Cultural History

Archeological evidence shows that Indigenous people have inhabited the region that is now Wood Buffalo National Park for more than 8000 years, long before fur traders arrived in the early 1700s. The communities around the park today are mostly made up of Cree, Chipewyan, Metis and non-indigenous people.

An elder conducting a smudging
ceremony for the WBNP Bioblitz participants

When Wood Buffalo was created in 1922 (north of the Peace River) the land was considered to be ‘taken up’ and all Aboriginal rights were considered extinguished. However, given the large area to be taken up as a National Park, eliminating all harvesting was not considered reasonable. As a result, Wood Buffalo National Park became the first national park in Canada to allow Indigenous traditional harvesting. However, while innovative at the time, this approach was not implemented in a way that treated harvesting by all Indigenous people in a fair fashion. Only First Nation members who were harvesting on the lands established as a park were allowed to continue harvesting. Families with strong ties to park lands who were not actively harvesting in the park when the park was established were not considered eligible.  Métis members who had been harvesting on lands that became the new park were not permitted to continue to harvest in the park. After park establishment traditional harvesting was considered a “privilege”, not an Aboriginal or Treaty Right, and permits were limited in number.

In 1926 the park was expanded south of the Peace River into the Peace Athabasca Delta to protect the bison transported from the south, which had migrated across the Peace River. A more inclusive approach to harvesting was adopted. Everyone harvesting in the park at the time of expansion, both Indigenous and non-Indigenous, were eligible for a permit. Permits were however still based on being in the park at the time of expansion. Again families with strong ties to the new park lands who were not actively harvesting in the park when the park expanded were not considered eligible.

Sharing Indigenous Hand Games at the
Annual Dark Sky Festival held in
Wood Buffalo National Park

In both the original establishment and the expansion of the park the decisions to exclude certain Indigenous members of a community, for the reasons stated earlier, resulted in divisions between members where they did not exist before.

This complicated history has been a negative one for all involved but was especially unfair to Indigenous people. Over the years this “privilege” was passed down to the children of the original harvesters and a registry was established at the park to track hereditary eligibility, numbers of harvesters and number of permits issued. Specific harvesting regulations were developed that set up a management framework for Indigenous harvesting but were not based on Rights and set seasons and limits on the number of harvesters eligible.

Over the years the privileged based system continued to be an issue of concern for local Indigenous people. Real change did not happen until two key Supreme Court of Canada cases were concluded:

Archeological excavation at proposed
Traditional Use cabin.
  • 1) In 2003 the R. v. Powley decision recognized the Métis right to hunt in the Sault Ste Marie area. The case also provided a test to determine if Powley-type Rights existed elsewhere. Research done in this area found that the local Indigenous Métis would likely have Powley-type hunting rights. The Government of Canada’s response for the park area was to respect the Métis assertion of Rights. Since 2003 local Indigenous Metis have exercised their Asserted Right to hunt in the park and have been involved in various park management objectives, including cooperative management.
  • 2) In 2005 the Mikisew Cree First Nation v. Canada decision was released. As part of that decision the court recognized that there was an existing right under Treaty 8 to hunt, fish and trap for personal use within the park. This effectively struck down the privilege based system that had been in use since 1922.

Subsistence hunting, fishing and trapping occurs today in Wood Buffalo National Park, as it has for centuries. The result of these Supreme Court of Canada decisions is that Parks Canada now recognizes the Treaty 8 Right to harvest in the park and the Asserted Rights of the Métis. Traditional, subsistence harvesting continues to be an important part of the ecological and cultural identity of Wood Buffalo National Park.

Working together to study an
Indigenous Cultural site.

A thorough understanding of traditional and scientific information is critical to protecting the ecological and cultural integrity of Wood Buffalo National Park. Traditional cultural use by Indigenous harvesters preserves and transmits Indigenous culture to future generations and contributes to the sharing and growth of Indigenous ecological knowledge of the land and waters in and around the park.

The Park continues to explore opportunities to work cooperatively with its Indigenous partners . This is captured and supported in the 2010 Wood Buffalo National Park Management Plan under Key Strategy 1, Towards a Shared Vision which is located at: http://www.pc.gc.ca/en/pn-np/nt/woodbuffalo/info/plan/plan1

The history of the establishment and operation of the park has been negative for the Indigenous communities and confusion remains regarding Harvesting Rights. Through the Aboriginal Committee for the Cooperative Management of Wood Buffalo National Park, which meets a number of times per year, and bilateral projects and relationships, Parks Canada and local Indigenous partners are working toward a better future, one that better respects and represents the importance of the local Indigenous communities to the park.

Our 11 Indigenous partners include:

Province of Alberta Northwest Territories
Fort Chipewyan: Fort Smith:
1) Mikisew Cree First Nation
2) Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation
3) Fort Chipewyan Metis
1) Salt River First Nation
2) Fort Smith Metis Council
Garden River: Hay River:
1) Little Red River Cree First Nation 1) K'atl'Odeeche First Nation
2) Hay River Metis Council
Fort Fitzgerald: Fort Resolution:
1) Smith Landing First Nation 1) Deninu Kue First Nation
2) Fort Resolution Metis Council

Histoire culturelle

Des éléments archéologiques probants montrent que les Autochtones ont vécu dans la région maintenant désignée sous le nom de parc national Wood Buffalo depuis plus de 8 000 ans, bien longtemps avant l'arrivée des commerçants de fourrures au début des années 1700. Les collectivités établies autour du parc sont principalement des Cris, des Chippewyans, des Métis et des non-Autochtones.

Un ainé dirige une cérémonie
de purification pour les participants
au Bioblitz du PNWB

Lorsque le parc Wood Buffalo a été créé en 1922 (au nord de la rivière de la Paix), les terres étaient considérées comme « prises » et tous les droits des Autochtones étaient considérés éteints. Toutefois, compte tenu de la vaste zone prise pour former le parc national, l'élimination de toute chasse n'était pas considérée comme raisonnable. Par conséquent, le parc national Wood Buffalo est devenu le premier parc national au Canada à autoriser la récolte traditionnelle autochtone des ressources fauniques. Même si novatrice à l'époque, cette approche à l'égard de la chasse n'a toutefois pas été appliquée équitablement pour tous les Autochtones. Seuls les membres des Premières Nations qui chassaient sur des terres désignées en tant que parc étaient autorisés à continuer de chasser. Les familles qui avaient des liens étroits avec les terres du parc et ne chassaient pas activement dans le parc au moment de la création de ce dernier n'étaient pas considérées admissibles. Les Métis qui chassaient sur les terres devenues le nouveau parc n'étaient plus autorisés à continuer de le faire. Après la création du parc, la récolte traditionnelle des ressources fauniques était considérée comme un « privilège » et non un droit ancestral ou issu d’un traité, et les permis étaient délivrés en quantité limitée.

En 1926, on a agrandi le parc jusqu’au sud de la rivière de la Paix dans le delta Paix-Athabasca pour protéger le bison transporté du sud qui avait migré de l’autre côté de la rivière de la Paix. Une approche plus inclusive relativement à la chasse a été adoptée. Tous les gens qui chassaient dans le parc au moment de l'agrandissement, tant les Autochtones que les non-Autochtones, étaient admissibles à un permis. Les permis étaient toutefois fondés sur la présence dans le parc au moment de son agrandissement. Encore une fois, les familles ayant des liens étroits avec les nouvelles terres du parc et qui ne chassaient pas activement sur les terres au moment de l’agrandissement du parc n’étaient pas considérées admissibles.

Participation à des jeux de mains
autochtones à l'édition annuelle
du Festival sous les étoiles au
parc national Wood Buffalo

Tant lors de l'établissement d'origine du parc que lors de son agrandissement, les décisions d'exclure certains Autochtones de la collectivité, pour les raisons susmentionnées, ont entraîné des divisions entre les membres de la communauté alors qu'il n'y avait jamais eu de telles divisions auparavant.

Cette histoire compliquée a eu des effets néfastes pour toutes les personnes touchées, et a été particulièrement injuste pour les peuples autochtones. Au fil des ans, ce « privilège » a été transmis aux enfants des chasseurs d’origine et un registre a été établi dans le parc pour faire un suivi de l'admissibilité héréditaire, du nombre de chasseurs et du nombre de permis émis. Des règles de chasse particulières ont été élaborées en vue d'établir un cadre de gestion pour la chasse autochtone, mais ces règles n'étaient pas fondées sur des droits et fixaient des saisons et des limites quant au nombre de chasseurs admissibles.

Au fil des ans, ce système fondé sur des privilèges a continué d'être un sujet de préoccupation pour les peuples autochtones de la région. Il a fallu régler deux principaux arrêts de la Cour suprême du Canada pour qu'il y ait un changement réel :

Fouilles archéologiques à la cabane
traditionnelle proposée
  • 1) En 2003, la décision R. c. Powley a reconnu le droit des Métis de chasser dans la région de Sault Ste. Marie. L'arrêt a servi de critère pour déterminer si les droits analogues à l'affaire Powley existaient ailleurs. La recherche réalisée dans ce domaine a révélé que les Métis indigènes auraient probablement des droits de chasse analogues à l'affaire Powley. La réponse du gouvernement du Canada en ce qui concerne la région du parc était de respecter l'affirmation de droits des Métis. Depuis 2003, les Métis indigènes de la région ont exercé leurs droits de chasse revendiqués dans le parc et ont participé à divers objectifs de gestion du parc, y compris la gestion coopérative.
  • 2) En 2005, la décision Première nation crie Mikisew c. Canada a été rendue. Dans le cadre de cette décision, la cour a reconnu qu'il y avait, en vertu du Traité no 8, un droit existant de chasse, de pêche et de piégeage à des fins personnelles dans le parc. Cette décision a efficacement éliminé le système fondé sur le privilège qui était utilisé depuis 1922.

La chasse, la pêche et le piégeage de subsistance sont pratiqués aujourd'hui dans le parc national Wood Buffalo, comme ils l'ont été depuis des siècles. Ces arrêts de la Cour suprême du Canada ont eu pour résultat que Parcs Canada reconnaît maintenant le droit du Traité no 8 de récolter des ressources fauniques dans le parc et les droits revendiqués des Métis. La récolte de subsistance traditionnelle continue d'être un élément important de l'identité culturelle et écologique du parc national Wood Buffalo.

Travail en commun visant l'étude
d'un site culturel autochtone

Une compréhension approfondie de l’information traditionnelle et scientifique est essentielle à l’intégrité écologique et culturelle du parc national Wood Buffalo. En utilisant la culture traditionnelle, les chasseurs autochtones protègent et transmettent la culture autochtone aux générations futures, et cela contribue au partage et à l'accroissement des connaissances écologiques des Autochtones sur les terres et les eaux à l’intérieur du parc et dans ses environs.

Le parc continue d’explorer les occasions de travailler en collaboration avec ses partenaires autochtones. Cela est énoncé et soutenu dans le plan directeur de 2010 du parc national Wood Buffalo, sous la Stratégie Clé 1 Vers une vision commune, qui se trouve à l’adresse http://www.pc.gc.ca/fr/pn-np/nt/woodbuffalo/info/plan/plan1

L'histoire de la création et de l’exploitation du parc a été négative pour les collectivités autochtones et une confusion demeure pour ce qui est des droits de récolte. Par l'entremise du comité autochtone pour la cogestion du parc national Wood Buffalo, qui se réunit un certain nombre de fois par année, et de relations et de projets bilatéraux, Parcs Canada et les partenaires autochtones de la région tracent la voie vers un avenir meilleur, avenir qui respecte et représente davantage l'importance des communautés autochtones locales pour le parc.

Voici nos 11 partenaires autochtones :

Province de l’Alberta Territoires du Nord-Ouest
Fort Chipewyan: Fort Smith:
1) Première nation crie Mikisew
2) Première Nation Chipewyan d’Athabasca
3) Métis de Fort Chipewyan
1) Première nation Salt River
2) Conseil des Métis de Fort Smith
Garden River: Hay River:
1) Première nation crie de Little Red River 1) Première nation Katlodeeche
2) Conseil des Métis de Hay River
Fort Fitzgerald: Fort Resolution:
1) Première nation de Smith's Landing 1) Première nation Deninu Kue
2) Conseil des Métis de Fort Resolution