BUSINESS LICENSING POLICY
FOR
GUIDED RIVER OUTFITTING
IN
NÁÁTS’ĮHCH’OH & NAHANNI NATIONAL PARK RESERVES

 

Nahanni and Nááts’įhch’oh National Park Reserves conducted public consultation on the draft Business Licence Policy for River Guiding and Outfitting in Nahanni and Nááts’įhch’oh National Park Reserves. This consultation, in the form of an online survey, occurred June 8 - August 3 2018 The consultation period has now closed. Parks Canada would like to thank everyone who provided their input / comments.

Please view the What We Heard Summary document for results of this public consultation. If you wish further information, please contact us at nahanni.info@pc.gc.ca.

 

What We Heard Summary

Public Consultation for the Draft Business Licensing Policy for Guided River Outfitting in Nááts’įhch’oh and Nahanni National Park Reserves (June 08 – August 03, 2018)

What We Heard Summary (PDF 563 KB)


What We Heard Summary
Business License Quota Business License Quota
Public Comments Parks Canada Response
1 Open to local businesses Under a Request for Proposals, Parks Canada will consider all applications made including local businesses.
2 The existing system is an unjustified Monopoly for old businesses that entirely excludes new businesses. Limitations on the number of licences issued annually is aimed to balance ecological integrity, wilderness visitor experience, sustainable commercial operations, and respect commitments made with Indigenous partners. The draft policy is proposing introduction of a new licence that will have limited access through Náįlįcho; and an additional licence that makes provision for Nááts’įhch’oh operators to end their river trips at Gahnįhthah Mı̨́e.
3 More NWT resident-based operators providing quality visitor experiences in national parks located in the NWT is desirable. The supply and demand for NWT–based operators is market driven and independent from Parks Canada legislation.
4 Growing visitor numbers and spending in the NWT is important in developing a tourism industry. National parks contribute to sustainable tourism development in the NWT.
5 Achieving a growing tourism industry in the NWT does not require preferential treatment (higher priority) for NWT resident operators for Parks Canada’s parks located in the NWT; Under the Canada National Parks Act and National Parks of Canada Business Regulations there are no directives that provide preferential treatment for applicants based on residency. An exception exists regarding a local Indigenous operator who may wish to activate an Indigenous licence. This is explained in sections 4.3 and 4.4 of the draft policy.
6 Criteria that requires higher priority be given in granting a business license in a national park based on NWT residency is not supported. Fair access for NWT operators in all national parks is supported. See comment #5 above.
7 The implementation of residency based criteria for Parks Canada Licences may disadvantage NWT operators obtaining licences in national parks outside the NWT. See comment #5 above.
8 Parks Canada should not give licenses every year to whoever had licenses in previous years. Nahanni and Nááts’įhch’oh national park reserves issue business licences in accordance with the Canada National Parks Act and regulations. Applications for a business licence can be made by any business at any time including existing operators. Best management practices for sustainable tourism operations may result in issuance of businesses that operated in a previous year.
9 It is good business practice for Parks Canada to renew business licenses of those existing licensed businesses currently operating in its national parks if they meet license requirements of Parks Canada. See comment #8 above, sustainable visitation in Nahanni and Nááts’ihch’oh national park reserves requires operators who can provide high quality and safe wilderness experiences.
10 There is significant goodwill value in a long term business licence holder in Nahanni, so the automatic loss of the business license upon the sale of a business could have a detrimental effect on the operator. Nahanni will not immediately open a Request for Proposals when there has been a sale of a long term business. A purchaser’s application will be considered first. If a purchaser can demonstrate they meet the requirements, a licence may be issued.
11 Parks Canada is encouraged to balance its need to ensure a new owner can meet Business License requirements in a way that minimizes the impact on the value of a business that is operating, that is for sale and whose sales depend on having the license it has obtained to sell its products. A Parks Canada Business Licence is not a commodity that can be sold or transferred upon sale of a company.
12 The emphasis should be on experienced safe reliable operators - both for the people and the park - and on limiting the number of tourists to maintain the wilderness experience and ecological integrity of NNPR. Nahanni and Nááts’įhch’oh national park reserves are required under the Canada National Parks Act to ensure that visitation does not significantly impact ecological integrity. Nahanni and Nááts’įhch’oh national park reserves require sustainable operators who can provide high quality and safe wilderness experiences.
Proposed New Licence and the Request for Proposals Proposed New Licence and the Request for Proposals
Public Comments Parks Canada Response
13 Parks Canada needs to ensure a fair, transparent and competitive process for businesses applying to operate in its parks, regardless of residency The draft policy details the proposed competitive process and the criteria that will be used for review of all applications. Residency is not a factor as per response to comments #1, #3 and #5 above.
14 Maintain the ecological integrity of NNPR above all else. The draft policy follows Parks Canada’s legal obligations for maintaining Ecological Integrity under the Canada National Parks Act.
15 Don’t change the policy to please new operators. No response.
16 A three-year probationary period seems long, given Parks Canada assesses the business’s ability to meet license conditions annually as part of the businesses license renewal process. This is correct, Parks Canada will review performance of a licence annually therefore this ‘probationary period’ provision will be removed from the final policy.
17 More clarity and transparency is required in the draft policy regarding the size of the Advisory Board, the competencies and expertise required in the appointment of these Board members and who is making the appointment(s). Nahanni and Nááts’įhch’oh will follow a sound approach for composition of the Advisory Board. Parks Canada will make the appointments in consultation with their respective Indigenous cooperative management boards. Relevant expertise is a key consideration. The policy will be revised to reflect these concerns.
18 Applicants need to have confidence that the Advisory Board appointed to evaluate proposals has the appropriate expertise. See comment #17 above.
Proposed Selection Criteria for a New Operator Proposed Selection Criteria for a New Operator
Public Comments Parks Canada Response
19 Selection criteria for a safe and high-quality experience for the visitor should have high priority in selecting operators in national parks. The selection criteria in the draft policy provides a balanced framework in which to consider competent and proven operators. Safety standards are a key consideration for a new operator and this is built into the mandatory screening criteria.
20 Nobody runs canoes down class 4 + 5 water with clients. So nobody will ever meet the requirements to be a new trial Outfitter. There has been an error in the draft policy. The criteria is supposed to read class 3-4 and not 4-5. Class 3-4 rapids exist in Nahanni/Nááts’įhch’oh and an operator must demonstrate they have expertise and skills to operate safely in this environment.
21 Outfitters applying for a lottery system should show an adequate level of past experience, safety, and the ability to operate in a manner satisfactory to clients and Parks Canada A lottery system has been used in southern locations for non-commercial visitation where demand for access is significantly higher than availability, these conditions do not exist in Nahanni and/or Nááts’ihch’oh. Visitation has been sustainable in Nahanni and Nááts’ihch’oh, the demand for these experiences are stable and relatively modest. The concern is that lottery entry for commercial trips in a system with modest client demands, reduces certainty for any operators to market, plan and coordinate. Furthermore an unlimited increase of operators in a modest demand system to fill niche gaps may reduce long term sustainability of visitation. The current quota and allocation system is developed to address these challenges.
22 The requirements should not be class 4 and 5 Rapids. Everybody portages those in canoes. See response to comment #20.
23 New operators should have to prove themselves and not receive any special treatment just because they are located in Yellowknife or another northern location. See response to comments #5 and #19.
24 Create reasonable minimum performance criteria for Outfitters to be eligible to apply to the lottery system for the parks See response to comments #19, #20 and #21.
Náįlįcho Allocation Náįlįcho Allocation
Public Comments Parks Canada Response
25 Transition to a new Lottery based system for allocating space for Outfitter visits and trips in the Park. A lottery system is not compatible with a remote northern wilderness destination.
26 There should be a lottery system every single year to allocate space or weeks during the season. A lottery system is not compatible with a remote northern wilderness destination.
27 Research supports that the ability to travel on the Nahanni without seeing and meeting too many others on the river is what makes paddling the Nahanni a bucket list journey for many paddlers and a reason they will pay to paddle in the NWT over another location. The draft policy has been developed to maintain high standards for quality wilderness experiences.
28 Parks Canada should have management frameworks that are transparent about thresholds set, and about capacity for more visitation when thresholds are not being met. The draft policy details the Náįlįcho allocation and visitor group size thresholds.
29 Parks Canada has proposed a management framework to ensure the paddler experience is considered a priority in allocation and in the management of visitation. See response to comment #27 above.
30 The draft policy is transparent regarding thresholds, historic operator allocations and the factors and agreements considered in establishing these thresholds. No response.
31 The approach of “use it or lose it” for managing allocation is supported. This is an approach consistent with other national parks.
32 The limitation that allocation be examined only once every five years limits the ability of licensed operators who may be able to successfully use those allocations from accessing them and growing their own businesses. A three year review period is recommended. The five year review period will remain, this is consistent with other national parks. Tourism in the north is subject to a wide variety of impacts that contribute to annual fluctuations in visitor numbers. Nahanni and Nááts’įhch’oh aim to provide an appropriate time frame to assess the performance of operators. However, Parks Canada may review business licences and their allocation if and when it is appropriate to do so.
33 Unused allocations should be made available in a way that does not create systemic disadvantage for any particular license type, and that the process for reallocation be open to all licensed operators in the NPR. Sound business practice and sustainable visitation are the goals of allocation review and distribution. All business licence holders will have consideration for unused allocation. Clarification will be provided in the final policy.
34 If Parks Canada is serious about allowing a new operator, realistic marketing flexibly is required. By reviewing historic statistics you can demonstrate operators are consistently letting Virginia Falls’ dates go unutilized you could reallocate prime visitor season dates to your trial operator. Allocation will be reviewed when one of the following occurs: 1) After the allocation review period (5 years); 2) An Indigenous licence is activated; or, 3) Upon the sale of a long term business licence holder. All business licence holders will have consideration for unused allocation.
35 Established operators will not want to give up any dates but if it is clear that Virginia falls dates are not being used, they should be required to give up the unused allocation. See comment # 33 and #34 above.
36 Operators will argue they need all allocated dates a year in advance for marketing. Force them to turn back unused dates to allow the trial operator 9 months to market their product. Give the trial operator an honest and fair chance. At this time Nahanni does not see a requirement for annual review of unused allocation.
37 Operators have freed up unused dates for non-commercial users during the prime season on the Alsek and perhaps the operators would support a similar approach for commercial allocation in Nahanni. See response to comment #36 above
38 Operators would have a hard time arguing they keep all their prime season dates if they have consistently let prime allocation dates go unutilized. See response to comment #33 above.
39 Limiting a trial operator to shoulder season constrains economic sustainability challenges associated with trying to market and sell a shoulder season trip. It is recognized that Náįlįcho allocation in July would improve sustainability for an operator. Parks Canada will reconsider Náįlįcho allocation for the new operator in July.
40 The limit to allow trial Outfitters to only do trips after the 15th of August excludes them for the entire three years of their trial period. Perhaps there could be a limit in the first year of one trip for trial Outfitters. See response to comment #39 above.

POLITIQUE SUR L’OCTROI DE PERMIS D’EXPLOITATION
AUX POURVOIRIES OFFRANT DES ACTIVITÉS GUIDÉES EN RIVIÈRE
DANS LES
RÉSERVES DE PARC NATIONAL NÁÁTS’ĮHCH’OH ET NAHANNI

 

Les réserves de parc national Nahanni et Nááts’įhch’oh ont mené une consultation publique au sujet de l’ébauche de la Politique sur l’octroi de permis d’exploitation aux pourvoiries offrant des activités guidées en rivière. Cette consultation, sous forme de sondage, s’est déroulée du 8 juin au 3 août 2018. Elle est maintenant terminée. Parcs Canada tient à remercier toutes les personnes qui ont fourni des commentaires et des suggestions.

Veuillez vous reporter au document intitulé Sommaire de ce que nous avons entendu pour connaître les résultats de cette consultation publique. Si vous désirez obtenir plus d’information, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous à nahanni.info@pc.gc.ca.

 

Sommaire de ce que nous avons entendu

Consultation publique portant sur l’ébauche de la Politique sur l’octroi de permis d’exploitation aux pourvoiries offrant des activités guidées en rivière dans les réserves de parc national in Nááts’įhch’oh et Nahanni (8 juin au 3 août 2018)

Sommaire de ce que nous avons entendu  (PDF 568 KO) 


Sommaire de ce que nous avons entendu
Quota des permis d’exploitation Quota des permis d’exploitation
COMMENTAIRES DU PUBLIC RÉPONSE DE PARCS CANADA
1 Admissibilité des entreprises locales Dans le cadre d’une demande de propositions, Parcs Canada examinera toutes les demandes, y compris celles des entreprises locales.
2 Le système actuel est comme un jeu de Monopoly injustifié pour les anciennes entreprises et qui exclut entièrement les nouvelles entreprises. Le nombre de permis octroyés chaque année vise à équilibrer l’intégrité écologique, l’expérience du visiteur en région sauvage, les activités commerciales durables et le respect des engagements envers les partenaires autochtones. L’ébauche de la politique propose de lancer un nouveau permis accompagné d’un accès limité dans Náįlįcho, et un permis supplémentaire demandant aux exploitants de Nááts’įhch’oh de mettre fin à leurs excursions sur la rivière à Gahnįhthah Mı̨́e.
3 Il est désirable qu’un plus grand nombre d'exploitants des TNO offre des expériences de qualité aux visiteurs dans les parcs nationaux des TNO. L’offre et la demande pour les exploitants des TNO dépendent du marché et sont indépendantes des lois de Parcs Canada.
4 Il est important d’augmenter le nombre de visiteurs et les dépenses dans les TNO pour développer une industrie du tourisme. Les parcs nationaux contribuent au développement du tourisme durable dans les TNO.
5 Il n’est pas nécessaire pour développer l’industrie du tourisme dans les TNO d’accorder un traitement préférentiel (plus haute priorité) aux exploitants résidents des TNO relativement aux parcs de Parcs Canada dans les TNO. En vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada et du Règlement sur l’exploitation de commerces dans les parcs nationaux du Canada, aucune directive ne prévoit un traitement préférentiel pour les demandeurs en fonction de leur lieu de résidence. Une exception s’applique à un exploitant autochtone local qui désire activer un permis pour Autochtones. Ceci est expliqué aux articles 4.3 et 4.4 de l’ébauche de la politique.
6 Nous n’appuyons pas les critères selon lesquels on accorde une plus grande priorité d’octroi de permis d’exploitation dans un parc national aux entreprises établies dans les TNO. Nous appuyons l’accès équitable de tous les exploitants des TNO à tous les parcs nationaux. Voir le commentaire 5 plus haut.
7 La mise en œuvre de critères fondés sur le lieu de résidence pour les permis de Parcs Canada pourrait désavantager les exploitants des TNO dans l’obtention de permis pour les parcs nationaux à l’extérieur des TNO. Voir le commentaire 5 plus haut.
8 Parcs Canada ne devrait pas octroyer de permis chaque année à quiconque possédait un permis les années précédentes. Les réserves de parc national Nahanni et Nááts’įhch’oh octroient des permis d’exploitation commerciale conformément à la Loi et au Règlement sur les parcs nationaux du Canada. Les demandes de permis peuvent être présentées par n’importe quelle entreprise en tout temps, y compris les exploitants actuels. Les pratiques de gestion exemplaires en matière de tourisme durable peuvent entraîner l’octroi de permis aux entreprises qui offraient des activités par le passé.
9 C’est une bonne pratique pour Parcs Canada de renouveler les permis d’exploitation commerciale des entreprises qui exercent déjà leurs activités dans les parcs nationaux si elles respectent les exigences en matière de permis. Voir le commentaire 8 plus haut. La fréquentation durable des réserves de parc national Nahanni et Nááts’ihch’oh exige que l’on choisisse des exploitants qui peuvent offrir des expériences sécuritaires et de haute qualité en milieu sauvage.
10 Une entreprise autorisée qui mène ses activités commerciales à Nahanni depuis longtemps est de grande valeur, et la perte automatique de son permis au moment de sa vente pourrait avoir des effets négatifs sur l’exploitant. Nahanni ne procédera pas immédiatement à une demande de propositions en cas de vente d’une entreprise à long terme. On examinera d’abord la demande de l’acheteur. Si celui-ci peut démontrer qu’il répond aux exigences, un permis pourrait lui être accordé.
11 Nous encourageons Parcs Canada à équilibrer le besoin de conformité aux exigences du permis d’exploitation par un nouveau propriétaire de sorte à réduire l’impact sur la valeur d’une entreprise en exploitation, qui est en vente et dont la vente dépend du permis qu’elle a obtenu pour vendre ses produits. Un permis d’exploitation de Parcs Canada n’est pas une marchandise pouvant être vendue ou transférée au moment de la vente d’une entreprise.
12 L’accent devrait être sur les exploitants chevronnés, sûrs et fiables, tant pour les gens que les parcs, et sur la limite du nombre de touristes afin de conserver la qualité de l’expérience en milieu sauvage et l’intégrité écologique de la RPNN. En vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada, les réserves de parc national Nahanni et Nááts’įhch’oh doivent s’assurer que le nombre de visiteurs n’a pas d’impact important sur l’intégrité écologique. Les réserves de parc national Nahanni et Nááts’įhch’oh requièrent des exploitants durables qui peuvent fournir des expériences sécuritaires et de haute qualité en milieu sauvage.
Nouveau permis proposé et demande de propositions Nouveau permis proposé et demande de propositions
COMMENTAIRES DU PUBLIC RÉPONSE DE PARCS CANADA
13 Parcs Canada doit s’assurer que le processus est juste, transparent et concurrentiel pour les entreprises qui présentent une demande d’exploitation dans ses parcs, peu importe leur lieu de résidence. L’ébauche de la politique explique en détail le processus et les critères servant à examiner toutes les demandes. Le lieu de résidence n’est pas un facteur, comme mentionné en réponse aux commentaires 1, 3 et 5 plus haut.
14 Conserver l’intégrité écologique des RPN avant tout. L’ébauche de la politique est conforme aux obligations juridiques de Parcs Canada pour ce qui est du maintien de l’intégrité écologique en vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada.
15 Ne changez pas la politique pour plaire aux nouveaux exploitants. Pas de réponse.
16 Une période de probation de trois ans semble longue, compte tenu du fait que Parcs Canada évalue tous les ans la capacité de l’entreprise à satisfaire aux conditions du permis dans le cadre du processus de renouvellement des permis. C’est exact. Parcs Canada examinera chaque année le rendement des entreprises possédant un permis et la période de probation sera éliminée de la politique finale.
17 L’ébauche de la politique doit être plus claire et transparente pour ce qui est de la taille du Conseil consultatif, des compétences et de l’expertise que doivent posséder ses membres, ainsi que des personnes chargées des nominations. Nahanni et Nááts’įhch’oh adopteront une approche judicieuse à l’égard de la composition du Conseil consultatif. Parcs Canada nommera les membres en consultation avec les conseils de gestion coopérative autochtones. L’expertise pertinente est un facteur clé. La politique sera révisée pour tenir compte de ces préoccupations.
18 Les demandeurs doivent avoir confiance que les membres du Conseil consultatif nommés pour évaluer les propositions possèdent l’expertise appropriée. Voir le commentaire 17 plus haut.
Critères de sélection proposés pour un nouvel exploitant Critères de sélection proposés pour un nouvel exploitant
COMMENTAIRES DU PUBLIC RÉPONSE DE PARCS CANADA
19 Les critères de sélection visant l’offre aux visiteurs d’une expérience sûre et de haute qualité devraient être prioritaires dans le choix des exploitants des parcs nationaux. Les critères de sélection énoncés dans l’ébauche de la politique établissent équilibrent le choix d’exploitants compétents et ayant fait leurs preuves. Les normes de sécurité constituent un facteur clé pour un nouvel exploitant et sont intégrées aux critères de présélection obligatoires.
20 Personne ne descend des rapides de classe 4+ et 5 avec des clients, et donc personne ne pourra satisfaire aux exigences établies pour les nouveaux exploitants. L’ébauche de la politique contient une erreur. Il s’agit de rapides de classe 3 et 4, non pas 4 et 5. Il y a des rapides de classe 3-4 dans Nahanni et Nááts’įhch’oh, et un exploitant doit démontrer qu’il possède l’expertise et les compétences nécessaires pour mener ses activités en toute sécurité dans cet environnement.
21 Les exploitants qui soumettent une demande dans un système de loterie devraient démontrer un niveau adéquat d’expérience et de sécurité, ainsi que la capacité de mener leurs activités de manière satisfaisante pour les clients et Parcs Canada. Un système de loterie a été utilisé au sud pour les voyages non commerciaux lorsque la demande d’accès est beaucoup plus forte que la disponibilité. Ces conditions n’existent pas à Nahanni et Nááts’ihch’oh. La fréquentation est durable, la demande de ces expériences est stable et relativement modeste. La préoccupation est la suivante : un système de loterie pour des excursions commerciales faisant l’objet d’une faible demande réduit pour n’importe quel exploitant la certitude en matière de commercialisation, de planification et de coordination. De plus, une augmentation illimitée d’exploitants dans un tel système dans le but de combler des niches peut réduire le caractère durable de la fréquentation à long terme. Le système de quotas et d’allocation actuel est mis au point pour faire face à ces enjeux.
22 Les exigences ne devraient pas comprendre les rapides de classe 4 et 5. Tout le monde fait un portage. Voir la réponse au commentaire 20.
23 Les nouveaux exploitants devraient faire leurs preuves et ne pas recevoir un traitement spécial simplement parce qu’il se trouve à Yellowknife ou à un autre endroit dans le Nord. Voir la réponse aux commentaires 5 et 19.
24 Établir des critères de rendement minimal raisonnables pour que les exploitants soient admissibles au système de loterie des parcs. Voir la réponse aux commentaires 19, 20 et 21.
Allocation à Náįlįcho Allocation à Náįlįcho
COMMENTAIRES DU PUBLIC RÉPONSE DE PARCS CANADA
25 Transition à un nouveau système de loterie pour attribuer les visites et les voyages des exploitants dans le parc. Un système de loterie n’est pas compatible avec une destination en milieu sauvage et éloigné dans le Nord.
26 Il devrait y avoir un système de loterie chaque année pour attribuer les places ou les semaines durant la saison. Un système de loterie n’est pas compatible avec une destination en milieu sauvage et éloigné dans le Nord.
27 Les études indiquent que c’est parce qu’il est possible de se déplacer sur la rivière Nahanni sans voir d’autres personnes que de nombreux pagayeurs inscrivent cette excursion sur leur liste du cœur et paient pour pagayer dans les TNO plutôt qu’ailleurs. L’ébauche de la politique a été rédigée afin de conserver des normes de qualité élevée pour les expériences en milieu sauvage.
28 Parcs Canada devrait avoir des cadres de gestion transparents en ce qui concerne les seuils établis et la capacité d’accroître la fréquentation lorsque les seuils ne sont pas atteints. L’ébauche de la politique explique en détail l’allocation à Náįlįcho et la taille des groupes de visiteurs.
29 Parcs Canada a proposé un cadre de gestion pour s’assurer que l’expérience des pagayeurs constitue une priorité dans la location et la gestion de la fréquentation. Voir la réponse au commentaire 27 plus haut.
30 L’ébauche de la politique est transparente pour ce qui est des seuils, des allocations historiques aux exploitants, et des facteurs et ententes pris en compte dans l’établissement des seuils. Pas de réponse.
31 Nous appuyons le principe du « utilisé ou perdu » pour gérer l’allocation. Cette approche est cohérente avec celle des autres parcs nationaux.
32 L’examen de l’allocation seulement une fois tous les cinq ans limite la capacité des exploitants autorisés à accéder à cette allocation dont ils pourraient se servir et à faire croître leurs activités. Nous recommandons une période d’examen de trois ans. La période d’examen de cinq ans sera conservée. Elle est cohérente avec celle des autres parcs nationaux. Le tourisme dans le Nord fait l’objet de toute une gamme d’impacts qui contribuent aux fluctuations annuelles du nombre de visiteurs. Nahanni et Nááts’įhch’oh visent à fournir une période de temps appropriée pour évaluer le rendement des exploitants. Toutefois, Parcs Canada peut passer en revue des permis d’exploitation et leur allocation s’il y a lieu.
33 Les allocations inutilisées devraient être disponibles de façon à ne pas créer de désavantage systémique pour un type particulier de permis, et le processus de redistribution de l’allocation devrait être ouvert à tous les exploitants autorisés dans la RPN. Les pratiques commerciales judicieuses et la fréquentation durable sont les objectifs de l’examen et de la distribution de l’allocation. Tous les titulaires de permis seront pris en compte pour l’allocation inutilisée. Des éclaircissements seront fournis dans la politique finale
34 Si Parcs Canada a vraiment l’intention de permettre un nouvel exploitant, il est essentiel de faire preuve de souplesse réaliste en matière de marketing. En examinant les statistiques historiques, on constate que les exploitants n’utilisent pas les dates associées aux chutes Virginia, et vous pourriez allouer des dates durant la saison de pointe au nouvel exploitant. L’allocation sera examinée dans les cas suivants : 1) après la période d’examen (5 ans); 2) activation d’un permis d’Autochtone; 3) vente d’une entreprise qui possède un permis depuis longtemps. Tous les titulaires de permis seront pris en compte pour l’allocation inutilisée.
35 Les exploitants établis ne voudront pas abandonner de dates, mais s’il est clair qu’ils n’utilisent pas les dates associées aux chutes Virginia, il devrait remettre l’allocation non utilisée. Voir les commentaires 33 et 34 ci-dessus.
36 Les exploitants diront qu’ils ont besoin de toutes les dates allouées un an d’avance à des fins de marketing. Forcez-les à remettre les dates inutilisées afin de donner au nouvel exploitant neuf mois pour commercialiser son produit. Donnez-lui une chance équitable. Nahanni ne voit pas à l’heure actuelle la nécessité d’examiner chaque année l’allocation inutilisée.
37 Les exploitants ont libéré les dates inutilisées pour les utilisateurs non commerciaux durant la saison de pointe sur l’Alsek, et les exploitants appuieraient peut-être une approche semblable à l’égard de l’allocation commerciale à Nahanni. Voir la réponse au commentaire 36 plus haut
38 Il serait difficile pour les exploitants de vouloir garder toutes leurs dates durant la saison de pointe s’ils ne les utilisent pas. Voir la réponse au commentaire 33 plus haut.
39 Le fait de limiter les activités de nouvel exploitant à l’intersaison comporte des enjeux économiques associés à la commercialisation et à la vente d’une excursion durant cette saison. On reconnaît que l’allocation à Náįlįcho en juillet améliorerait la durabilité pour un exploitant. Parcs Canada examinera de nouveau l’allocation à Náįlįcho pour le nouvel exploitant en juillet.
40 Le fait de limiter les excursions des nouveaux exploitants après le 15 août les exclut de toute la période d’essai de trois ans. Il pourrait peut-être y avoir une limite d’une excursion au cours de la première année pour ces exploitants. Voir la réponse au commentaire 39 plus haut.