SUMMARY OF IMPACT AND BENEFIT PLAN FOR THE EXPANSION OF TUKTUT NOGAIT NATIONAL PARK OF CANADA INTO THE SAHTU SETTLEMENT AREA

The Sahtu Lands Corporation requested in October 2000 that the federal government open negotiations to establish a national park within their Settlement Area. In March 2001, Canada announced that it would negotiate with the Sahtu Dene and Métis. Negotiations for an Impact and Benefit Plan, which is required under the Land Claim Agreement, concluded in July 2005.

With this plan, Parks Canada and the Deline Land Corporation have agreed to add 1,850 square kilometres of land to the existing 16,340 square kilometres of Tuktut Nogait National Park of Canada, and to:

  • preserve for future generations a representative natural area in the Tundra Hills Natural Region of Canada's national park system, and to encourage public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment of this area;

  • provide for the rights of participants under the Sahtu Final Agreement to use this area for harvesting wildlife and plants;

  • protect the Bluenose caribou herd and its calving and post-calving habitat;

  • enhance cooperation between the Sahtu Dene and Métis and Parks Canada in planning, operating and managing the addition;

  • enhance and support local employment and businesses, and to strengthen local and regional economies; and

  • encourage greater understanding of and respect for Sahtu heritage resources and the natural environment in which they evolved.

Park Management Board

The Deline Land Corporation is entitled to appoint one person to the Park Management Board which was established in 1996 to manage the existing national park.

Heritage Resources

Canada will consult the Deline Land Corporation on any initiatives which are proposed for heritage resources and Sahtu heritage resources within the addition. The board may advise the Minister on policy and legislation affecting archaeological research in the addition, research permits, and on the use of traditional ecological knowledge.

Guides

Parks Canada will encourage the use of participants under the land claim as guides.

Public Sector Positions

The Deline Land Corporation will be informed when Parks Canada is undertaking external recruitment to staff positions in the existing park or addition. Preference will be given to candidates who are land claim participants and meet the qualifications in any external competition for jobs related to the operation of the Sahtu addition.

Priority for Contracts and Business Licenses

Parks Canada will take measures to provide opportunities for qualified participants' businesses to compete for and obtain government contracts related to the addition. It will implement the Aboriginal Business Procurement Policy and Incentives to maximize opportunities for participant businesses to be awarded Parks Canada contracts related to the addition.

The Deline Land Corporation will have the right of first refusal to any new licenses for commercial and economic activities related to wildlife and tourism in a manner that is consistent with the land claim agreement. Such activities include any commercial naturalist activity or commercial guiding and outfitting activities in respect of sport fishing in the addition.

Harvesting Rights

Participants under the Sahtu Final Agreement may exercise their wildlife harvesting rights in the addition. The park management plan will recognize the continued use of participants' camps, cabins and traditional travel routes for the exercise of the harvesting rights of the participants in the addition. Participants may also gather plant material for food, medicine, cultural and other personal purposes, and for the exercise of wildlife harvesting rights.

Economic Development

When advising the Minister on the park management plan, the Park Management Board is to consider accommodation that is in keeping with the wilderness nature of the addition and the park, and activities appropriate to a national park.

The Deline Land Corporation plans to build a visitor centre, which will contain information on national historic sites within the Deline District, and information on the addition and the park. Parks Canada has agreed to work with the Deline Land Corporation in support of the visitor centre and to provide interpretive materials.

Ten-Year Review

Both parties have agreed to review the Impact and Benefit Plan once every 10 years to ensure that the addition is meeting the purposes set out in the plan.

SOMMAIRE DU PLAN DES RETOMBÉES ET DES AVANTAGES DE L'EXPANSION DU PARC NATIONAL DU CANADA TUKTUT NOGAIT DANS LA RÉGION DE L'ACCORD DU SAHTU

En octobre 2000, la Sahtu Lands Corporation a demandé au gouvernement fédéral d'ouvrir les négociations en vue de l'établissement d'un parc national dans la région de l'accord du Sahtu. Le gouvernement du Canada annonçait en mars 2001 son intention de négocier avec les Dénés et les Métis du Sahtu. Ces négociations relatives à un plan des retombées et des avantages, ainsi que l'exige l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales, ont pris fin en juillet 2005.

Par ce plan, Parcs Canada et la Déline Land Corporation conviennent 1 850 kilomètres carrés aux 16 340 que compte déjà le parc national du Canada Tuktut Nogait, ainsi que de :

  • préserver pour les générations futures, au sein du réseau des parcs nationaux du Canada, un écosystème représentatif de la région naturelle des Collines de la toundra, de même que de promouvoir la connaissance, l'appréciation et l'usage récréatif de cet écosystème auprès du public;

  • reconnaître aux parties à l'Entente définitive sur le Sahtu le droit d'utiliser cet écosystème pour la chasse de subsistance et la récolte des plantes;

  • protéger le troupeau de caribous Bluenose, de même que ses aires de mise bas et d'élevage des petits;

  • favoriser une meilleure coopération entre les Dénés et Métis du Sahtu et Parcs Canada dans la planification, l'exploitation et la gestion du territoire annexé au parc;

  • développer et soutenir l'emploi et le commerce au niveau local, de même que de renforcer les économies locale et régionale;

  • encourager une meilleure compréhension et un plus grand respect des ressources patrimoniales du Sahtu et de l'environnement naturel dans lequel ils ont évolué.

Comité de gestion du parc

La Déline Land Corporation obtient le droit de nommer un représentant au comité de gestion du parc établi en 1996 pour gérer le parc national existant.

Ressources patrimoniales

Le gouvernement du Canada consultera la Déline Land Corporation à l'égard de toute initiative liée aux ressources patrimoniales sises sur le territoire annexé, y compris celles du Sahtu. Le comité pourra conseiller le ministre sur les politiques et la législation touchant la recherche archéologique dans le territoire annexé, de même que sur les permis de recherche et l'usage du savoir écologique traditionnel.

Guides

Parcs Canada encouragera l'embauche de parties à l'Entente sur la revendication territoriale à titre de guides.

Postes dans le secteur public

La Déline Land Corporation sera mise au courant des initiatives de recrutement externe de Parcs Canada en vue de combler des postes dans le parc actuel ou dans le territoire annexé. La préférence sera accordée aux candidats qui sont parties à l'Entente sur la revendication territoriale et qui répondent aux exigences de tout concours externe pour des postes reliés à l'exploitation du territoire annexé.

Priorité pour les contrats et les permis d'exploitation

Parcs Canada prendra des mesures pour permettre aux entreprises qualifiées des parties à l'Entente de soumissionner et d'obtenir des contrats du gouvernement visant le territoire annexé. Il appliquera la Politique d'approvisionnement auprès des entreprises autochtones et mesures d'encouragement connexes afin de maximiser les chances des entreprises des parties à l'Entente d'obtenir les contrats de Parcs Canada relatifs au territoire annexé.

La Déline Land Corporation profitera du droit de premier refus dans l'attribution de nouveaux permis d'activités commerciales et économiques liées à la faune et au tourisme d'une manière conforme à l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales. Ces activités englobent toute entreprise commerciale d'écotourisme ou de location de guides ou d'équipement pour la pêche sportive dans le territoire annexé.

Droits de récolte

Les parties à l'Entente définitive sur le Sahtu pourront exercer leur droit d'exploiter les ressources fauniques dans le territoire annexé. Le plan de gestion du parc tiendra compte de l'usage continu des camps, cabanes et routes traditionnelles des parties dans l'exercice de leur droit de récolte à l'intérieur du territoire annexé. Les parties pourront aussi recueillir des plantes à des fins alimentaires, médicinales, culturelles et à d'autres fins personnelles, de même que qu'exercer leur droit d'exploitation des ressources fauniques.

Développement économique

En dispensant ses conseils au ministre relativement au plan directeur du parc, le comité de gestion du parc doit voir à ce que soient pris en considération dans la construction de lieux d'hébergement le respect du milieu sauvage et la compatibilité des activités avec le parc national et son ajout.

La Déline Land Corporation prévoit construire un centre d'accueil qui offrira de l'information sur les lieux historiques nationaux situés au sein du district de Déline ainsi que sur le parc et le territoire annexé. Parcs Canada a convenu d'œuvrer avec la Déline Land Corporation afin de la soutenir dans la création du centre et de lui fournir du matériel d'interprétation.

Examen après dix ans

Les deux parties conviennent de réexaminer le Plan des retombées et des avantages tous les dix ans afin de veiller à ce que le territoire annexé serve bien les fins définies dans le plan.