The Tuktut Nogait Agreement

1.2 Headings

Captions and headings used in this Agreement are intended solely for the convenience of the reader, and shall not affect the scope, intent or interpretation of this Agreement.

1.3 Time of the essence

Time shall be of the essence in the performance of all provisions of this Agreement.

1.4 Jurisdiction

This Agreement shall be construed and governed in accordance with the laws of Canada and the Northwest Territories.

1.5 Enurement

This Agreement shall enure to the benefit of and bind the Parties and their respective successors and assigns.

1.6 Waiver

The failure of any Party to enforce any provision in this Agreement shall not constitute a waiver of such provision or affect the right of that or another Party to enforce such provision at a later date. If any Party does waive any provision in this Agreement, such waiver shall not be construed to be a further or continuing waiver of the provision. No waiver shall be deemed to have been given unless it has been given in writing.

1.7 Notice

All notices or other communications required or permitted to be given in this Agreement shall, unless otherwise provided for in this Agreement, or by mutual consent of the Parties, be given in writing and delivered by mail, fax or courier to the following persons and addresses:

  1. to the IRC: Chair, Inuvialuit Regional Corporation
    PO Box 2120
    Inuvik, NWT X0E 0T0
  2. to the IGC: Chair, Inuvialuit Game Council
    PO Box 2120
    Inuvik, NWT X0E 0T0
  3. ) to Canada: Minister of Canadian Heritage
    House of Commons
    Ottawa, ON K1A 0M5
  4. ) to the GNWT: Minister of Economic Development and Tourism
    Government of the Northwest Territories
    PO Box 1320
    Yellowknife, NWT X1A 2L9
  5. to the PCC: Chair, Paulatuk Community Corporation
    General Delivery
    Paulatuk, NWT X0E 1N0
  6. to the PHTC: President, Paulatuk Hunters and Trappers Committee
    General Delivery
    Paulatuk, NWT X0E 1N0

or such other address or person that the Parties may advise in writing from time to time. Any notice or communication so given shall be deemed to have been received by the addressee on the day that it was delivered, or on the next business day if not delivered on a business day. If the notice or communication is sent by mail or courier, it shall be deemed to have been received by the addressee on the seventh business day after it was deposited in the mail, except in the event of interruption of mail service after mailing, in which event it shall be deemed to have been given on the first business day on which it has been received.

1.8 Severance

If any provision of this Agreement is invalid under any applicable law or is declared invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, such provisions shall be deemed to have been severed from the Agreement, and the remainder of the Agreement shall continue in full force and effect.

1.9 Subject to the IFA

This Agreement is subject to the IFA. Nothing in the Agreement shall be construed to abrogate or diminish any rights or benefits accorded to the Inuvialuit under the IFA .

Previous | Index | Next

The Tuktut Nogait Agreement

1.2 Rubriques

Les titres et rubriques qui figurent dans la présente Entente n'y sont insérés que pour en faciliter la lecture et n'en touchent nullement la portée, l'intention ou l'interprétation.

1.3 Rigueur des délais

Tous les délais prévus dans la présente Entente sont de rigueur.

1.4 Lois applicables

La présente Entente est régie par les lois du Canada et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et doit être interprétée en conséquence.

1.5 Successeurs et ayants droit

La présente Entente lie les Parties et leurs successeurs et ayants droit respectifs et échoit à leur bénéfice.

1.6 Renonciation

L'omission d'une Partie de faire valoir une disposition de la présente Entente ne constitue pas une renonciation à celle-ci ni ne touche le droit de cette Partie ou de toute autre Partie de faire valoir cette disposition plus tard. Si une Partie renonce à une disposition de la présente Entente, cette renonciation ne pourra être interprétée comme une renonciation nouvelle ou permanente. Aucune renonciation n'est présumée avoir été donnée, sauf si elle a été consignée par écrit.

1.7 Avis

Sauf s'il en est prévu autrement dans la présente Entente ou que les Parties en conviennent autrement, tous les avis et autres communications pouvant ou devant être donnés en application de la présente Entente sont faits par écrit et envoyés par courrier, par télécopieur ou par messager aux personnes et adresses suivantes :

  1. à la SRI : Président de la Société régionale inuvialuit
    C.P. 2120
    Inuvik ( TN-O ) X0E 0T0
  2. au CGG : Président du Conseil de gestion du gibier
    C.P. 2120
    Inuvik (TN-O) X0E 0T0
  3. au Canada: Ministre du Patrimoine canadien
    Chambre des communes
    Ottawa ( ON ) K1A 0M5
  4. au GTN-O : Ministre du Développement économique et du Tourisme
    Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest
    C.P. 1320
    Yellowknife (TN-O) X1A 2L9
  5. à la SCP : Président de la Société de collectivité de Paulatuk
    Poste restante
    Paulatuk (TN-O) X0E 1N0
  6. au CCTP: Président du Comité de Chasseurs et de Trappeurs de Paulatuk
    Poste restante
    Paulatuk (NT-O) X0E 1N0

ou à toute autre adresse ou personne dont les Parties peuvent s'informer mutuellement par écrit. Tout avis ou communication ainsi donné est présumé avoir été reçu par son destinataire le jour de sa remise ou le jour ouvrable suivant, s'il n'est pas remis un jour ouvrable. Si l'avis ou la communication est envoyé par courrier ou par messager, il sera présumé avoir été reçu par son destinataire le septième jour ouvrable suivant son dépôt dans le courrier, sauf si le service postal est interrompu après la mise à la poste, auquel cas il sera présumé avoir été donné le premier jour ouvrable de sa réception.

1.8 Dissociabilité

Si une disposition de la présente Entente est invalide aux termes d'une loi applicable ou est déclarée invalide par un tribunal compétent, elle sera présumée avoir été séparée de l'Entente et les autres dispositions de celle-ci demeureront pleinement en vigueur.

1.9 Préséance de la CDI

La présente Entente est assujettie à la CDI. Aucune disposition de la présente Entente ne peut être interprétée de façon à abroger ou à restreindre les droits ou avantages accordés aux Inuvialuit aux termes de la CDI.

Page précédente | Index | Page suivante