Why Monitor Forest Birds?

Wood Buffalo National Park’s forests are part of the largest contiguous boreal protected area in the world. The park’s 4.5 million hectares (44,741 km2) provide important boreal habitat for more than 214 species of birds (PDF 1,178 KB), many of which are migratory forest songbirds.

In Wood Buffalo National Park, the main ecological issue for forests is related to the potential effects of climate change. Over time, climate change could potentially impact natural drivers of disturbances within the forest such as fire, disease, and fluctuations in insect populations. This in turn could affect species composition and biodiversity within the forest over time.

Migratory forest songbirds are common and widespread, and also sensitive to ecological changes. Ecological monitoring of migratory songbird populations is a widely-used tool for measuring ecological integrity of forest ecosystems, and can provide direction for future research.

Autonomous recording units are used for forest bird monitoring in Wood Buffalo National Park.
Photo : Parks Canada

Forest Bird Monitoring in Wood Buffalo National Park

In Wood Buffalo National Park, resource conservation staff have started a multi-year program to monitor migratory forest songbird populations over time. Key monitoring questions include:

  • Are key forest bird species exhibiting population trends that may lead to a significant decline in abundance?

  • Are there changes in species diversity of migratory forest songbirds over time?

  • Are there rare, uncommon, or species at risk present, and is there evidence of changes in abundance of these species?

  • Which forest habitat types support the greatest abundance and diversity of species? Are there specific habitat types that support species at risk or other bird species?

Methodology

June is survey time! Autonomous recording units (ARUs) are used to detect the presence of various bird species by recording their sounds during the time of year when they are most active in defending their territories and attracting mates by singing. The ARUs are attached to trees in various locations throughout the park, in different types of forest habitats.

Since most bird species tend to be most active early in the morning, the units are pre-programmed to record for 10 minutes during a four hour window which starts 30 minutes before sunrise. Some of the ARUs will also record for 5 minutes around sunset to capture songs from species such as thrushes which tend to be more active late in the evening. The recordings are sent to the Alberta Biodiversity Monitoring Institute (ABMI) for analysis of the songs by species. Park biologists are then able to analyze the data statistically to monitor population trends.

For more information:

Rhona Kindopp
A/ Resource Conservation Manager
Wood Buffalo National Park
rhona.kindopp@canada.ca
867-872-7932

Pourquoi surveiller les oiseaux forestiers?

Les forêts du parc national Wood Buffalo font partie de la plus grande zone boréale protégée contiguë du monde. Les 44 741 km2 (4,5 millions d’hectares) du parc offrent un habitat boréal important à plus de 214 espèces d’oiseaux (PDF 1 179 KO), dont tout un nombre sont des oiseaux chanteurs forestiers migrateurs.

Le principal enjeu écologique des forêts dans le parc national Wood Buffalo a trait aux effets potentiels des changements climatiques qui, au fil du temps, pourraient avoir une incidence sur les phénomènes naturels de perturbation dans la forêt comme le feu, la maladie et les fluctuations dans les populations d’insectes. Cela pourrait alors affecter la composition et la biodiversité des espèces.

Les oiseaux chanteurs forestiers migrateurs sont courants et répandus, et aussi sensibles aux changements écologiques. Leur surveillance est un outil largement utilisé pour mesurer l’intégrité écologique des écosystèmes forestiers, et peut orienter les recherches futures.

On utilise des appareils d’enregistrement autonomes pour surveiller les oiseaux forestiers dans le parc national Wood Buffalo.
Photo : Parcs Canada

Surveillance des oiseaux forestiers dans le parc national Wood Buffalo

Des employés de la Conservation des ressources du parc national Wood Buffalo ont lancé un programme de plusieurs années pour surveiller les populations d’oiseaux chanteurs forestiers migrateurs. Les principales questions sont les suivantes :

  • Les tendances de la population des espèces clés d’oiseaux forestiers pourraient-elles mener à un important déclin de l’abondance?

  • Des changements se produisent-ils dans la diversité des espèces d’oiseaux chanteurs forestiers migrateurs avec le temps?

  • Y a-t-il des espèces rares, inhabituelles ou en péril, et des preuves de changements dans leur abondance?

  • Quels sont les types d’habitats forestiers qui favorisent la plus grande abondance et diversité des espèces? Y a-t-il des types d’habitats précis qui favorisent les espèces en péril ou d’autres espèces d’oiseaux?

Méthodologie

Juin est le mois des relevés! On utilise des appareils d’enregistrement autonomes pour détecter la présence de diverses espèces d’oiseaux en enregistrant leurs sons à une époque de l’année durant laquelle ils sont le plus actifs à défendre leur territoire et attirer des compagnons en chantant. On fixe ces appareils à des arbres à différents endroits dans le parc et dans différents types d’habitats forestiers.

Comme la plupart des espèces d’oiseaux ont tendance à être plus actives tôt le matin, les appareils sont programmés pour enregistrer pendant 10 minutes durant une période de quatre heures débutant 30 minutes avant le lever du soleil. Certains enregistrent aussi pendant cinq minutes vers le coucher du soleil pour saisir les chants d’espèces comme les grives, qui ont tendance à être plus actives tard en soirée. On envoie les enregistrements à l’Alberta Biodiversity Monitoring Institute (ABMI) aux fins d’analyse. Les biologistes du parc peuvent alors analyser les données d’un point de vue statistique pour surveiller les tendances des populations.

Pour plus d’information :

Rhona Kindopp
Gestionnaire adjointe de la Conservation des ressources
Parc national Wood Buffalo
rhona.kindopp@canada.ca
867-872-7932