The Tuktut Nogait Agreement

10. Training and Community Development Planning

10.1

Within six months of its establishment, the Board shall initiate the preparation of a Community Development Plan to help Paulatuk residents develop and take advantage of tourism and other economic opportunities associated with the Park.

10.2

The Department of Economic Development and Tourism ( GNWT ) shall take the lead in preparing the Community Development Plan. It shall work closely with and shall actively solicit input from the Department of Canadian Heritage, so as to integrate support from the two levels of Government. The Board shall have the discretion to determine the extent to which it will itself become involved in the preparation of the Community Development Plan. The GNWT shall pay all authorized costs associated with the preparation of the Community Development Plan.

10.3

The Community Development Plan shall be prepared over a period of one year and a half, working closely with Paulatuk residents throughout this period.

10.4

While the contents of the Community Development Plan will be determined as set out above, the Parties envisage an innovative and practical Plan capable of addressing individuals' and Paulatuk's needs. In its scope, the Community Development Plan should help residents to:

  1. identify their goals;
  2. analyze their current situation and the opportunities available to them, as well as the obstacles they face in obtaining training, employment and contracting work in the Park and in Paulatuk;
  3. identify the current training, contracting and employment efforts of the two levels of Government and Community organizations, and how they might be improved;
  4. identify existing and as-yet undeveloped business opportunities and markets for Paulatuk residents; and
  5. generate concrete strategies to help individuals overcome obstacles and realize their goals.

10.5

The Board shall recommend the Community Development Plan to the Minister of Economic Development and Tourism and the Minister of Canadian Heritage within their respective jurisdictions, or their delegates, for their approval and implementation.

10.6

In their implementation of the Community Development Plan, the Department of Economic Development and Tourism and the Department of Canadian Heritage shall, within their respective jurisdictions, consider including a strong and co-ordinated training component, including such things as apprenticeship programs and the delivery of short-term training courses in Paulatuk.

10.7

The GNWT and Canada shall pay all authorized costs associated with implementing the Community Development Plan within their respective jurisdictions.

10.8

The Board shall report annually on the implementation of the Community Development Plan to the Minister of Economic Development and Tourism, the Minister of Canadian Heritage, and the IRC .

10.9

Every four years, the Board shall oversee an evaluation of the Community Development Plan and its implementation. Based on this evaluation, the Board shall update the Plan and forward recommendations on the Plan and its implementation to the Minister of Economic Development and Tourism and the Minister of Canadian Heritage within their respective jurisdictions. The GNWT shall pay all authorized costs relating to this evaluation and update.

10.10

Following the signing of this Agreement and while the Community Development Plan is being prepared, Canada and the Department of Economic Development and Tourism shall work with the Board, the PCC , the PHTC and the Hamlet of Paulatuk to identify employment and contracting possibilities in the Park and in Paulatuk, and to initiate related training programs for Paulatuk residents.

10.11

The Board shall oversee the development of a tourism brochure describing tourist attractions throughout the Paulatuk area. The GNWT shall develop and pay for the brochure within one year of the Board's establishment, and it shall update the brochure every four years thereafter. The Board, the GNWT, and Parks Canada shall include a copy of the brochure with any information for Visitors about the Park distributed to the public. The Board may also recommend to the GNWT the production and distribution of other promotional material describing tourist attractions in the Paulatuk area.

Previous | Index | Next

The Tuktut Nogait Agreement

10. Plan de Formation et D'Aide Communautaire

10.1

Dans les six mois suivant sa création, le Conseil de gestion entreprend la préparation d'un plan d'aide communautaire pour aider les résidents de Paulatuk à mettre en valeur les ressources touristiques et les autres ressources économiques liées au Parc et à en profiter.

10.2

Le ministère du Développement économique et du Tourisme ( GTN-O ) prend l'initiative dans la préparation du plan d'aide communautaire. Il travaille de concert avec le ministère du Patrimoine canadien et recherche activement la participation de celui-ci de façon à favoriser l'action concertée des deux paliers du gouvernement. Le Conseil de gestion peut, à son gré, déterminer la mesure de sa participation à la préparation du plan d'aide communautaire. Le GTN-O paie tous les frais autorisés liés à la préparation du plan d'aide communautaire.

10.3

Le plan d'aide communautaire est préparé au cours d'une période d'un an et demi dans le cadre d'une collaboration étroite avec les résidents de Paulatuk tout au long de cette période.

10.4

Même si le contenu du plan d'aide communautaire est déterminé conformément à ce qui précède, les Parties désirent mettre sur pied un plan innovateur et pratique susceptible de répondre aux besoins des particuliers et de Paulatuk. Le plan d'aide communautaire devrait être conçu de façon à aider les résidents à :

  1. déterminer leurs objectifs;
  2. analyser leur situation actuelle et les possibilités dont ils disposent ainsi que les obstacles auxquels ils se heurtent pour l'obtention de possibilités de formation et d'emploi ainsi que de travail en sous-traitance dans le Parc et à Paulatuk;
  3. déterminer les mesures actuellement adoptées par les deux paliers de gouvernement et les organisations communautaires en matière de formation, de sous-traitance et d'emploi et la façon d'améliorer ces mesures;
  4. déterminer les possibilité et les marchés commerciaux existants et sous-exploités qui s'offrent aux habitants de Paulatuk; et
  5. établir des stratégies concrètes pour aider les personnes à surmonter les obstacles et à atteindre leurs fins.

10.5

Le Conseil de gestion recommande le plan d'aide communautaire au ministre du Développement économique et du Tourisme et à la ministre du Patrimoine canadien dans le cadre de leurs sphères de compétence respectives ou à leurs représentants, pour qu'ils l'approuvent et le mettent en oeuvre.

10.6

Dans le cadre de la mise en oeuvre du plan d'aide communautaire, le ministère du Développement économique et du Tourisme et le ministère du Patrimoine canadien examinent à l'intérieur de leurs sphères de compétence respectives la possibilité d'offrir une formation solide et coordonnée, notamment des programmes de stage et des sessions de formation à court terme à Paulatuk.

10.7

Le GTN-O et le Canada paient tous les frais autorisés qui sont liés à la mise en oeuvre du plan d'aide communautaire à l'intérieur de leurs sphères de compétence respectives.

10.8

Le Conseil de gestion soumet un rapport annuel sur la mise en oeuvre du plan d'aide communautaire au ministre du Développement économique et du Tourisme, à la ministre du Patrimoine canadien et à la SRI .

10.9

Tous les quatre ans, le Conseil de gestion surveille l'évaluation du plan d'aide communautaire et de sa mise en oeuvre. En se fondant sur cette évaluation, le Conseil de gestion met à jour le plan et soumet des recommandations sur sa mise en oeuvre au ministre du Développement économique et du Tourisme et à la ministre du Patrimoine canadien à l'intérieur de leurs sphères de compétence respectives. Le GTN-O paie tous les frais autorisés qui sont liés à cette évaluation et à cette mise à jour.

10.10

Après la signature de la présente Entente et pendant la préparation du plan d'aide communautaire, le Canada et le ministère du Développement économique et du Tourisme travaille avec le Conseil de gestion, la SCP , le CCTP et le hameau de Paulatuk pour déterminer les possibilités d'emploi et de sous-traitance dans le Parc et à Paulatuk et pour offrir des programmes de formation connexes aux résidents de Paulatuk.

10.11

Le Conseil de gestion surveille la préparation d'une brochure touristique décrivant les attractions touristiques qui existent dans toute la région de Paulatuk. Le GTN-O prépare la brochure et en paie le coût dans l'année qui suit la création du Conseil de gestion et la met à jour tous les quatre ans par la suite. Le Conseil de gestion, le GTN-O et Parcs Canada joignent une copie de la brochure aux documents préparés à l'intention des visiteurs au sujet du Parc et distribués au public. Le Conseil de gestion peut également recommander au GTN-O la production et la distribution d'autres documents promotionnels décrivant les attractions touristiques de la région de Paulatuk.

Page précédente | Index | Page suivante