There is plenty to experience in national parks and historic sites in Canada’s Western Arctic. You can hike, paddle, camp, view wildlife, experience cultural sites, take photographs and generally immerse yourself in some of the most spectacular landscapes in the world. However, there are regulations that apply to all visitors in order to ensure that the parks and sites remain unchanged for future generations. It is your responsibility to be aware of the regulations and ensure that you follow them, but we are here to help. If you have any questions after reading this brochure, please contact Parks Canada in Inuvik or visit www.pc.gc.ca/acts.

Park wardens are federal law enforcement officers who are responsible for the protection of national parks and historic sites, and the preservation and maintenance of public peace in these spaces. Park wardens enforce the Canada National Parks Act, the Criminal Code, Species at Risk Act, Migratory Birds Convention Act and territorial laws, such as liquor and wildlife acts.

Offences in national parks and historic sites can result in large fines and even prison sentences.

We need your help: Please report any unlawful activity such as fishing offences, poaching, wildlife harassment, littering, removal of artifacts, damage to vegetation, and illegal aircraft landings. If you see something suspicious, you should not confront anyone or investigate further.

Contact Park Wardens immediately.

Report all violations to the 24-HR NATIONAL PARKS DISPATCH
1-877-852-3100 (Toll Free);
1-780-852-3100 (From a Satellite Phone)

You can also report suspicious and illegal activities using email. Send your observations (including photos) to wardens.north@pc.gc.ca. For urgent matters, please use our 24/7 dispatch line.

Permitting

Permits are required for the following activities and are available at the Parks Canada office in Inuvik:

  • Caching of food or fuel
  • Military exercises
  • Special events
  • Commercial filming and photography
  • Aircraft landings and take-offs
  • All business activities
  • All research and collection activities
  • Open fires in Saoyú-Ɂehdacho National Historic Site
  • All single-day and overnight trips in Aulavik, Ivvavik and Tuktut Nogait National Parks
  • Camping
  • Fishing in Aulavik, Ivvavik and Tuktut Nogait National Parks

RECORD AND REPORT ALL VIOLATIONS

  • Date
  • Time
  • Location
    (Name of park or site, description, GPS coordinates)
  • Vehicle information
    (Description and identifying numbers from any vehicle, boat, ATV, snowmobile, aircraft, etc.)
  • People involved
    (Number of people, approximate ages, physical descriptions, clothing, what equipment they had with them, etc.)
  • What happened
    (Describe the event and what you observed)
  • Photos
  • Your name and contact information
    (In the event that Wardens need clarification or more information)

Your information and participation contributes to the protection of these special places for all visitors. Your report will remain anonymous.

WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT…

Some of these regulations do not apply to individuals who are exercising harvesting rights under applicable land claim agreements. For example, Inuvialuit beneficiaries may carry out subsistence harvesting in Aulavik, Tuktut Nogait, and Ivvavik National Parks, as well as in the Pingo Canadian Landmark, consistent with the Inuvialuit Final Agreement.

Registration and De-registration

For any day or overnight trips in Aulavik, Tuktut Nogait, and Ivvavik National Parks, you must register prior to entering the park and de-register upon your return. Registration and de-registration can be done at any Parks Canada visitor center or office in the Western Arctic, or by calling 1-867-777-8800 or 1-867-678-0705.

Camping

All camping in national parks and historic sites requires a backcountry camping permit (except the Pingo Canadian Landmark where camping is currently not permitted). The permit holder is responsible for ensuring that bear and wildlife attractants are properly managed.

Trapping, Hunting, and Firearms

Trapping, hunting and the possession of firearms is prohibited in national parks and historic sites (including the Pingo Canadian Landmark). Firearms may be transported through a national park or national historic site to another destination in a vehicle, vessel, or aircraft, but they must be unloaded, securely encased, and remain so for the duration of your time in the park or site. Firearms include slingshots, bows, BB guns, crossbows and paintball guns. Poaching in national parks and historic sites carries serious penalties.

Mining

Panning for gold, mining, and mineral exploration is prohibited. It is illegal to remove, deface, damage or destroy rocks, minerals, and other natural objects in national parks and historic sites.

Fishing

Fishing is permitted in Aulavik, Tuktut Nogait, and Ivvavik National Parks with a valid National Park Fishing License. Anglers are required to follow the National Parks of Canada Fishing Regulations and all Superintendent Orders that pertain to those parks. This information is available online and is summarized in the Western Arctic Fishing Regulations Summary that is provided when you purchase your license at the park visitor centre. Yukon and NWT fishing licenses are not valid in national parks. Fishing is not permitted in Saoyú-Ɂehdacho National Historic Site or the Pingo Canadian Landmark. A NWT fishing license is required for fishing on Great Bear Lake.

Fires

Fires pose a serious threat to national parks and historic sites in the Western Arctic. Open fires are prohibited in all three national parks (Aulavik, Tuktut Nogait and Ivvavik), except on Nunaluk Spit in Ivvavik where fires are permitted. Open fires are also prohibited in the Pingo Canadian Landmark. Open fires are allowed in Saoyú-Ɂehdacho National Historic Site, but a permit is required for any fires above the high water mark.

Off-road Vehicles

The use of ATVs, snowmobiles, dirt bikes, or other off-road vehicles for recreational purposes is prohibited in national parks. They are also prohibited in the Pingo Canadian Landmark, with the exception of snowmobiles which are permitted from November 1st to April 14th each year within the boundaries of the Landmark, but not on the pingos themselves (from the base to the summit). Off-road vehicles are allowed in Saoyú-Ɂehdacho National Historic Site, provided no damage is caused to vegetation.

Aircraft

All aircraft landings in national parks require a landing permit, including helicopters and fixed-wing aircraft. Saoyú-Ɂehdacho National Historic Site and the Pingo Canadian Landmark do not allow aircraft landings other than for park management purposes. It is illegal to harass or otherwise disturb wildlife or visitors by flying too close to them. Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs/drones) are prohibited for recreational use anywhere in national parks and historic sites. Parachuting, skydiving, and BASE jumping are also prohibited. Please refer to the Flying in and Around National Parks and Historic Sites in Canada’s Western Arctic brochure for additional information.

Wildlife

It is illegal to entice, pursue, pet (or attempt to pet), harass, or feed wild animals in Canada’s national parks and historic sites. This includes disturbing or destroying a nest, lair or den. Furthermore, all food, garbage, and other attractants must be secured so that they are not accessible to bears and other wildlife. Animal behaviour is unpredictable and could result in injury if they are not given enough space.

Natural Objects

It is illegal to remove, deface, damage or destroy wood, plants, animals, animal parts (including antlers and horns), fossils, rocks, and other natural objects. Please leave these in place for others to enjoy. If you believe you have found something significant, record the location (GPS), take a picture, and report your finding to the nearest Parks Canada office.

Dogs

All dogs and other domestic animals must be kept on a leash at all times. Allowing your pet to chase wildlife in a national park or historic site is an offence.

Garbage

All garbage must be packed out. Burning or burying garbage is not acceptable. Please also take care to dispose of human waste as instructed during your pre-trip orientation and practice Leave-no-Trace camping.

Cultural and Archeological Resources

It is illegal to remove, deface, damage or destroy any prehistoric or historic artifacts or cultural structures in national parks and historic sites.

Area Closures and Restrictions

Area closures and restrictions are sometimes required to protect park resources and visitors. These will be posted at Parks Canada offices, visitor centres, and online at parkscanada.gc.ca.

Boating

The use of motorboats in Tuktut Nogait National Park is prohibited, and is only allowed in the marine portions of Ivvavik and Aulavik National Parks (those northern sections of these Parks that are also part of the Beaufort Sea). Use of motorboats to access the Pingo Canadian Landmark is permitted. All boats (including rafts, kayaks, canoes, and motorboats) must carry the appropriate safety equipment and have a life vest on board for each occupant.

 

QUYANAINNI, MAHSI CHO, THANK YOU

for following these regulations.

In doing so, you ensure these special places are protected for future generations.

Les parcs et lieux historiques nationaux du Canada dans l’Arctique de l’Ouest offrent une foule d’expériences. Vous pouvez faire de la randonnée, pagayer, camper, observer la faune, admirer des sites culturels, prendre des photos et profiter de manière générale de certains des paysages les plus spectaculaires au monde. Il y a toutefois des règlements que tous les visiteurs doivent respecter pour s’assurer que les parcs et les lieux restent les mêmes pour les générations futures. Il vous incombe de connaître les règlements et de les respecter, mais nous sommes là pour vous aider. Si vous avez des questions après avoir lu cette brochure, veuillez communiquer avec Parcs Canada à Inuvik ou visitez le www.pc.gc.ca/acts.

Les gardes de parc sont des agents chargés de l’application de la loi fédérale et responsables de la protection des parcs et lieux historiques nationaux, ainsi que de la conservation et du maintien de la paix publique à ces endroits. Ils font appliquer la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada, le Code pénal, la Loi sur les espèces en péril, la Loi sur la Convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs et les lois territoriales telles que lois sur les boissons alcoolisées et les lois sur la faune.

Les infractions dans les parcs et lieux historiques nationaux peuvent entraîner des amendes importantes et même des peines d’emprisonnement.

Nous avons besoin de votre aide : Veuillez signaler toute activité interdite, notamment pêche illégale, braconnage, harcèlement de la faune, abandon de détritus, enlèvement d’artefacts, dommages à la végétation et atterrissages d’aéronefs interdits. Si vous voyez quelque chose de suspect, ne confrontez personne et ne cherchez pas à en savoir plus.

Communiquez immédiatement avec les gardes du parc.

Signalez toute infraction au service de la répartition des parcs nationaux en composant en tout temps
le 1-877-852-3100 (sans frais)
ou le 1-780-852-3100 (d’un téléphone satellite).

Vous pouvez également signaler toute activité suspecte ou interdite par courriel. Envoyez vos observations (avec des photos) à gardes.nord@ pc.gc.ca. En cas d’urgence, téléphonez au service de la répartition, qui est toujours ouvert.

Permis

Il est nécessaire d’obtenir un permis au bureau de Parcs Canada à Inuvik pour les activités suivantes :

  • Cachette de nourriture ou de carburant
  • Exercices militaires
  • Événements spéciaux
  • Tournage et photographie à des fins commerciales
  • Atterrissage et décollage d’aéronef
  • Toutes les activités commerciales
  • Toutes les activités de recherche et de collecte
  • Feux à ciel ouvert au lieu historique national Saoyú-Ɂehdacho
  • Toutes les excursions d’une journée ou plus dans les parcs nationaux Aulavik, Ivvavik et Tuktut Nogait
  • Camping
  • Pêche dans les parcs nationaux Aulavik, Ivvavik et Tuktut Nogait

SIGNALEZ TOUTE INFRACTION

  • Date
  • Heure
  • Endroit
    (nom du parc ou du lieu, description, coordonnées GPS)
  • Information sur le véhicule
    (description et numéros identificateurs de tout véhicule, embarcation, VTT, motoneige, aéronef, etc.)
  • Personnes impliquées
    (nombre de personnes, âge approximatif, description physique, vêtements, équipement, etc.)
  • Ce qui s’est passé
    (décrivez l’incident et ce que vous avez observé)
  • Photos
  • Votre nom et vos coordonnées
    (si les gardes ont besoin de précisions ou de plus amplesrenseignements)

L’information que vous fournissez et votre participation contribuent à protéger ces endroits bien particuliers pour tous les visiteurs. Votre rapport sera anonyme.

CE QUE VOUS DEVEZ SAVOIR…

Certains de ces règlements ne s’appliquent pas aux personnes qui exercent leurs droits de récolte en vertu d’accords sur des revendications territoriales. Par exemple, les bénéficiaires Inuvialuit peuvent effectuer une récolte de subsistance dans les parcs nationaux Aulavik, Tuktut Nogait et Ivvavik, ainsi qu’au site canadien des Pingos, conformément à la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit.

Inscription et désinscription

Vous devez vous inscrire avant d’entrer dans le parc et vous désinscrire à votre retour pour toute excursion d’une journée ou plus dans les parcs nationaux Aulavik, Tuktut Nogait et Ivvavik. Vous pouvez le faire à n’importe quel centre d’accueil ou bureau de Parcs Canada dans l’Arctique de l’Ouest, ou en composant le 1-867-777-8800 ou le 1-867-678-0705.

Camping

Il faut un permis pour camper dans l’arrière-pays de tous les parcs et lieux historiques nationaux (exception faite du site canadien des pingos, où le camping est interdit). Le titulaire du permis doit assurer la gestion appropriée des attractifs des ours et autres animaux sauvages.

Piégeage, chasse et armes à feu

Le piégeage, la chasse et la possession d’armes à feu sont interdits dans les parcs et lieux historiques nationaux (y compris le site canadien des Pingos). Il est permis de transporter des armes à feu dans un véhicule, un bateau ou un aéronef quand on traverse un parc ou un lieu historique national pour se rendre ailleurs, mais les armes doivent être déchargées et rangées en sécurité dans un étui, où elles doivent rester pendant que vous êtes dans le parc ou le lieu. Les armes à feu comprennent les frondes, les arcs, les armes à balle BB, les arbalètes et les fusils à balles de peinture. Le braconnage dans les parcs et lieux historiques nationaux fait l’objet de lourdes pénalités.

Pêche

La pêche est permise dans les parcs nationaux Aulavik, Tuktut Nogait et Ivvavik aux détenteurs d’un permis valide de pêche dans un parc national. Les pêcheurs récréatifs doivent respecter le Règlement sur la pêche dans les parcs nationaux du Canada ainsi que toutes les ordonnances du directeur qui s’appliquent dans ces parcs. Cette information se trouve en ligne et est résumée dans le Sommaire du règlement sur la pêche dans l’Arctique de l’Ouest qui vous est remis lorsque vous achetez votre permis au centre d’accueil du parc. Les permis de pêche du Yukon et des T.N.-O. ne sont pas valides dans les parcs nationaux. La pêche n’est pas autorisée au lieu historique national Saoyú-Ɂehdacho ou au site canadien des Pingos. Un permis de pêche des T.N-O. est exigé pour pêcher dans le Grand lac de l’Ours.

Exploitation minière

Il est interdit de laver l’or à la batée et de s’adonner à l’exploitation ou à l’exploration minière. Il est illégal d’enlever, de défigurer, d’endommager ou de détruire des rochers, des minéraux et d’autres objets naturels dans les parcs et les lieux historiques nationaux.

Feux

Le feu constitue une menace grave pour les parcs nationaux et les lieux historiques nationaux dans l’Arctique de l’Ouest. Les feux en plein air sont interdits dans les trois parcs nationaux (Aulavik, Tuktut Nogait et Ivvavik), sauf à la flèche Nunaluk à Ivvavik. Ils sont également interdits au site canadien des pingos, mais sont autorisés au lieu historique national Saoyú-Ɂehdacho . Un permis est toutefois exigé pour tout feu au-dessus la ligne de marée haute.

Véhicules hors route

Les VTT, les motoneiges et les motos et autres véhicules hors route à des fins récréatives sont interdits dans les parcs nationaux, ainsi qu’au site canadien des pingos, exception faite des motoneiges, qui y sont autorisées du 1er novembre au 14 avril dans les limites du site, mais pas sur les pingos (de la base au sommet). Les véhicules hors route sont autorisés au lieu historique national Saoyú-Ɂehdacho s’ils n’endommagent pas la végétation.

Aéronef

Peu importe le type d’aéronef (hélicoptère ou avion à voilure fixe), il faut obtenir un permis d’atterrissage avant de pouvoir se poser dans les parcs nationaux. Il est interdit d’atterrir au lieu historique national Saoyú-Ɂehdacho et au site canadien des Pingos, sauf à des fins de gestion du lieu. Il est interdit de harceler ou perturber la faune ou les visiteurs en volant trop près d’eux. Les véhicules aériens sans pilote (UAV, ou drones) ne sont pas autorisés à des fins personnelles, où que ce soit dans les parcs et lieux historiques nationaux. Le parachutisme de n’importe quel type et les sauts extrêmes sont également interdits. Veuillez consulter la brochure Vols à l’intérieur et à proximité des parcs et lieux historiques nationaux dans l’Arctique de l’Ouest du Canada pour en savoir plus.

Chiens

Tous les chiens et autres animaux de compagnie doivent être tenus en laisse en tout temps. Permettre à votre animal de pourchasser la faune dans un parc national constitue une infraction.

Faune

Il est interdit d’attirer, poursuivre, caresser (ou essayer de caresser), harceler et nourrir les animaux sauvages dans les parcs et lieux historiques nationaux du Canada, y compris perturber ou détruire un nid, un antre ou une tanière. De plus, vous devez vous assurer que les ours et autres animaux sauvages n’ont pas accès à la nourriture, les déchets et autres attractifs. Les animaux ont un comportement imprévisible et peuvent vous blesser si vous ne leur donnez pas suffisamment d’espace.

Objets d’origine naturelle

Il est interdit de retirer, défigurer, endommager ou détruire le bois, les plantes, les animaux, les parties d’animaux (y compris les bois et les cornes), les fossiles, les roches et autres objets d’origine naturelle. Veuillez les laisser là pour que les autres en jouissent. Si vous croyez avoir trouvé quelque chose d’important, notez l’emplacement (GPS), prenez une photo et signalez votre découverte au bureau de Parcs Canada le plus près.

Déchets

Vous devez rapporter tous vos déchets. Vous ne pouvez pas les brûler ou les enterrer. Veuillez aussi disposer avec soin des déchets humains selon les instructions reçues lors de la séance d’orientation préalable au séjour, et pratiquer le camping sans laisser de traces.

Ressources culturelles et archéologiques

Il est interdit de de retirer, défigurer, endommager ou détruire tout artefact préhistorique ou historique et toute structure culturelle dans les parcs et lieux historiques nationaux.

Fermetures et restrictions de secteurs

Les fermetures et restrictions de secteurs sont parfois nécessaires pour protéger les ressources des parcs et les visiteurs. Ces avis seront affichés dans les bureaux et centres d’accueil de Parcs Canada, et en ligne à parkscanada.gc.ca.

Navigation de plaisance

L’utilisation de bateaux à moteur dans le parc national Tuktut Nogait est interdite, et est autorisée uniquement dans les secteurs maritimes des parcs nationaux Ivvavik et Aulavik (secteurs dans le nord de ces parcs qui font également partie de la mer de Beaufort). L’utilisation de bateaux à moteur pour accéder au site canadien des pingos est autorisée. Toutes les embarcations (y compris les radeaux pneumatiques, les kayaks, les canots et les bateaux à moteur) doivent contenir l’équipement de sécurité approprié, dont un gilet de sauvetage pour chaque occupant.


 

QUYANAINNI, MAHSI CHO, MERCI

de suivre ces règlements :

vous contribuez ainsi à ce que ces endroits précieux soient protégés pour les générations futures.