As of June 1st, Wood Buffalo National Park began a gradual reopening of some outdoor areas, facilities and services. Please check our website regularly for the current status of this location and others.

NWT Health and Social Services.

As part of Canada's system of national parks and national historic sites, Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada is our country's largest national park and one of the largest in the world. It was established in 1922 to protect the last remaining herds of bison in northern Canada. Today, it protects an outstanding and representative example of Canada's Northern Boreal Plains.

Features 

Hours of operation

Wood Buffalo National Park Visitor Centre Hours

Monday to Friday:
9 a.m. – 12 p.m.

Saturday and Sunday:
Closed

Fees

Free admission for youth.

Other fees still apply.

Contact us

Fort Smith main office: visitor centre
Phone: 867-872-7960
24 h hotline: 867-872-7962

Fort Chipewyan satellite office:
Phone: 780-697-3662
Fax: 780-697-3560

Email: pc.woodbuffaloinfo-infowoodbuffalo.pc@canada.ca


Seasonal road updates

Sites nearby

  • Nahanni National Park Reserve

    Remote granite pinnacles lure top alpinists, wilderness river tripping opportunities attract paddlers, interpreters share cultural and natural history with river trippers, campers and day flight visitors.   

  • Tehjeh Deé
    Nááts'ihch'oh National Park Reserve

    In the headwaters of Tehjeh Deé (South Nahanni River) Nááts’įhch’oh National Park Reserve is a place where culture and nature are intertwined. Nááts’įhch’oh offers whitewater paddling and off-the-grid hiking in the Northwest Territories for experienced adventurers.

  • A backcountry landscape displaying blue sky, forest and fireweed.
    Thaidene Nene National Park Reserve

    Located at the eastern end of Great Slave Lake in the Northwest Territories, Thaidene Nene National Park Reserve is part of a larger group of protected areas around the East Arm and Artillery Lake regions. Thaidene Nene means ‘Land of the Ancestors’ in the Dënesųłiné—or Chipewyan—language.

Le 1er juin, le parc national Wood Buffalo a commencé à rouvrir graduellement certains des services, aires et installations extérieurs. Visitez notre site Web régulièrement pour obtenir de l’information à jour sur cet endroit et d’autres.

TNO Santé et Services sociaux.

Faisant partie du réseau canadien de parcs nationaux et de lieux historiques nationaux, le parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo est le plus grand des parcs nationaux du pays et l'un des plus vastes du monde. Il fut créé en 1922 pour protéger les derniers troupeaux de bisons du nord du Canada. Aujourd'hui il protège un exemple exceptionnel et représentatif des plaines boréales nordiques du Canada.

En vedette

Heures d’ouverture

Heures d’ouverture du centre d’accueil du parc national Wood Buffalo

Lundi à vendredi :
9h00 à 12h00

Samedi et dimanche :
fermé

Tarifs

Entrée gratuite pour les jeunes.

Les autres frais s’appliquent.

Nous joindre

Fort Smith : centre d'accueil
Téléphone : 867-872-7960
Ligne d'information 24 heures : 867-872-7962

Fort Chipewyan :
Téléphone : 780-697-3662
Télécopieur : 780-697-3560

Courriel : pc.woodbuffaloinfo-infowoodbuffalo.pc@canada.ca

 


Mises à jour saisonnières sur l’état des routes

Sites de Parcs Canada à proximité

  • Réserve de parc national Nahanni

    Alpinistes chevronnés, pagayeurs, campeurs ou visiteurs d’un jour... qu’importe votre profil, les lointains sommets de granit et les rivières sauvages de la réserve de parc national Nahanni ont de quoi vous séduire. Laissez les animateurs-interprètes partager avec vous leur histoire naturelle et culturelle.

  • Tehjeh Deé
    Réserve de parc national Nááts'ihch'oh

    Dans la partie supérieure de la Tehjeh Deé (rivière Nahanni Sud) la réserve de parc national Nááts’įhch’oh est un endroit où la culture et la nature sont inextricablement liées. Nááts’įhch’oh offre des sorties en eaux vives et des randonnées hors réseau dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest aux aventuriers expérimentés.

  • Un paysage de l'arrière-pays affichant le ciel bleu, la forêt et l'épilobe à feuilles étroites.
    Réserve de parc national Thaidene Nene

    Situé à l’extrémité est du Grand lac des Esclaves dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, la réserve de parc national Thaidene Nene fait partie d’un plus vaste groupe d’aires protégées dans les régions du bras Est et du lac Artillery. Thaidene Nene signifie « terre des ancêtres » en dënesųłiné ou chippewyan.