The Tuktut Nogait Agreement

5. The Park Management Board: Appointment and Procedures

5.1

Within six (6) months of signing this Agreement, Canada and the Inuvialuit shall establish a Park Management Board ("the Board").

5.2

The Board shall consist of five members:

  1. The IRC shall appoint one member on the advice of the PCC;
  2. The IGC shall appoint one member on the advice of the PHTC;
  3. The Minister shall appoint two members. One of these shall be recommended by the Minister of Economic Development and Tourism ( GNWT ); and
  4. On the advice of the PHTC and the PCC, the IGC and the Minister shall jointly appoint a chair in addition to the above members. Where the IGC and the Minister cannot agree on a chair, the Chief Justice of the NWT may appoint a chair on the request of the Minister or the IGC.

5.3

The Parties named in Subsection 5.2 shall appoint members and the Chair for a term not exceeding three years. Members may be re-appointed at the end of their terms. Members and the Chair may be removed for cause by the Parties that appointed them.

5.4

The DCH Director shall be invited to and shall participate in all meetings of the Board. During the course of any such meeting, and upon the request of the Board, the DCH Director shall allow the voting members of the Board the opportunity to meet without his/her being present.

5.5

When advising on Park matters which may affect or be affected by the management of lands or other resources outside the Park, the Board may, at its discretion, address the responsible authorities, or request their attendance at the Board's meetings.

5.6

Subject to Subsection 5.4, any four members of the Board shall constitute a quorum. If a quorum is unable to decide a matter, the Board shall make every effort to meet as a full Board and resolve the matter expeditiously.

5.7

The Board shall make every effort to reach its decisions by consensus. If it is unable to reach a decision by consensus, then it may decide by simple vote.

5.8

The Board shall determine and make publicly available its procedures, consistent with this Agreement.

Previous | Index | Next

The Tuktut Nogait Agreement

5. Le Conseil de Gestion du Parc : Nomination et Règles de Régie Interne

5.1

Dans les six (6) mois suivant la signature de la présente Entente, le Canada et les Inuvialuit créent un conseil de gestion du Parc («le Conseil de gestion»).

5.2

Le Conseil de gestion se compose de cinq membres :

  1. La SRI désigne un membre sur l'avis de la SCP;
  2. Le CGG désigne un membre sur l'avis du CCTP;
  3. La Ministre désigne deux membres, dont l'un suivant la recommandation du ministre du Développement économique et du Tourisme ( GTN-O ); et
  4. Sur l'avis du CCTP et de la SCP, le CGG et la Ministre désignent conjointement un président qui s'ajoute aux membres susmentionnés. Si la Ministre et le CGG ne peuvent s'entendre à ce sujet, le juge en chef des TN-O pourra, à la demande de l'un d'eux, désigner un président.

5.3

Les Parties nommées au paragraphe 5.2 désignent les membres et le président pour un mandat d'au plus trois ans. Les membres peuvent être désignés à nouveau à la fin de leur mandat. Les membres et le président peuvent être destitués pour un motif valable par les Parties qui les ont désignés.

5.4

Le directeur du MPC est invité et participe à toutes les réunions du Conseil de gestion. Pendant ladite réunion, à la demande du Conseil de gestion, le directeur du MPC permet aux membres de celui-ci qui ont le droit de voter de se rencontrer sans qu'il soit présent.

5.5

Lorsqu'il examine des questions qui concernent le Parc et qui peuvent toucher la gestion de terres ou d'autres ressources situées à l'extérieur du Parc ou être touchées par ladite gestion, le Conseil de gestion peut, à son gré, consulter les autorités responsables ou leur demander d'assister à ses réunions.

5.6

Sous réserve du paragraphe 5.4, le quorum est formé de quatre membres du Conseil de gestion. Lorsque les membres formant le quorum ne peuvent trancher une question, le Conseil de gestion déploie tous les efforts voulus pour faire en sorte que tous les membres se réunissent et se prononcent rapidement à ce sujet.

5.7

Le Conseil de gestion déploie tous les efforts voulus pour que ses décisions soient fondées sur un consensus. Dans les cas où il est incapable d'en arriver à un consensus, il pourra prendre une décision à la pluralité des voix.

5.8

Le Conseil de gestion établit ses règles de régie interne et veille à ce qu'elles soient publiquement accessibles, le tout d'une façon compatible avec la présente Entente.

Page précédente | Index | Page suivante