Significant Boating Hazards in the Peace-Athabasca Delta and Peace / Athabasca / Slave River Systems in Wood Buffalo National Park

Issued: May 08, 2020

FORT CHIPEWYAN, AB, May 8, 2020 – The break-up of the Peace, Athabasca and Slave Rivers has resulted in significant ice jamming and flooding throughout the Peace Athabasca Delta and on river corridors in Wood Buffalo National Park.

The flooding upstream of the park has resulted in large volumes of trees, stumps and woody debris mixed in with the ice flowing downstream. River channels in the Peace Athabasca Delta are reversing flow and debris is moving in unexpected directions depending on changing conditions. Lake Athabasca still has ice cover and drifting ice pans are moving downstream. These are dangerous, difficult conditions: even for experienced travellers in the delta.

Due to significant flooding and hazards posed by this debris and drifting breakup ice, Parks Canada strongly advises against boating in the Peace Athabasca Delta and the lower Athabasca and Slave River corridors (including the Rocher, Quatre Fourche and Coupe river channels).

Spring melt water in the river headwaters of the Canadian Rockies has not yet begun. Flow from the mountains in May and June will likely result in additional high water events. This will include the movement of tree trunks and additional woody debris. Anticipate hazards all summer long and avoid boating in low light conditions (dawn/dusk/night).

Any boaters using park waters should be self-sufficient and prepared for significant delays out on the land due to constantly changing conditions. Boaters should consider leaving a trip plan with friends and family and ensuring that the trip plan holder knows who to contact in the event of any problems.

Natural flooding events such as this are a normal and natural part of the ecological integrity of the Peace Athabasca Delta. Flooding such as this helps to recharge the delta’s ecosystems and deposits nutrient rich sediments that benefit plant and aquatic life.

Parks Canada continues to work closely with Indigenous, provincial and federal government agencies to monitor emergencies, breakup floods and to respond to public safety incidents as required.

Staying informed:

For more information, please call:

Tim Gauthier
Manager, External Relations
SWNWT Field Unit
Parks Canada
(867) 872-0107

Cam Zimmer
Superintendent
Wood Buffalo National Park
Parks Canada
(867) 872-0775

Risques élevés pour la navigation dans le delta Paix-Athabasca et les réseaux hydrographiques Paix/Athabasca/Esclaves dans le PNWB

Émis le : 08 mai 2020

FORT CHIPEWYAN, ALBERTA, mai 2020 La débâcle sur les rivières Paix, Athabasca et des Esclaves a créé d’importants embâcles et inondations dans le delta Paix-Athabasca Delta et les couloirs fluviaux dans le parc national Wood Buffalo.

Les crues en amont du parc ont entraîné de fortes quantités d’arbres, de souches et de débris ligneux mélangés aux glaces qui dérivent en aval. Les couloirs fluviaux dans le delta Paix-Athabasca coulent en sens inverse et les débris se déplacent en direction inattendue selon l’évolution des conditions. Le lac Athabasca est encore couvert de glace et des banquises dérivent en aval. Ce sont là des conditions dangereuses et difficiles, même pour les plaisanciers expérimentés dans le delta.

En raison des fortes inondations et des risques que présentent les débris et les glaces à la dérive, Parcs Canada déconseille fortement toute navigation de plaisance dans le delta Paix-Athabasca et les couloirs de la rivière Athabasca et de la rivière des Esclaves inférieures (y compris les chenaux Rocher, Quatre Fourche et Coupe).

La fonte printanière aux sources des Rocheuses canadiennes n’a pas encore commencé. L’écoulement des eaux des montagnes en mai et en juin entraînera probablement d’autres niveaux d'eau élevés, qui charrieront des troncs d’arbre et des débris ligneux. Prévoyez des risques tout l’été et évitez de naviguer dans des conditions de faible luminosité (à l’aube, au crépuscule, la nuit).

Les plaisanciers qui utilisent les eaux du parc doivent être autonomes et prêts à faire face à des retards importants sur les terres en raison des conditions qui changent constamment. Ils doivent laisser un itinéraire complet à un ami ou un membre de leur famille et s’assurer que cette personne sache à qui téléphoner en cas de problème.

Ce type d’inondation découlant d’un phénomène naturel est normal et fait partie de l’intégrité écologique du delta Paix-Athabasca. Ces crues aident à renflouer les écosystèmes du delta et déposent des sédiments riches en nutriments dont profitent les plantes et la vie aquatique.

Parcs Canada continue de travailler de près avec divers organismes autochtones, provinciaux et fédéraux pour surveiller les urgences et les inondations dues à la débâcle, et intervenir en cas d’incident lié à la sécurité publique.

Se tenir au courant

  • Site Web de River Alberta : rivers.alberta.ca  (en anglais seulement)
  • Site Web du PNWB : www.parkscanada.gc.ca/woodbuffalo
  • Suivez-nous à @ParcsCanadaTNO sur Facebook
  •  

    Pour toute question ou préoccupation, communiquez avec les personnes suivantes :

    Tim Gauthier
    Gestionnaire, Relations externes
    Unité de gestion du sud-ouest des T.N.-O.
    Parcs Canada
    867-872-0107

    Cam Zimmer
    Directeur
    Parc national Wood Buffalo
    Parcs Canada
    867-872-0775