The Tuktut Nogait Agreement

18. Firearms

18.1

Subject to laws of general application respecting public safety, including ownership and use of firearms, Inuvialuit shall be permitted to carry and use firearms in the Park for the protection of themselves and others, including when they are hired as guides by others.

18.2

No Visitor shall discharge a firearm in the Park.

18.3

The Parties recognize the inherent value of healthy bear populations in the Park, as well as the economic value of bear sport hunts to Paulatuk, the loss that would accrue to the community were a bear to be killed in self-defence (or otherwise) by a Visitor, and the need to make best efforts to prevent this occurring. Therefore, Parks Canada shall make best efforts to educate Visitors, at the time of their registration, on bear-person interactions and on the importance of bears to Canada and to Paulatuk, in order to prevent harm to Visitors and bears. The Board shall advise the Minister on the appropriate actions to be taken in this matter.

18.4

The Department of Canadian Heritage shall pay compensation to the PHTC for the loss of any of Paulatuk's bear (genus Ursus) tags issued pursuant to the NWT Wildlife Act for any bears killed by employees or independent contractors of the Department while acting in the performance of their duties. Compensation shall be calculated at seventy (70) percent of the average market value of a guided sport hunt from Paulatuk the preceding season.

Previous | Index | Next

The Tuktut Nogait Agreement

18. Armes à Feu

18.1

Sous réserve des lois générales concernant la sécurité publique, notamment en ce qui a trait à la propriété et à l'utilisation d'armes à feu, les Inuvialuit sont autorisés à transporter et à utiliser des armes à feu dans le Parc pour se protéger eux-mêmes et protéger d'autres personnes, notamment lorsqu'ils sont engagés comme guides par des tiers.

18.2

Aucun visiteur ne peut décharger une arme à feu dans le Parc.

18.3

Les Parties reconnaissent la valeur intrinsèque des populations d'ours en santé dans le Parc ainsi que la valeur économique de la chasse sportive à l'ours pour Paulatuk, la perte que la collectivité subirait si un visiteur tuait un ours pour se défendre (ou pour une autre raison) et la nécessité d'éviter tout sinistre de cette nature. Par conséquent, Parcs Canada déploiera tous les efforts voulus pour informer les visiteurs, au moment de leur inscription, sur les interactions entre les ours et les personnes et sur l'importance des ours pour le Canada et pour Paulatuk, afin d'empêcher tout préjudice pour les uns et les autres. Le Conseil de gestion avise la Ministre sur les mesures à prendre à cet égard.

18.4

Le ministère du Patrimoine canadien verse au CCTP une indemnité à l'égard de la perte de toute plaque d'identité d'un ours de Paulatuk (genre Ursus) conformément à la Loi sur la faune des TN-O à l'égard des ours tués par des employés ou des entrepreneurs indépendants du ministère dans le cadre de l'exercice de leurs fonctions. L'indemnité correspond à 70 p. 100 de la valeur marchande moyenne d'un forfait de chasse sportive guidée de Paulatuk la saison précédente.

Page précédente | Index | Page suivante