Why Endangered?
A Whooping Crane Mystery!
Back from the Brink of Extinction

Wood Buffalo National Park protects the nesting area of the last natural wild migratory flock of whooping cranes left in the world. The population of the Wood Buffalo – Aransas wild migratory flock has increased to an estimated 505 birds as of 2018. This is the highest count yet for this wild migratory flock since their near-extinction in the early 1940’s.

The International Whooping Crane Recovery Program – which involves Canada, the United States, and many partners – is dedicated to the recovery of this COSEWIC endangered species. In Canada, the lead organization for the program is the Canadian Wildlife Service, and in the United States it is the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service. Parks Canada (Wood Buffalo National Park) also has a representative on the International Whooping Crane Recovery Team.

The Whooping crane nesting area in Wood Buffalo National Park is a maze of shallow wetlands.
Photo: Parks Canada / John D McKinnon

In Wood Buffalo National Park, the whooping crane nesting area is a Ramsar site, or Wetland of International Significance. It is a maze of small shallow wetlands – inhospitable to humans - but a perfect remote habitat for the whooping cranes to nest and raise their young, and a key contributing factor to the recovery and ongoing conservation of this endangered species. The Wood Buffalo – Aransas flock migrates 4000 km twice yearly between Wood Buffalo National Park and their wintering area at the Aransas National Wildlife Refuge along the Gulf of Mexico in southern Texas.

Whooping Crane Monitoring

Wood Buffalo National Park and the Canadian Wildlife Service conduct monitoring surveys of the nesting area annually. They survey and count the number of nesting pairs after the birds have arrived in the spring, and in late summer they survey again to count the number of fledglings prior to their migration.

Fledgling Survey, Wood Buffalo National Park
Photo: Parks Canada / John D McKinnon

The monitoring surveys are done by helicopter. Equipment includes a GPS unit, a computer, a camera, data sheets and binoculars. The birds’ behaviour is also observed and if they show any signs of agitation the observers pull back so as not to interfere with the nesting and raising of chicks.

Today we are learning even more thanks to sophisticated GPS and satellite tracking technology. Parks Canada is a supporting partner in the Whooping Crane Telemetry Project, a long-term study which started in 2010 and over time will provide even more in-depth information about the movements of the marked birds during migration, as well as within their nesting and wintering areas. Parks Canada staff have been part of the international team tasked with fitting selected adults and juveniles in the nesting area with GPS transmitters on leg bands as part of this study.

The Canadian Wildlife Service is also looking at the use of high resolution satellite imagery for monitoring of nests. This project is still in the very early stages.

For more information:

Rhona Kindopp
A/ Resource Conservation Manager
Wood Buffalo National Park
rhona.kindopp@canada.ca
867-872-7932

Pourquoi en voie de disparition?
Un mystère de grue blanche!
Plus en voie d’extinction

Le parc national Wood Buffalo protège l’aire de nidification de la dernière volée de grues blanches migratrices au monde. Cette volée Wood Buffalo-Aransas a augmenté pour s’établir à environ 505 oiseaux en 2018, le nombre le plus important pour cette volée migratrice sauvage depuis sa quasi-extinction au début des années 1940.

Le programme de rétablissement de la grue blanche, auquel participent le Canada, les États-Unis et de nombreux partenaires, a pour but de rétablir cette espèce en voie de disparition du COSEPAC. Au Canada, l’organisme en tête du programme est le Service canadien de la faune et aux États-Unis, le U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service. Parcs Canada (le parc national Wood Buffalo) compte aussi un représentant au sein de l’équipe internationale de rétablissement de la grue blanche.

L’aire de nidification de la grue blanche dans le parc national Wood Buffalo est un labyrinthe de zones humides peu profondes.
Photo : Parcs Canada / John D McKinnon

Dans le parc national Wood Buffalo, l’aire de nidification de la grue blanche est un site Ramsar, c’est-à-dire une zone humide d’importance internationale. C’est un labyrinthe de zones humides peu profondes, inhospitalières pour les humains, mais idéales pour les grues blanches qui peuvent alors nicher et élever leurs petits en paix. Ce site est un facteur clé du rétablissement et de la conservation continue de cette espèce en péril. La volée Wood Buffalo-Aransas parcourt 4 000 km deux fois par année entre le parc national Wood Buffalo et son aire d’hivernage dans le Aransas National Wildlife Refuge (en anglais seulement)  le long du golfe du Mexique, dans le sud du Texas.

Surveillance de la grue blanche

Le parc national Wood Buffalo et le Service canadien de la faune mènent chaque année des relevés de surveillance de l’aire de nidification. Ils dénombrent les couples nicheurs après l’arrivée des oiseaux au printemps, puis le nombre de jeunes à l’envol à la fin de l’été, avant la migration.

Relevé des jeunes à l’envol, parc national Wood Buffalo
Photo : Parcs Canada / John D McKinnon

Les relevés de surveillance sont effectués par hélicoptère, à l’aide notamment d’un appareil GPS, d’un ordinateur, d’un appareil photo, de feuilles de données et de jumelles. On observe également le comportement des oiseaux et s’ils semblent agités, les observateurs s'éloignent pour ne pas nuire à la nidification et à l’élevage des petits.

Aujourd’hui, nous en apprenons encore davantage grâce à la technologie de GPS et de repérage satellite. Parcs Canada est un partenaire du projet de télémétrie de la grue blanche, une étude à long terme lancée en 2010 qui fournira avec le temps de l’information encore plus complète sur les déplacements des oiseaux marqués, durant la migration et dans leur aire de nidification et d’hivernage. Des employés de Parcs Canada font partie de l’équipe internationale chargée de poser des émetteurs GPS sur les bagues de certains adultes et juvéniles dans l’aire de nidification.

Le Service canadien de la faune examine en outre l’utilisation d’imagerie satellite à haute résolution pour surveiller les nids. Ce projet en est encore à ses débuts.

 

Pour plus d’information :

Rhona Kindopp
Gestionnaire adjointe, Conservation des ressources
Parc national Wood Buffalo
rhona.kindopp@canada.ca
867-872-7932