The health and safety of Canadians, visitors and Parks Canada team members is our top priority. In June and July, some Parks Canada places began a safe, gradual reopening of outdoor areas, some camping services, and some indoor areas at national historic sites.

We are only opening places and activities where risks can be managed, according to the advice of public health experts. For your safety, at all times, avoid all places and areas that are closed.

Openings and services differ across the country. Please check the Parks Canada national information portal dedicated to COVID-19 for regular updates.

We continue to deliver services critical for Canadians, including highway maintenance, fire response, dam operations and water management on historic waterways, and avalanche control, among others.

Update for July 30, 2020 - Non-medical masks and face coverings

We strongly encourage all visitors to wear a non-medical mask or face covering when visiting indoor public spaces at any Parks Canada place. When you visit a Parks Canada place, you may see signs reminding you that this is what we recommend.

An indoor public space is any space with walls and a roof that can be accessed by the members of the public.

If a Parks Canada place is within a jurisdiction where wearing a non-medical mask or face covering is mandatory, visitors will be asked to follow this requirement.

Important information about your visit to Thaidene Nene National Park Reserve

July 30, 2020 – All areas of Thaidene Nene National Park Reserve are considered open. Please remember that Thaidene Nene National Park Reserve and Thaidene Nëné Indigenous Protected Area have special requirements for visitors which includes registering before you travel. You can do that by visiting the Visitor Registration page.

As part of being a responsible visitor, please read through the Rules and Regulations page of the website before visiting the park and protected area. If you need more information, Parks Canada staff can be reached by calling 867-766-8460.

When planning trips to Thaidene Nene this summer, please consider that your personal safety is your own responsibility. Be prepared to be self sufficient in the park – you’ll have less access to Parks Canada staff and services than normal. This is not a good summer to be taking significant risks.

What’s open? (Updated July 10, 2020)
  • Overnight and backcountry use (registration required)
  • In order to fish within Thaidene Nene National Park Reserve’s boundaries, a fishing permit is now required.
What’s closed: (Updated July 10, 2020)

Main administration building located in Yellowknife, NT is closed until further notice.

We strongly encourage all visitors to wear a non-medical mask or face covering when visiting indoor public spaces at Thaidene Nene National Park Reserve. An indoor public space is any space with walls and a roof that can be accessed by the members of the public.

Łutsël K’é is the nearest gateway to Thaidene Nene. Because of COVID-19, the Łutsël K’é Dene Band asks that visitors hold off visiting the community at this time. Further questions? Email: tdndepartment@gmail.com.

If you visit, file a trip plan with friends or family before visiting the national park reserve. If something goes wrong, contact Parks Canada Dispatch’s 24/7 emergency number: 1-877-852-3100 (toll free), 1-780-852-3100 (long-distance tolls apply), or email jasperdispatch@canada.ca.

Visitors from outside the NWT should consult with the latest policies surrounding travel to the NWT this summer. Some of these policies are prone to change. Visit the Government of the Northwest Territories website for more information: https://www.gov.nt.ca/covid-19.

Stay informed

Parks Canada is working with our provincial and territorial counterparts, local municipalities and communities to keep visitors and residents informed and safe.

For the most up to date information, visit:

La santé et la sécurité des Canadiens, des visiteurs et des membres de l'équipe de Parcs Canada sont de la plus haute importance pour nous. En juin et juillet, certains lieux de Parcs Canada ont commencé une ouverture progressive et sécuritaire de certains emplacements extérieurs, certains services de camping et certains espaces intérieurs des lieux historiques.

Nous n’ouvrons que les lieux et n’offrons que les activités pour lesquels les risques sont gérés, et ce, conformément aux conseils des spécialistes de la santé publique. Pour votre sécurité, en tout temps évitez tous les endroits qui sont fermés.

Les ouvertures et services varient selon les régions du pays. Veuillez consulter le portail national d'information de Parcs Canada dédié à COVID-19 pour des mises à jour régulières.

Nous continuons de fournir des services critiques à l’intention des Canadiens, notamment l’entretien des routes, l’intervention en cas d’incendie, l’exploitation des barrages et la gestion de l’eau dans les voies navigables historiques et le contrôle des avalanches pour ne citer que ceux-ci.

Mise à jour du 30 juillet 2020 - Masques non médicaux et couvre-visages

Les visiteurs sont encouragés à porter un masque non médical ou un couvre-visage lorsqu’ils visitent des espaces publics intérieurs dans tout site de Parcs Canada. Lorsque vous visitez un site de Parcs Canada, vous pouvez voir des panneaux qui vous rappellent que c’est ce que nous recommandons.

Un espace public intérieur comprend tout espace avec des murs et un toit auquel le public a accès.

Si un site de Parcs Canada se trouve dans un endroit où le port d’un masque non médical ou d’un couvre-visage est obligatoire, les visiteurs seront priés de respecter cette exigence.

Informations importantes sur votre visite à la réserve de parc national Thaidene Nëné

Le 30 juillet 2020 – Tous les secteurs de la réserve de parc national Thaidene Nene sont ouverts. N’oubliez pas que ce parc a des exigences particulières envers les visiteurs, notamment l’obligation de s’inscrire avant de voyager. Vous pouvez le faire en visitant la page d’inscription des visiteurs.

Pour être un visiteur responsable, vous devez lire Règles et règlements sur le site Web avant de visiter le parc et l’aire protégée. Si vous avez besoin de plus d’information vous pouvez joindre le personnel de Parcs Canada au 867-766-8460.

N’oubliez pas que vous êtes responsable de votre propre sécurité. Vous devez être prêt à être autonome dans le parc, et vous aurez accès à moins de personnel et de services de Parcs Canada que d’habitude. Ce n’est pas l’été pour prendre des risques.
Ce qui est ouvert (mise à jour du 9 juillet 2020)
Ce qui est fermé

Le bâtiment principal de l’administration à Yellowknife (TNO) est fermé jusqu’à nouvel ordre.

Nous encourageons fortement tous les visiteurs à porter un masque non médical ou un couvre-visage lorsqu’ils visitent des espaces publics intérieurs du Réserve de parc national Thaidene Nene. Un espace public intérieur comprend tout espace avec des murs et un toit auquel le public a accès.

Łutsël K’é est la porte d’entrée de Thaidene Nene. En raison de la COVID-19, la bande des Dénés de Łutsël K’é demande aux visiteurs de ne pas venir dans la communauté en ce comment. Vous avez d’autres questions? Envoyez un courriel à tdndepartment@gmail.com.

Si vous décidez de visiter la réserve de parc national, remettez un itinéraire à un ami ou un membre de la famille avant de partir. Si quelque chose tourne mal, composez sans frais le numéro d’urgence de la Répartition de Parcs Canada (24/7)  1-877-852-3100 ou le 1-780-852-3100 (frais d’interurbain), ou envoyez un courriel à jasperdispatch@canada.ca.

Les visiteurs de l’extérieur des TNO devraient consulter les politiques à jour concernant les déplacements touristiques cet été, car certaines pourraient changer. Visitez le site Web des Territoires du Nord-Ouest pour plus d’information : https://www.gov.nt.ca/covid-19 (en anglais seulement).

Restez informé

Parcs Canada travaille avec ses homologues provinciaux et territoriaux, les municipalités et les collectivités locales pour tenir les visiteurs et les résidents informés et en sécurité.

Pour les informations les plus récentes, visitez :