Náįlįcho Construction September 2018

Náįlįcho Construction September 2018

Náįlįcho (Virginia Falls), the centrepiece of Nahanni National Park Reserve is undergoing major enhancement with a federal infrastructure project that includes construction of new docks and an improved portage trail. These substantial changes will result in an improvement to visitor access, visitor safety and visitor experience.

The work will take place over two years, commencing fall of 2018 (September 1 to September 30) and resuming in the spring and fall of 2019.

The first work undertaken will be the South Nahanni River docks above the falls. The two existing docks will be replaced with slightly larger docks and the number of docks will be expanded from two to three.

This September, we will also begin improvements to the portage trail around the falls. Over the years, permafrost upheaval has impacted the current boardwalk. The new boardwalk route will reduce the steepness of grade and will include additional rest spots for visitors on portage. We expect this work to be completed in the fall of 2019.

The facilities at Náįlįcho will remain open to visitors throughout the project. Park employees, in cooperation with our air charter companies and river outfitters, will facilitate visitation through the area during construction.

There may be temporary impacts to visitation while the work is underway. Visitors may experience trail detours, increases in local aircraft traffic, working camps/crews, and noise from power tools. Visitors will be welcome to engage in conversation about the construction and observe firsthand the challenges of construction in northern permafrost terrain.

Construction à Náįlįcho en septembre 2018

Construction à Náįlįcho en septembre 2018

Náįlįcho (les chutes Virginia), l’attraction principale de la réserve de parc national Nahanni, fait l’objet d’améliorations majeures dans le cadre d’un projet d’infrastructure fédéral qui comprend la construction de nouveaux quais et l’amélioration d’un sentier de portage. Ces changements importants rehausseront l’accès, la sécurité et l’expérience des visiteurs.

Les travaux se dérouleront sur deux ans. Ils débuteront à l’automne 2018 (du 1er au 30 septembre) et reprendront au printemps et à l’automne 2019.

On remplacera d’abord les deux quais de la rivière Nahanni Sud au-dessus des chutes par des quais un peu plus grands, et on ajoutera un troisième quai.

Les travaux d’amélioration du sentier de portage autour des chutes seront entrepris en septembre. Au fil des années, le soulèvement du pergélisol a eu des effets sur la promenade de bois actuelle. La nouvelle promenade réduira le degré de pente et comprendra des points de repos additionnels. Ces travaux devraient être terminés à l’automne 2019.

Les installations à Náįlįcho resteront ouvertes aux visiteurs durant le projet. Les employés du parc, en coopération avec les compagnies de vols nolisés et les pourvoyeurs offrant des activités guidées en rivière, faciliteront les visites dans le secteur durant les travaux de construction.

Il pourrait y avoir des répercussions temporaires sur les visiteurs, notamment déviations de sentiers, augmentation du trafic aérien local, campements et équipes de travail et bruit d’outils électriques. Les visiteurs pourront poser des questions au sujet des travaux de construction et observer les défis associés à ce type d’entreprise dans le pergélisol du Nord.