Canada Day, July 1

 parka
How YOU doin’? Parka loves making new friends. Come on over and say hi.  (© Parks Canada)

 

Nobody loves Canada Day more than Parka! Get an eyeful of festive floats as you cheer in the Fort Smith Canada Day parade, where Parka is making a special appearance. Then meet us at the green Parks Canada tent for an airbrush tattoo-- to show off your pride for Canada and all her lovely creatures!

Pine Lake Picnic, July 14

 lac Pine Lake
Canoers flee shark-infested waters. Only kidding. Feisty canoe races at Pine Lake  (© Parks Canada)

 

Be part of the largest Northern picnic! Celebrate Parks Day in Wood Buffalo National Park at the annual Pine Lake Picnic: a long-standing Fort Smith tradition. Feast on burgers and hot dogs fresh off the grill, then cool down with a sweet slice of watermelon… Or a dip in the aquamarine blue waters of Pine Lake! Bring your competitive spirit as you go toe-to-toe in our lively games and contests including canoe races and tug of war.

Paddlefest- August 2 - August 5

paddlefest
Red-tassel hats are aerodynamically superior to all other hats in voyageur canoe races. Fact. (Photo: © A. Lusk)

 

Play in the bouncy waves and big-water at Slave River Paddlefest. Unravel the fascinating lore and history swirling behind the Slave River Rapids with Wood Buffalo National Park and the Town of Fort Smith on our featured guided hikes and programs. Head over to fskayak.webs.com to sign up or learn more.

Thebacha & Wood Buffalo Dark Sky Festival – August 22 - 25

 Aurora
Come behold the mysteries of the universe. Was that too dramatic? Too bad. We kind of get to be when we’re the biggest Dark-Sky Preserve in the world. #Sorrynotsorry  (Photo: © John D McKinnon / Parks Canada)

 

Embrace the night skies like never before at the Dark Sky Festival. Whether you’re a budding astronomer or seasoned stargazer, soak in the stars, constellations, planets and other space oddities in Wood Buffalo National Park. Watch homemade rockets streak into the sky and share a spot around the campfire with our renowned guest speakers. Curious kids (and adults) can join Professor Quark for our “Circus of Science” while budding astronomers can hone their observation skills during special workshops offered throughout the weekend. Kick around town and then spend the weekend camping out at Pine Lake. Advance registration required. To learn more or register,  contact our visitor centre or the Thebacha & Wood Buffalo Astronomical Society 867-872-0243, info@tawbas.ca

Want to see who has joined us in the past? Become a Dark Sky alumni alongside some of our featured guests

Fête du Canada – 1er juillet

Parka

Comment ça VA? Parka adore se faire de nouveaux amis. Venez lui dire bonjour. (© Parcs Canada)

Personne n’aime la fête du Canada autant que Parka! Venez admirer des chars allégoriques colorés lors du défilé de la fête du Canada à Fort Smith : vous pourrez même voir Parka. Puis venez nous voir à la tente verte de Parcs Canada pour obtenir un tatouage à l'aérographe, de quoi montrer que vous êtes fiers du Canada et de tous ses animaux adorables!

Pique-nique au lac Pine - 14 juillet

lac Pine lake

Des canotiers s’enfuient dans des eaux infestées de requins. Mais non, c’est juste une blague! Courses de canot effrénées au lac Pine. (© Parcs Canada)

Participez au plus grand pique-nique tenu dans la région du Nord! Célébrez la Journée des parcs au parc national Wood Buffalo lors du pique-nique annuel au lac Pine, une tradition de longue date à Fort Smith. Régalez-vous de hamburgers et de hot-dogs fraîchement grillés, puis rafraîchissez-vous en dégustant une tranche de melon d’eau glacée… ou en faisant une baignade dans les eaux turquoise du lac Pine! Mettez à profit votre esprit de compétition en participant à nos jeux et concours animés, y compris des courses en canot et du souque-à-la-corde.

Paddlefest – du 2 août au 5 août

Paddlefest

Lors d’une course de canot, les chapeaux à pompon rouge sont plus aérodynamiques que tous les autres chapeaux de voyageur. C’est un fait.  (Photo : © A. Lusk)

Amusez-vous dans les vagues ondulantes et les vastes eaux de la rivière Slave lors du Paddlefest. Découvrez l’histoire et les coutumes fascinantes qui se cachent dans les rapides de la rivière Slave, et participez aux programmes et aux randonnées guidées avec le Parc national Wood Buffalo dans la ville de Fort Smith.

Rendez-vous sur le site fskayak.webs.com pour vous inscrire ou obtenir plus d’information.

Festival sous les étoiles de Thebacha & Wood Buffalo – du 22 au 25 août

aurora
Venez découvrir les mystères de l’univers. Était-ce trop théâtral? Dommage. Nous avons le droit de l’être lorsque notre parc est la plus grande réserve de ciel étoilé au monde. #DésoléPasDésolé : (Photo : © John D McKinnon / Parcs Canada)

Contemplez le ciel nocturne comme jamais auparavant lors du Festival du ciel étoilé. Que vous soyez astronome en herbe ou chevronné, laissez-vous éblouir par les étoiles, les constellations, les planètes et les autres objets célestes surplombant le parc national Wood Buffalo. Observez les fusées de fabrication artisanale s’élancer vers le ciel et écoutez des conférenciers de renom autour d’un feu de camp. Les enfants (et les adultes) curieux pourront se joindre au professeur Quark pour participer à notre « Cirque scientifique », tandis que les astronomes en herbe pourront perfectionner leurs capacités d’observation lors d’ateliers spéciaux offerts toute la fin de semaine. Baladez-vous en ville et passez la fin de semaine en camping au lac Pine. Inscription préalable requise. Pour obtenir plus d’information ou pour vous inscrire, communiquez avec le personnel du centre d’accueil ou celui de la Thebacha & Wood Buffalo Astronomical Society en composant le 867-872-0243, ou en écrivant à info@tawbas.ca.