

L’abondance du rat musqué est un indicateur de la santé des zones humides dans le cadre du programme de surveillance écologique du parc. Des relevés annuels sont menés depuis 2012 dans le delta Paix-Athabasca par des équipes composées d’utilisateurs autochtones des terres et d’employés de la Conservation des ressources de Parcs Canada. Des membres de la Première Nation crie Mikisew, de la Première Nation Athabasca Chipewyan et des Métis de Fort Chipewyan (section 125) effectuent les relevés dans des aires d’étude dans leur territoire traditionnel respectif où on sait qu’il y a des rats musqués.

On exécute les relevés au début de l’hiver, lorsqu’on peut se rendre aux terriers par motoneige. On compte alors le nombre de terriers de rat musqué dans chaque bassin étudié et on mesure la profondeur de la neige, l’épaisseur de la glace et la profondeur de l’eau sous la glace.

Pour plus d’information :

Rhona Kindopp
Gestionnaire adjointe de la Conservation des ressources
Parc national Wood Buffalo
rhona.kindopp@canada.ca
867-872-7932