The Tuktut Nogait Agreement

6. General Mandate of the Board

6.1

Subject to the jurisdictions of the EISC , EIRB , FJMC and WMAC ( NWT ), the Board shall advise the Minister, and other ministers as appropriate, on all aspects of Park planning, operation and management, and on the means of accomplishing the several purposes set out in Section 2 above. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, the Board shall:

  1. co-ordinate the preparation and periodic amendment of the Management Plan for the Park as described in Subsections 5(1.1), (1.2), (1.3) and (1.4) of the National Parks Act, refer the Management Plan to the EISC for review, recommend the Management Plan to the Minister for her approval, and monitor its implementation;
  2. co-ordinate and integrate advice to the Minister on any other policies and regulations specific to the Park;
  3. co-ordinate and integrate advice to the Minister on any aspects of Park research, including procedures, general terms and conditions to be attached to research permits, research priorities, and the co-ordination of research within the Park;
  4. advise the Minister annually on the selection of Park-related staff, and annual staffing action plans, including statements of qualifications for the hiring of staff; and
  5. co-ordinate advice to the Minister on any transboundary issues, or on other issues affecting the management of the Park.

6.2

Where the Board's advice to the Minister under this Section relates to the management of fisheries within the Park, the Minister shall ensure that the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans is made aware of the Board's advice.

6.3

At the beginning of each fiscal year, following approval of its annual work plan and budget (Section 7, below), and during each year as the Board deems necessary, the Board shall declare to the Parties those matters on which it will advise ministers of the Federal and Territorial Governments during that fiscal year, consistent with its work plan and budget.

6.4

The Department of Canadian Heritage and the Department of Economic Development and Tourism shall make reasonable efforts not to act on a matter on which the Board has declared its intention to advise a minister until the Board has had a reasonable opportunity to consider the matter and offer its advice. The Board shall act promptly and expeditiously on matters before it. No Party shall be prevented from acting in an emergency.

6.5

Subject to Paragraph 6.1(A) and Subsection 6.2, the Board may refer any matter requiring the attention of a Federal or Territorial minister directly to the appropriate minister.

6.6

On Park matters within Federal jurisdiction, the Board shall otherwise advise the Minister through the DCH Director. The Board shall first discuss these matters with the DCH Director with a view to reaching consensus, and thereafter, if recommendations of the Board are forthcoming, the DCH Director shall approve and implement or reject the Board's recommendations.

6.7

If the DCH Director rejects the Board's recommendations, the Board may provide its recommendations directly to the Minister within thirty (30) days of the DCH Director's rejection.

6.8

Where the Minister varies or rejects a recommendation of the Board, the Minister shall provide the Board with written reasons for her decision within sixty (60) days of receiving the recommendation.

6.9

On receiving the decision of the Minister to vary or reject a recommendation, the Board may, within thirty (30) days of receiving the decision, submit a further recommendation to the Minister.

Previous | Index | Next

The Tuktut Nogait Agreement

6. Mandat Général du Conseil de Gestion

6.1

Sous réserve de la compétence du Comité d'étude, du Conseil d'examen, du CMGP et du CCGF (TN-O) CCGF (TN-O) , le Conseil de gestion avise la Ministre et les autres ministres concernés sur tous les aspects de la planification, de l'exploitation et de la gestion du Parc et sur les moyens d'atteindre les différents objets énoncés à l'article 2 qui précède. Plus précisément, le Conseil de gestion:

  1. coordonne la préparation et la modification périodique du plan de gestion du Parc décrit aux paragraphes 5(1.1), (1.2), (1.3) et (1.4) de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux, soumet celui-ci à l'examen du Comité d'étude, recommande à la Ministre de l'approuver et en surveille la mise en oeuvre;
  2. coordonne et consolide les avis destinés à la Ministre au sujet de tout autre règlement et politique concernant spécifiquement le Parc;
  3. coordonne et consolide les avis destinés à la Ministre sur tout aspect des recherches menées dans le Parc, y compris les méthodes, les conditions générales dont les permis de recherche doivent être assortis, les priorités et la coordination des recherches à l'intérieur du Parc;
  4. avise chaque année la Ministre sur la sélection du personnel lié au Parc et sur les plans annuels de dotation, notamment sur les énoncés de qualités se rapportant à l'embauche du personnel; et
  5. coordonne les avis à donner à la Ministre au sujet de toute question transfrontalière ou de toute autre question touchant la gestion du Parc.

6.2

Lorsque l'avis que le Conseil de gestion donne à la Ministre aux termes du présent article concerne la gestion des pêches à l'intérieur du Parc, la Ministre veille à ce que le ministre des Pêches et des Océans en soit informé.

6.3

Au début de chaque exercice financier, après l'approbation de son plan de travail et de son budget annuels (article 7 qui suit) et au cours de chaque exercice financier, lorsqu'il le juge nécessaire, le Conseil de gestion indique aux Parties les questions sur lesquelles il avisera les ministres du gouvernement fédéral et de l'administration territoriale pendant l'exercice en question, conformément auxdits plan de travail et budget.

6.4

Le ministère du Patrimoine canadien et le ministère du Développement économique et du Tourisme s'abstiendront dans la mesure du possible d'agir sur une question au sujet de laquelle le Conseil de gestion a déclaré son intention d'aviser un ministre avant que le Conseil de gestion ait eu la possibilité d'examiner la question et d'offrir son avis. Le Conseil de gestion examine avec diligence les questions qui lui sont soumises. Aucune Partie n'est empêchée d'agir en cas d'urgence.

6.5

Sous réserve de l'alinéa 6.1(A) et du paragraphe 6.2, le Conseil de gestion peut soumettre toute question devant être portée à l'attention d'un ministre fédéral ou territorial directement au ministre concerné.

6.6

Dans le cas des questions du Parc qui relèvent de la compétence fédérale, le Conseil de gestion avise par ailleurs la Ministre par l'entremise du directeur du MPC . Le Conseil de gestion examine d'abord ces questions avec le directeur susmentionné pour atteindre un consensus et, par la suite, le directeur approuve et met en oeuvre les recommandations du Conseil de gestion, le cas échéant, ou les rejette.

6.7

Si le directeur du MPC rejette les recommandations du Conseil de gestion, celui-ci peut soumettre ses recommandations directement à la Ministre dans les trente (30) jours suivant le rejet.

6.8

Lorsque la Ministre modifie ou rejette une recommandation du Conseil de gestion, elle remet à celui-ci des motifs écrits de sa décision dans les soixante (60) jours suivant la date de réception de la recommandation.

6.9

Sur réception de la décision par laquelle la Ministre modifie ou rejette une recommandation, le Conseil de gestion peut, dans les trente (30) jours qui suivent, soumettre une autre recommandation à la Ministre.

Page précédente | Index | Page suivante