The Tuktut Nogait Agreement

8. Cultural Resources

8.1

The Board shall advise the Minister on the means of accomplishing the cultural protection and awareness purposes described in Subsections 2.2, 2.5 and 2.6 above. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, the Board may advise the Minister on:

  1. government policy and legislation affecting archaeological research and education in the Park;
  2. general terms and conditions to be attached to archaeological research permits;
  3. the collection and documentation of traditional Inuvialuit knowledge associated with the Park; and
  4. the retention of Archaeological Specimens or replicas in Paulatuk for interpretive and educational programs, provided that retention of any Archaeological Specimens shall be subject to maintaining the integrity of Archaeological Site Assemblages for further research and the availability of suitable facilities.

8.2

In the establishment, operation and management of the Park, the Parties and the Board shall make appropriate recognition of Inuvialuit and pre-Inuvialuit heritage and presence in the Park and surrounding area. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, Canada shall:

  1. collect and document Inuvialuit traditional knowledge of the physical, biological and cultural resources of the Park, for Park purposes in accordance with terms to be negotiated between Canada and the IRC from time to time;
  2. provide to the IRC and PCC copies of any reports, audio tapes, video tapes, transcripts or other materials collected or documented as part of the process of collecting and documenting Inuvialuit traditional knowledge; and
  3. provide that, where any burial site or site of human remains affiliated with Inuvialuit or pre-Inuvialuit cultures is known or discovered in the Park, its disturbance shall not be permitted without first obtaining the written consent of the IRC, provided that any such disturbance shall be subject to the NWT Coroners Act.

8.3

Any intellectual property rights or aspects relating thereto that may arise as a result of the Parties' obligations as set out in this Agreement, and in particular under Subsection 8.2(A), shall be addressed by the Parties when a proposal is made for research or other work in connection with the collection or documentation of the physical, biological and cultural resources of the Park. Canada shall act in accordance with Government policy and legislation as they exist from time to time.

8.4

Archaeological Specimens related to Inuvialuit and pre-Inuvialuit heritage located within the Park may be removed from the Park by Canada for resource management purposes, and shall be held in trust by Canada for the IRC, subject to an agreement to be negotiated and entered into by Canada and the IRC within five years of this Agreement. Upon removal of such Archaeological Specimens and following reasonable request by the IRC, Canada shall deliver any such Archaeological Specimens to a facility designated by the IRC, provided that the facility shall allow public access to them, and that it observes at least the minimum standards prescribed by the Alberta Museums Association in its Standards Practice Handbook of Museums for their care and handling. No Archaeological Specimens shall be subject to sampling or investigative methodology which may destroy, modify or otherwise alter their character without the written permission of the IRC.

8.5

Notwithstanding Subsection 8.4, any chattel the ownership of which can be traced to a living Inuvialuit person shall not be removed from the Park without the written consent of that Inuvialuit person.

Previous | Index | Next

The Tuktut Nogait Agreement

8. Ressources Culturelles

8.1

Le Conseil de gestion avise la Ministre au sujet des façons d'atteindre les objectifs de protection culturelle et de sensibilisation décrits aux paragraphes 2.2, 2.5 et 2.6 qui précèdent. Le Conseil de gestion peut, notamment, aviser la Ministre sur :

  1. la politique et la législation gouvernementales touchant la recherche et l'éducation en matière archéologique dans le Parc;
  2. les conditions et modalités générales dont les permis de recherche archéologique doivent être assortis;
  3. la collecte et la consignation de connaissances inuvialuit traditionnelles qui concernent le Parc; et
  4. la conservation de spécimens archéologiques ou de répliques à Paulatuk pour les programmes d'interprétation et d'éducation, sous réserve du maintien de l'intégrité des assemblages de site archéologique pour les recherches ultérieures et de la disponibilité d'installations appropriées.

8.2

Dans le cadre de la création, de l'exploitation et de la gestion du Parc, les Parties et le Conseil de gestion reconnaissent comme il se doit le patrimoine et la présence des Inuvialuit et de leurs prédécesseurs dans le Parc et la région avoisinante. Plus précisément, le Canada:

  1. recueille et consigne les connaissances inuvialuit traditionnelles que comportent les ressources physiques, biologiques et culturelles du Parc aux fins du Parc, et conformément aux conditions qu'il négociera avec la SRI à l'occasion;
  2. fournit à la SRI et au SCP des copies des rapports, bandes audio, bandes vidéo, transcriptions ou autres documents recueillis ou préparés dans le cadre de la collecte et de la consignation des connaissances inuvialuit traditionnelles; et
  3. veille à ce que, lorsqu'un site d'enfouissement ou un site de restes humains affilié aux cultures inuvialuit ou pré-inuvialuit est connu ou découvert dans le Parc, son utilisation ne soit autorisée que suivant l'obtention de l'autorisation écrite de la , laquelle utilisation est assujettie à la Loi sur les coroners des TN-O .

8.3

Tous droits de propriété intellectuelle ou aspects s'y rapportant qui découlent des obligations des Parties énoncées dans la présente Entente, notamment au paragraphe 8.2(A), sont étudiés par les Parties lorsqu'une proposition est faite à l'égard de travaux de recherche ou d'autres travaux liés à la collecte ou à la consignation de ressources physiques, biologiques et culturelles du Parc. Le Canada agit conformément à la politique et à la législation gouvernementales existant à l'occasion.

8.4

Le Canada peut retirer les spécimens archéologiques liés au patrimoine inuvialuit et pré-inuvialuit et situés dans le Parc à des fins de gestion de ressources, auquel cas il les détient en fidéicommis pour la SRI , sous réserve d'une entente qu'il négociera et conclura avec celle-ci dans les cinq années suivant les présentes. Lors du retrait de ces spécimens archéologiques et suivant la demande raisonnable de la SRI, le Canada remet lesdits spécimens à un établissement désigné par la SRI, pourvu que l'établissement autorise l'accès public à ces spécimens et qu'il respecte, à tout le moins, les normes minimales prescrites par l'Alberta Museums Association dans son Standard Practice Handbook of Museums pour leur soin et leur entretien. Aucun spécimen archéologique ne peut faire l'objet de méthodes d'échantillonnage ou de recherches qui risquent de le détruire, de le modifier ou d'en changer la nature sans l'autorisation écrite de la SRI.

8.5

Malgré le paragraphe 8.4, aucun bien mobilier susceptible d'appartenir à un Inuvialuit vivant ne peut être retiré du Parc sans l'autorisation écrite de cette personne.

Page précédente | Index | Page suivante