The Tuktut Nogait Agreement

11. Harvesting Rights

11.1

Notwithstanding Subsection 1.9, and in consideration of the rights and benefits contained in this Agreement for establishing the Park, the Inuvialuit agree to exercise their harvesting rights, responsibilities and obligations in the following manner:

  1. where the Inuvialuit have the right to allocate any of the harvest to non-Inuvialuit, the Inuvialuit agree not to do so for game inside the Park except to other native people as part of any bilateral agreement pursuant to terms of the IFA or other comprehensive land claims;
  2. where Inuvialuit have the right to sell edible parts from game, the Inuvialuit agree not to do so for game harvested inside the Park except for purposes of trade among Inuvialuit and other native people as provided in the IFA or other comprehensive land claims; and
  3. when, pursuant to the due process contained in the IFA, a quota is required for management purposes, the IGC and the PHTC agree to implement it effectively.

11.2.

Parks Canada shall be able to rely upon a certified extract of duly executed by-laws of the PHTC , pursuant to its authority under paragraph 14(76)(f) of the IFA and the PHTC articles of incorporation under the Societies Act of the NWT , as evidence of compliance.

11.3

Canada may pass legislation consistent with these undertakings and shall do so where necessary for the purposes of implementation and enforcement.

Previous | Index | Next

The Tuktut Nogait Agreement

11. Droits de Capture

11.1.

Malgré le paragraphe 1.9, compte tenu des droits et des avantages énoncés dans la présente Entente et liés à la création du Parc, les Inuvialuit conviennent d'exercer leurs droits, responsabilités et obligations touchant la capture de la façon suivante :

  1. lorsque les Inuvialuit ont le droit d'attribuer une partie de leur capture à des non-Inuvialuit, ils conviennent de ne pas le faire dans le cas des animaux-gibier situés à l'intérieur du Parc, sauf à d'autres personnes autochtones dans le cadre d'une entente bilatérale conclue conformément à la CDI ou à toute autre revendication territoriale globale;
  2. lorsque les Inuvialuit ont le droit de vendre des parties comestibles d'animaux-gibier, ils conviennent de ne pas le faire dans le cas des animaux capturés à l'intérieur du Parc, sauf à des fins de commerce entre eux et d'autres peuples autochtones conformément à la CDI ou à toute autre revendication territoriale globale; et
  3. lorsque, conformément à la procédure énoncée dans la CDI, un quota doit être imposé à des fins de gestion, le CGG et le CCTP conviennent de l'appliquer de façon efficace.

11.2.

Parcs Canada doit être en mesure de se fonder, comme preuve de conformité, sur un extrait certifié d'un règlement que le CCTP a établi en bonne et due forme conformément aux pouvoirs dont il est investi en vertu de l'alinéa 14(76)f) de la CDI et à ses statuts adoptés sous le régime de la Loi des sociétés des TN-O .

11.3

Canada peut adopter une loi compatible avec les engagements prévus aux présentes et le fait, au besoin, à des fins de mise en oeuvre et d'exécution.

Page précédente | Index | Page suivante