Visitor Registration

Visitors travelling unguided in Thaidene Nene National Park Reserve are expected to be self-reliant and responsible for their own safety. Your preparedness, knowledge, skill and physical fitness must align with the degree of difficulty of the activities you plan to undertake. This isn’t the place for inexperienced backcountry travellers. Make sure you and your group have the necessary wilderness and first aid skills, or take a guided trip with one of our outfitters. You are expected to be prepared for all types of weather and water conditions. Plan to travel so that you leave no trace of your visit.

Who needs to register?

Visitor registration applies to people who are sightseeing, fishing, adventuring or simply travelling through the National Park Reserve. Visitors can be people from Yellowknife, Canada or elsewhere in the world. Indigenous people who are harvesting or practicing traditional use are not considered visitors. Individuals who hold leases within the Indigenous Protected Area are also not considered visitors.

If you are travelling to Thaidene Nene National Park Reserve as part of a guided trip, your tour operator will register your visit.

If you are travelling to that National Park Reserve on a self-guided trip, you will need to register.

What you need to know

All visitors must register before entering Thaidene Nene National Park Reserve.

The registration process provides staff with information required in an emergency situation, as well as helping us understand visitor use. You will be asked to provide contact information for yourself and an emergency contact. You’ll also need to know your trip details, including your route, the colour of camping gear and vessel numbers and type when you register.

Groups are asked to limit themselves to 15 people. If your group is larger than 15, please contact us.

There is no fee to register.

Activation of Search and Rescue

At this time, we are not asking groups to de-register. Your emergency contact must get in touch with us if your group is overdue. Please inform your emergency contact to call our emergency number (monitored 24/7) if your party has not returned as planned and/or has missed a scheduled check-in for over 24 hours.

Register Now

An on-line registration system is under development. In the interim, if you are planning to visit Thaidene Nene National Park Reserve please register your visit by sending us an email that includes:

  • Your name and contact details;
  • The names and contact details of anyone travelling with you;
  • The name and contact details for an emergency contact;
  • A description of your vessel(s) and large camping gear (e.g., tents, tarps) – including make/model/colours;
  • The brand and model of your satellite communication device, and phone number if it is a sat phone;
  • Your start and end date; and
  • A description of your route.

Privacy notice

Plan Your Trip

If you’re unfamiliar with the area, make early contact with staff to discuss your trip well in advance. Carefully review the visitor safety information, including the bear safety information. Understand where you are planning to go and the challenges associated with that particular route and area of the park. Ensure you are properly provisioned and equipped for the trip, including the knowledge, skills, and physical fitness required for the activities you plan to undertake.

Parks Canada: 867-766-8460 (messages returned Monday to Friday) or pc.thaidene.nene.pc@canada.ca

Łutsël K’é Dene Band (Thaidene Nëné Department): tdndepartment@gmail.com

If you plan on visiting the community of Łutsël K’é please contact tdndepartment@gmail.com prior to travelling.

Knowledge is the key to a safe and enjoyable trip. Independent travellers are advised to carefully map their route, develop a safety plan, and to be very thorough in preparing their equipment and provisions.

Recommendations

Here are some recommendations for preparing your trip. Please note that this list is not exhaustive.

  • Carry a satellite phone, compass, and GPS and be familiar with their proper use.
  • Carry effective bear deterrents, such as bear spray, and know how to use them.
  • If you plan on placing food caches within the National Park Reserve, you must contact Park staff for permission and advice on approved storage containers and locations.
  • The choice of clothing and equipment can make or break a trip. Be prepared for variable weather, including cold and snow at any time of year.
  • Ensure adequate provisions. Pack what you determine you need plus an allowance for weather delay.
  • Read the Visitor Safety information

Inscription des visiteurs

Les visiteurs qui explorent sans guide la réserve de parc national Thaidene Nene doivent être autonomes et responsables de leur sécurité. Votre état de préparation, vos connaissances, vos compétences et votre aptitude physique doivent correspondre au degré de difficulté des activités auxquelles vous souhaitez vous adonner. Cet endroit ne convient pas aux randonneurs de l’arrière-pays inexpérimentés. Assurez-vous de posséder, ainsi que votre groupe, les compétences nécessaires en milieu sauvage et en secourisme, ou retenez les services de l’un de nos pourvoyeurs pour prendre part à une excursion guidée. Vous devez être prêt à affronter toutes les conditions météorologiques, sur terre comme sur l’eau. Planifiez votre excursion de manière à ne laisser aucune trace de votre séjour.

Qui doit s’inscrire?

L’inscription vise les visiteurs qui viennent dans la réserve de parc national Thaidene Nene pour admirer les paysages, pêcher, partir à l’aventure ou tout simplement la traverser. Les visiteurs peuvent provenir de Yellowknife, au Canada, ou d’ailleurs dans le monde. Les Autochtones qui font de la récolte ou qui s’adonnent à une activité traditionnelle ne sont pas des visiteurs. Les personnes qui détiennent un bail au sein de l’aire protégée autochtone ne sont pas des visiteurs.

Si vous venez à la réserve de parc national Thaidene Nene en excursion guidée, votre voyagiste s’occupera de votre inscription.

Si vous venez à la réserve de parc national Thaidene Nene en excursion autonome, vous devrez vous inscrire.

Ce qu’il faut savoir

Tous les visiteurs sont tenus de s’inscrire au préalable.

Le processus d’inscription nous fournit l’information dont nous avons besoin en cas d’urgence et nous aide à comprendre les profils de fréquentation. Vous devrez donner vos coordonnées ainsi que celles d’une personne à joindre en cas d’urgence. Vous devrez aussi donner des détails sur votre excursion, notamment votre parcours, la couleur de votre matériel de camping, le nombre et le type d’embarcations utilisées.

Les groupes doivent se limiter à 15 personnes. Si votre groupe est plus nombreux, communiquez avec nous.

Le service d’inscription est gratuit.

Déclenchement des opérations de recherche et sauvetage

Pour le moment, les groupes n’ont pas besoin de confirmer leur retour. La personne à joindre en cas d’urgence doit communiquer avec nous si votre groupe est en retard. Veuillez vous assurer de lui dire de nous appeler à notre numéro d’urgence (surveillé 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7) si votre groupe n’est pas de retour comme prévu ou n’a pas pris contact comme il devait le faire, depuis plus de 24 heures.

Inscrivez-vous

Un système d’inscription en ligne est en cours de mise sur pied. Entre-temps, si vous prévoyez de visiter la réserve de parc national Thaidene Nene, veuillez vous inscrire en nous envoyant un courriel qui contient les renseignements suivants :

  • Votre nom et vos coordonnées
  • Le nom et les coordonnées de toute personne voyageant avec vous
  • Le nom et les coordonnées de la personne à contacter en cas d’urgence
  • Une description de votre embarcation et de votre matériel de camping (p. ex. tentes, bâches), y compris la marque, le modèle et la couleur
  • La marque et le modèle de votre appareil de communication par satellite, et le numéro de téléphone s'il s'agit d'un téléphone satellite;
  • La date de début et de fin de votre voyage, et un itinéraire détaillé.

Énoncé de confidentialité

Planifiez votre excursion

Si vous ne connaissez pas la région, communiquez avec notre personnel pour discuter de votre excursion longtemps à l’avance. Lisez attentivement les renseignements sur la sécurité des visiteurs, y compris les précautions à prendre au pays des ours. Familiarisez-vous avec la région que vous prévoyez explorer et renseignez-vous sur les défis propres à votre parcours et à la région du parc que vous choisissez. Assurez-vous de disposer des provisions et de l’équipement adéquats et de posséder les connaissances, les compétences et la forme physique nécessaires pour mener les activités que vous avez planifiées.

Parcs Canada : 867-766-8460 (nous retournons les messages du lundi au vendredi) ou pc.thaidene.nene.pc@canada.ca

Bande des Dénés Łutsël K’é (département Thaidene Nëné) : tdndepartment@gmail.com

Si vous prévoyez de visiter la communauté de Łutsël K’é, veuillez contacter tdndepartment@gmail.com avant de voyager.

La connaissance est la clé d’une excursion sécuritaire et agréable. Nous conseillons aux visiteurs autonomes de bien planifier leur parcours, d’élaborer un plan de sécurité et de dresser minutieusement la liste de l’équipement et des provisions nécessaires.

Recommandations

Voici quelques recommandations pour la préparation de votre excursion. À noter que cette liste n’est pas exhaustive.

  • Munissez-vous d’un téléphone satellite, d’une boussole et d’un GPS, et sachez bien vous en servir.
  • Procurez-vous des répulsifs à ours efficaces, comme du gaz poivré, et sachez vous en servir.
  • Si vous prévoyez aménager des caches de nourriture dans la réserve de parc national, vous devez communiquer avec le personnel pour obtenir son autorisation et vous renseigner sur le type de contenants et les lieux d’entreposage autorisés.
  • Le choix des vêtements peut décider du succès ou de l’échec d’une excursion. Soyez prêt à affronter des conditions météorologiques variables, voire le froid et la neige, même en été.
  • Assurez¬ vous d’avoir des provisions suffisantes. Déterminez quels sont vos besoins et prévoyez un surplus en cas de retard dû aux conditions météo.