The Tuktut Nogait Agreement

15. Inuvialuit Priority for Park Business Licences

15.1

Where a non-Inuvialuit individual or organization makes an application for a licence to operate a business permitted in the Park, the Inuvialuit have, in accordance with the procedure contained in Subsection 15.2 below, the first priority to apply for and acquire a business licence to carry on a business substantially similar to that described in the non-Inuvialuit application.

15.2

Upon receipt of an application for a business licence by a non-Inuvialuit to conduct a business in the Park, the following procedure shall apply:

  1. The DCH Director shall:
    1. promptly provide the IRC , the PHTC and the PCC with a written notice that an application has been received, together with a short description of the nature of business activity proposed and, in general terms, the geographical location in the Park where the business is proposed to be carried on; and
    2. advise the original applicant in writing that its application will be processed subject to and in accordance with the first priority procedure contained in this Section.
  2. The IRC, in consultation with the PCC, shall have thirty (30) days from the date notice is received pursuant to Subparagraph (A)(i) to advise the DCH Director in writing that the Inuvialuit are exercising their right of first priority under this Section;
  3. If the IRC, in consultation with the PCC, advises the DCH Director in writing that the Inuvialuit have not exercised their right of first priority, the DCH Director shall notify the original applicant and the Department of Canadian Heritage may proceed to process the original application;
  4. If the IRC fails to advise the DCH Director in writing, within thirty (30) days of receiving notice, that the Inuvialuit are exercising their right of first priority, it shall be deemed to have given notice under Paragraph (C) that Inuvialuit are not exercising their right of first priority;
  5. If the notice described in Paragraph (B) states that the Inuvialuit are exercising their right of first priority, the following provisions shall apply:
    1. the Inuvialuit shall, within six (6) months of receiving the notice described in Paragraph (A), submit an application or applications to the DCH Director for a business licence to operate a business substantially similar in nature and location to that proposed by the original applicant; and
    2. the DCH Director shall notify the original applicant that the Inuvialuit intend to exercise their right of first priority under this Section;
  6. If the DCH Director approves the application of an Inuvialuit Business, the DCH Director shall issue that business a business licence, and shall inform the original applicant and any other Inuvialuit applicants under Subparagraph E(i), in writing, with reasons, that their applications have been declined;
  7. The DCH Director shall not reject an application for a business licence under Subparagraph (E)(i) above without just cause and without informing the applicant(s) of all of the Director's reasons for rejecting the application;
  8. If a single Inuvialuit Business has applied for a business licence under Subparagraph (E)(i) above and the DCH Director rejects that application, informing the applicant in accordance with Paragraph (G) above, then the DCH Director shall give the applicant thirty (30) days to submit another application. Provided that the applicant submits a further application during this period, and until the DCH Director has notified the applicant in writing of his/her decision on the further application, with reasons, the applicant shall continue to enjoy its first priority to acquire a business licence. For greater certainty, there shall be only one thirty (30) day further application period associated with each business licence under this Paragraph and Subparagraph (I);
  9. If more than one Inuvialuit business has applied for a business licence in accordance with Subparagraph (E)(i) above and the DCH Director rejects all of the applications, then the provisions allowing a further application during a period of 30 days, set out in Paragraph (H), shall apply to all of the applicants;
  10. If the Inuvialuit fail to submit an application in accordance with Subparagraph (E)(i) above, they shall be deemed to have given notice that they are not exercising their right of first priority and the DCH Director may proceed to process the original application;
  11. Where, after giving notice of their intention to do so, the Inuvialuit decide not to exercise their right of first priority, the IRC shall notify the DCH Director in writing and, upon receipt of such notice, the DCH Director may proceed to process the original application; and
  12. Subject to the right of first priority procedure contained in this Section, the original applicant may resubmit its original application or submit a new application for a business licence.

Previous | Index | Next

The Tuktut Nogait Agreement

15. Priorité Accordée aux Inuvialuit à L'Égard des Permis Relatifs à L'Exploitation d'une Entreprise dans le Parc

15.1

Lorsqu'une personne ou une organisation non inuvialuit présente une demande de permis afin d'exploiter une entreprise autorisée dans le Parc, la préférence est d'abord accordée aux Inuvialuit qui peuvent, conformément à la procédure énoncée au paragraphe 15.2 qui suit, demander et obtenir en priorité un permis les autorisant à exploiter une entreprise semblable à celle qui est décrite dans la demande émanant d'une personne ou organisation non inuvialuit.

15.2

Lors de la réception d'une demande de permis présentée par une personne ou organisation non inuvialuit relativement à l'exploitation d'une entreprise dans le Parc, la procédure suivante s'applique :

  1. Le directeur du MPC :
    1. remet sans délai à la SRI , au CCTP et à la SCP un avis écrit de la demande ainsi qu'une courte description de la nature de l'activité commerciale proposée et, de façon générale, de l'emplacement géographique où l'activité serait poursuivie dans le Parc; et
    2. informe le requérant initial par écrit que sa demande sera examinée conformément à la procédure de traitement prioritaire énoncée au présent article;
  2. La SRI dispose d'un délai de trente (30) jours suivant la date de réception de l'avis prévu au sous-alinéa (A)(i) pour informer par écrit le directeur du MPC, sur une base de consultation avec la SCP, que les Inuvialit exercent leur droit de priorité aux termes du présent article;
  3. Si la SRI, après avoir consulté la SCP, informe par écrit le directeur du MPC que les Inuvialuit n'ont pas exercé leur droit de priorité, le directeur avisera le requérant initial et le ministère du Patrimoine canadien pourra traiter la demande initiale;
  4. Si la SRI omet d'aviser par écrit le directeur du MPC, dans les trente (30) jours suivant la réception de l'avis, que les Inuvialuit exercent leur droit de priorité, il sera présumé avoir donné un avis, aux termes de l'alinéa (C), du fait que les Inuvialuit n'exercent pas leur droit de priorité;
  5. Si l'avis décrit à l'alinéa (B) énonce que les Inuvialuit exercent leur droit de priorité, les dispositions suivantes s'appliqueront :
    1. dans les six (6) mois suivant la réception de l'avis décrit à l'alinéa (A), les Inuvialuit soumettront une ou plusieurs demandes au directeur du MPC en vue d'obtenir un permis les autorisant à exploiter une entreprise semblable, quant à la nature et à l'emplacement, à celle qui est proposée par le requérant initial;
    2. le directeur du MPC avise le requérant initial que les Inuvialuit ont l'intention d'exercer leur droit de priorité aux termes du présent article;
  6. Si le directeur du MPC approuve la demande d'une entreprise inuvialuit, il établira un permis en faveur de celle-ci et avisera par écrit le requérant initial et tout autre requérant inuvialuit aux termes du sous-alinéa (E)(i) que leurs demandes ont été refusées en précisant les motifs de ce refus;
  7. Le directeur du MPC ne peut rejeter une demande de permis aux termes du sous-alinéa (E)(i) qui précède sans raison valable et sans informer le requérant des motifs de sa décision;
  8. Si une seule entreprise inuvialuit a demandé un permis aux termes du sous-alinéa (E)(i) qui précède et que le directeur du MPC refuse cette demande et informe le requérant conformément à l'alinéa (G) qui précède, il accordera à celui-ci un délai de trente (30) jours pour soumettre une autre demande. Jusqu'à ce que le directeur du MPC ait avisé le requérant par écrit de sa décision concernant la demande subséquente, le cas échéant, et des motifs de sa décision, le requérant continuera à bénéficier de son droit de priorité en ce qui a trait à l'obtention d'un permis relatif à l'exploitation d'une entreprise. Pour plus de certitude, il n'y a qu'un seul délai de trente (30) jours pour la présentation d'une demande subséquente en ce qui a trait à chaque permis aux termes du présent alinéa ou de l'alinéa (I);
  9. Si plusieurs entreprises inuvialuit ont demandé un permis conformément au sous-alinéa (E)(i) qui précède et que le directeur du MPC rejette toutes les demandes, les dispositions qui permettent la présentation d'une autre demande au cours d'un délai de trente (30) jours selon l'alinéa (H) s'appliqueront à tous les requérants;
  10. Si les Inuvialuit omettent de présenter une demande conformément au sous-alinéa (E)(i) qui précède, ils seront présumés avoir donné un avis selon lequel ils n'exercent pas leur droit de priorité et le directeur du MPC pourra traiter la demande initiale;
  11. Lorsque, après avoir donné un avis de leur intention d'exercer leur droit de priorité, les Inuvialuit décident de ne pas l'exercer, la SRI avisera le directeur du MPC par écrit et, sur réception de cet avis, le directeur du MPC pourra traiter la demande initiale; et
  12. Sous réserve de la procédure de traitement prioritaire énoncée au présent article, le requérant initial peut présenter à nouveau sa demande initiale ou soumettre une nouvelle demande de permis relatif à l'exploitation d'une entreprise.

Page précédente | Index | Page suivante