New First Nation building will house Nahanni National Park Reserve’s offices

On September 18, 2019, the Liidlii Kue First Nation hosted a ground-breaking event for its new office complex in Fort Simpson, Northwest Territories. Fort Simpson’s traditional name is Liidlii Kue, “the place where rivers come together.” The community is located in the Dehcho Region of the Northwest Territories, and is home to the administrative offices of Nahanni National Park Reserve.

The event was led by Liidlii Kue Chief Gerald Antoine and opened with a traditional Dene prayer and drum song, followed by a feeding-of-the-fire ceremony, an ancient Dene tradition appropriate for celebrating the new office complex. Key partners in the project were invited to make presentations following the ceremony. Jonathan Tsetso, Superintendent for Nahanni National Park Reserve, and Alex Lothian, Asset Manager for the Southwest Northwest Territories Field Unit, spoke on behalf of Parks Canada. A formal sod turning followed the presentations, and the event concluded with a community feast and drum dance.

Liidlii Kue First Nation Builds Internal Capacity
Left to right: Adeel Moghal, Business Development Canada (BDC); Alex Lothian, Parks Canada; Jonathan Tsetso, Parks Canada; Misty Ireland, Dehcho Investment Management Board; Dean Hudson, Vice President Arctic Canada Construction Ltd.; Gerald Antoine, Chief, Liidlii Kue First Nation.

 

Valued at $10 million, the new office complex contains 26,000 square feet of office and meeting space and is scheduled to be completed by 2021. The building will house three key tenants, including the administration offices for the municipality of Fort Simpson, the Liidlii Kue First Nation (LKFN) government and Nahanni National Park Reserve. Parks Canada committed to an upfront prepayment of $2.9 million for a 25-year occupancy period followed by three five-year options for renewal. Parks Canada’s prepayment assists the Liidlii Kue First Nation in building its internal capacity and contributes to its working capital. The LKFN also benefits from cost-sharing of ongoing operations and maintenance of the building.

Parks Canada views this project as reconciliation in action. “For too many years we were not included; things went ahead without us,” Chief Antoine said at the event “This has to change. We must be included and we must all move forward together to make things better for our children and our community. That is what we had in mind for this project and we succeeded”.

Jonathan Tsetso echoed that sentiment in his remarks. “Today marks a special occasion where Parks Canada will be a long-term tenant in Liidlii Kue First Nations’ new facility, and we are proud to make our new home alongside them. This new facility will serve to strengthen the relationship between Parks Canada, our Indigenous partners and community organizations.”

Located in the heart of Fort Simpson, the Liidlii Kue office complex will be the largest building in the community. During the summer months, Fort Simpson is a tourism hub and the gateway to Nahanni National Park Reserve. The new facility will be an important asset to the community, enhancing regional ecotourism opportunities and supporting local economic development.


Image courtesy of David Wong Architect Ltd., Edmonton Alberta

Un nouvel édifice de Première Nation abritera les bureaux de la réserve de parc national Nahanni

Le 18 septembre 2019, la Première Nation Liidlii Kue a célébré la pose de la première pierre de son nouveau complexe de bureaux à Fort Simpson, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Le nom traditionnel de Fort Simpson est Liidlii Kue, soit « l’endroit où les rivières se rencontrent ». La collectivité se trouve dans la région du Dehcho et abrite les bureaux administratifs de la réserve de parc national Nahanni.

Le Chef Gerald Antoine des Liidlii Kue animait l’événement, qui a débuté par une prière et une chanson au tambour dénées traditionnelles, suivies par une cérémonie d’alimentation du feu, une ancienne tradition dénée convenant au nouveau complexe de bureaux. Les principaux partenaires du projet ont ensuite été invités à faire un discours. Jonathan Tsetso, directeur de la réserve de parc national Nahanni, et Alex Lothian, gestionnaire des biens de l’Unité de gestion du Sud-Ouest des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, ont parlé au nom de Parcs Canada. On a ensuite procédé à l’inauguration officielle des travaux, et l’événement s’est conclu par un festin communautaire et une danse au tambour.


La Première Nation Liidlii Kue renforce sa capacité interne
De gauche à droite : Adeel Moghal, Banque de développement du Canada (BDC); Alex Lothian, Parcs Canada; Jonathan Tsetso, Parcs Canada; Misty Ireland, Dehcho Investment Management Board; Dean Hudson, vice-président, Arctic Canada Construction Ltd.; Gerald Antoine, chef, Première Nation Liidlii Kue.

 

Évalué à 10 millions de dollars, le nouvel édifice de bureaux compte 26 000 pieds carrés de bureaux et de lieux de réunion, et devrait être terminé en 2021. Il abritera trois grands locataires, soit les bureaux administratifs de la Municipalité de Fort Simpson, ceux du gouvernement de la Première Nation Liidlii Kue et ceux de la réserve de parc national Nahanni. Parcs Canada s’est engagée à verser d’avance la somme de 2,9 millions de dollars pour une période d’occupation de 25 ans, suivie par trois options de renouvellement de cinq ans. Ce paiement aide la Première Nation Liidlii Kue à renforcer sa capacité interne et contribue à son fonds de roulement, ainsi qu’à profiter du partage des coûts des activités courantes et de l’entretien de l’édifice.

Parcs Canada considère ce projet comme la réconciliation à l’œuvre. « Nous n’avons pas été inclus pendant un trop grand nombre d’années; les choses allaient de l’avant sans nous, a déclaré le Chef Antoine. Cela doit changer. Nous devons être inclus et nous devons tous aller de l’avant ensemble afin d’améliorer les choses pour nos enfants et notre communauté. C’est ce que nous avions en tête pour ce projet et nous avons réussi. »

Jonathan Tsetso a fait écho à ce sentiment dans ses remarques. « C’est aujourd’hui une occasion spéciale, car Parcs Canada sera un locataire à long terme de la nouvelle installation de la Première Nation Liidlii Kue, et nous sommes fiers d’être logés avec elle. Ce nouveau complexe servira à renforcer la relation entre Parcs Canada, ses partenaires autochtones et les organismes communautaires. »

Situé au cœur de Fort Simpson, le complexe de bureaux Liidlii Kue sera le plus grand édifice de la collectivité. L’été, Fort Simpson est un centre touristique et la porte d’entrée de la réserve de parc national Nahanni. La nouvelle installation sera un bien important pour la communauté, car elle rehaussera les occasions d’écotourisme régional et appuiera le développement économique local.

 


Image reproduite avec l'aimable autorisation de David Wong Architect Ltd., Edmonton, Alberta