Bats are fascinating and beneficial to humans, and are important to the maintenance of healthy ecosystems. As voracious consumers of insects - including agricultural and forestry pests – bats help keep insect populations under control. Parks Canada sites protect habitat for bats, playing an important role in their protection and conservation within North America.

Wood Buffalo National Park staff setting up bat monitoring equipment
Photo : Parks Canada

Six species of bats live in Wood Buffalo National Park: Little Brown Myotis, Northern Myotis, Big Brown Bat, Silver-haired Bat, Hoary Bat and Eastern Red Bat. The first three species listed – known as cave bats – hibernate in the park over the winter, surviving the frigid temperatures in karst caves underground. Two of those species – Little Brown Myotis and Northern Myotis – are classified as endangered under the federal Species at Risk Act. The remaining bat species found in the park (Silver-haired Bat, Hoary Bat and Eastern Red Bat) – known as tree bats - migrate south for winter.

Like all living creatures in the park, bats benefit from the protection of nocturnal conditions within their habitat under Wood Buffalo National Park’s designation as a Dark Sky Preserve.

Why Are Bats At Risk?

North American bat populations are at risk from habitat loss and fragmentation, wind energy development, and climate change. In some parts of Canada (and elsewhere in North America), bat populations have been severely impacted by a bat disease known as White-Nose Syndrome. While there is no evidence yet of this bat disease in Wood Buffalo National Park or other known bat habitats in northern Canada, there is concern that this devastating bat disease will spread across Canada over time. In the meantime, Parks Canada sites with healthy bat populations – such as Wood Buffalo National Park – are increasingly important for bat conservation within North America.

North American Bat Monitoring Program

Acoustic bat survey
Acoustic bat survey, Wood Buffalo National Park
Photo : Parks Canada

The North American Bat Monitoring Program (NABat) started in 2014 as a coordinated continent-wide multiagency program aimed at gathering information on bat populations and their health across North America. The program is needed not only to provide information about the impacts of White-Nose Syndrome, but also to inform management and policymakers about other potential threats that may harm bat populations across the continent over time. Parks Canada is a participant in this program and undertakes bat monitoring activities in many of its parks and sites.

Bat Monitoring in Wood Buffalo National Park

In Wood Buffalo National Park, acoustic bat monitoring surveys are conducted annually every June before the young of the year are old enough to fly. These surveys provide information on activity levels and distribution of bat species within the study areas.

Two types of acoustic bat surveys are conducted in the park: stationary point surveys and mobile transect surveys. In both types of surveys, acoustic recorders are used to record bat calls at ultrasound frequencies which are specific to each bat species.

In stationary point surveys, the acoustic recorders are placed at a certain location for a week. Acoustic data gathered from the stationary recorders provides an index of the activity level of each bat species within the study area.

In a mobile transect survey, the acoustic recorder is attached to the roof of a vehicle which drives along a selected transect. The number of bats detected by the acoustic recorder while in motion along the transect provides an index of relative abundance for each bat species within the study area.

Data gathered from the park surveys is submitted to the North American Bat Monitoring Program.

How Can I Help?

  • Learn about bats and tell your family and friends all about their cool lifestyles. The more people understand how ecologically important bats are, the better!
  • Learn more about the environmental issues facing bats in Canada, and Parks Canada’s role in bat conservation.
  • Be a citizen scientist! If you see a bat while visiting Wood Buffalo National Park, please report your observation to Parks Canada staff.

For More Information:

Sharon Irwin
Resource Management Officer
Wood Buffalo National Park
Ph. 867-872-7948
E-mail: Sharon.Irwin2@canada.ca

Les chauves-souris sont fascinantes et bénéfiques pour les humains; elles sont aussi importantes pour le maintien de la santé des écosystèmes. Voraces consommatrices d’insectes, y compris des ravageurs agricoles et forestiers, elles aident à contrôler les populations d’insectes. Les endroits de Parcs Canada protègent leur habitat et jouent donc ainsi un rôle important dans leur protection et leur conservation en Amérique du Nord.

Personnel du parc national Wood Buffalo installant de l’équipement de surveillance des chauves-souris
Photo : Parcs Canada

Six espèces de chauves-souris vivent dans le parc national Wood Buffalo : la petite chauve-souris brune, le vespertilion nordique, la grande chauve-souris brune, la chauve-souris argentée, la chauve-souris cendrée et la chauve-souris rousse. Les trois premières espèces, qui vivent dans des cavernes, hibernent dans le parc et survivent aux températures extrêmement froides dans des cavernes de karst souterraines. Deux de ces espèces, la petite chauve-souris brune, le vespertilion nordique, sont désignées comme des espèces en voie de disparition en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Les autres espèces que l’on trouve dans le parc (la chauve-souris argentée, la chauve-souris cendrée et la chauve-souris rousse) vivent dans les arbres et migrent vers le sud l’hiver.

Comme tous les animaux dans le parc, les chauves-souris bénéficient de la protection des conditions nocturnes dans leur habitat, car le parc national Wood Buffalo est désigné comme une réserve de ciel étoilé.

Pourquoi les chauves-souris sont-elles en péril?

Les populations de chauves-souris en Amérique du Nord sont en péril en raison de la perte et de la fragmentation de l’habitat, du développement de l’énergie éolienne et des changements climatiques. Dans certaines régions du Canada (et ailleurs en Amérique du Nord), les populations de chauves-souris ont été gravement touchées par une maladie appelée syndrome du museau blanc. Rien n’indique encore la présence de cette maladie dévastatrice dans le parc national Wood Buffalo ou dans d’autres habitats dans le nord du pays, mais on s’inquiète de sa propagation partout au Canada avec le temps. En attendant, les endroits de Parcs Canada où l’on retrouve des populations de chauves-souris saines, comme le parc national Wood Buffalo, sont de plus en plus importants pour la conservation des chauves-souris en Amérique du Nord.

North American Bat Monitoring Program

Acoustic bat survey
Relevé acoustique des chauves-souris, parc national Wood Buffalo
Photo : Parcs Canada

Le North American Bat Monitoring Program (en anglais seulement) (NABat) a débuté en 2014 sous forme de programme coordonné par plusieurs organismes à l’échelle du continent et visant à recueillir de l’information sur les populations de chauves-souris et leur santé partout en Amérique du Nord. Le programme est nécessaire non seulement pour fournir des renseignements sur les répercussions du syndrome du museau blanc, mais également pour contribuer à la gestion et informer les décideurs d’autres menaces potentielles pouvant nuire aux populations de chauves-souris du continent. Parcs Canada participe à ce programme et mène des activités de surveillance des chauves-souris dans un grand nombre de ses parcs et endroits.

Surveillance des chauves-souris dans le parc national Wood Buffalo

Dans le parc national Wood Buffalo, on effectue des relevés de surveillance acoustique chaque année en juin avant que les petits puissent voler. Ces relevés fournissent des informations sur les niveaux d’activité et la répartition des espèces de chauves-souris dans les zones d’étude.

On mène deux types de relevés acoustiques dans le parc : stationnaires et mobiles. On utilise dans les deux cas un appareil d’enregistrement pour enregistrer les cris des chauves-souris à la fréquence des ultrasons propres à chaque espèce.

Durant un relevé stationnaire, l’appareil d’enregistrement est placé à un certain endroit pendant une semaine. Les données obtenues indiquent le niveau d’activité de chaque espèce de chauve-souris dans la zone d’étude.

Durant un relevé mobile, l’appareil d’enregistrement est fixé au toit d’un véhicule qui suit un transect. Le nombre de chauves-souris détecté durant le mouvement le long du transect indique l’abondance relative de chaque espèce dans la zone d’étude.

Les données tirées des relevés sont envoyées au North American Bat Monitoring Program.

Comment puis-je aider?

  • Renseignez-vous au sujet des chauves-souris et expliquez leur mode de vie intéressant à votre famille et vos amis. Plus les gens comprennent l’importance écologique des chauves-souris, mieux c’est
  • Renseignez-vous au sujet des enjeux environnementaux auxquels les chauves-souris font face au Canada, et au sujet du rôle de Parcs Canada dans la conservation des chauves-souris.
  • Soyez un citoyen scientifique! Si vous voyez une chauve-souris dans le parc national Wood Buffalo, signalez-le à un employé de Parcs Canada.

Pour plus d’information :

Sharon Irwin
Agente, Gestion des ressources
Parc national Wood Buffalo
Tél. : 867-872-7948
Courriel : Sharon.Irwin2@canada.ca