Guidelines for Licensing of Guided River Outfitting in Nahanni and Nááts’įhch’oh National Park Reserves
January 2019

        RECORD OF REVISIONS

    28/01/2019

     Version 1.0 Management Team Original Version

 

Nááts’įhch’oh and Nahanni National Park Reserves are the administrators of these guidelines. This document does not create any new authorities nor does it delegate any of the Superintendent’s authorities created under legislation. Where there may be a discrepancy with these guidelines and legislation, legislation will take precedence. These guidelines have been developed and may be administered in full cooperation with the Indigenous cooperative management partners at the park reserves. These guidelines may be reviewed and revised as necessary to meet emerging or unforeseen challenges. Any proposed revisions may be reviewed with affected and prospective users of the guidelines for clarity and functionality. Changes to this document will be logged in the table above. Minor revisions that do not require a change in interpretation or processes will increase incrementally by hundredths (e.g., version 1.01, version 1.02 etc.). Major revisions that involve a change in strategic actions or processes are designated with the next whole number (e.g., version 2.0, 3.0, 4.0 etc.).

 

TABLE OF CONTENTS

1.0 Introduction
1.1 Essence of Nahanni and Nááts’įhch’oh
1.2 Ecological Integrity Statement
1.3 Historical Context of Licensing Guided River Outfitting
2.0 Scope
 2.1 Interpretation
3.0 Defining Appropriate Levels of Visitor Use
 3.1 Managing Visitor Experiences
 3.1.1 Nahʔą Dehé/Tehjeh Deé
 3.1.2 Nááts’įhch’oh Tué (Moose Ponds)
 3.1.3 Ǫtaa Tué Fehto (Divide Lake)
 3.1.4 Glacier Lake and the Cirque of the Unclimbables
 3.1.5 Gahnįhthah Mįe
 3.1.6 Nái̖li̖cho
 3.2 Indigenous Values and Perspectives
 3.2.1 Nahʔą Dehé Consensus Team
 3.2.2 Nááts’įhch’oh Management Committee
 3.3 Group Size, Thresholds & Spacing
 3.4 Quota for Issuance of Licences
4.0 Licensing Process for New Applications
 4.1 Notification
 4.1.1 Work Plan
 4.2 Indigenous Engagement Activities
 4.3 Sahtu Dene and Métis Comprehensive Land Claim Agreement
 4.4 Dehcho Process and Ongoing Land Claim Negotiations
 4.5 Best Management Practices
 4.6 Guidelines for Making a New Application
 4.7 Preliminary Screening
 4.8 Licensee in Good Standing
 4.8.1 Sale of a Business

List of Appendices
Appendix A: Model Terms and Conditions for Licences
Appendix B: Licensing Process for New Applications & Guidelines for Preparing an Application

1.0 Introduction

Nahanni National Park Reserve was established in 1976 and expanded in 2009 to 30,000km2. Nááts’įhch’oh National Park Reserve was created in 2012 and legislated in 2014, it protects approximately 4895 km2 in the headwaters of the South Nahanni watershed. Together, Nahanni and Nááts’įhch’oh protect 86% of the South Nahanni Watershed. The South Nahanni River, called Nahʔą Dehé in the Dehcho and Tehjeh Deé in the Sahtu, has a long history of guided river outfitting. This is the first comprehensive set of guidelines for licensing guided river outfitting in Nahanni and Nááts’įhch’oh National Park Reserves.

These guidelines establish principles for Nahanni and Nááts’įhch’oh National Park Reserves to follow in managing licences for guided river outfitting. In addition to meeting Parks Canada’s mandate, Parks Canada will honour the strong connections that river trips forge between visitors, the Dehcho and Sahtu peoples, and these parks.

1.1 Essence of Nahanni and Nááts’įhch’oh

Nahanni National Park Reserve (Nahʔą Dehé) is a UNESCO world heritage site globally renowned for its geologic landforms. An iconic northern wilderness, Nahʔą Dehé harbours sheer granite spires, vast alpine plateaus and at its heart is the South Nahanni River, a Canadian Heritage River. This great-spirit water thunders at Nái̖li̖cho (Virginia Falls) and meanders through some of the deepest canyons in Canada. Natural labyrinths of Nahanni Karst are among the most spectacular examples of this landform type known to humankind. The mineral spring cauldrons of Gahnįhthah form the largest tufa mounds in Canada. Gahnįhthah is a sacred site - home to the horizon walker Yamba Deja, who created Dene law. Far greater than the sum of its landforms, Nahanni is a cultural landscape. It is a place of deep and timeless significance. Visitors are welcomed to the land by the Dehcho First Nations, whose ancestors have called Nahʔą Dehé home for untold centuries. Climbers, hikers, paddlers and visitors of all kinds find personal inspiration and connection to this rugged land and its people. Nahanni is a Dehcho First Nations gift to be shared with Canada, and Canada’s gift to the world.

Nááts’įhch’oh is the ancestral homeland of the Shúhtaot’ine, the Mountain Dene, and Métis. The park is a place where culture and nature are intertwined, and traditions continue. The Sahtu Dene and Métis of the Tulita District and Parks Canada are entrusted to care for the land, water, wildlife and spiritually sacred places found within the park. Shúhtaot’ine stories, knowledge, and protocols guide and teach people. Where the South Nahanni River and its tributaries stretch high into the Mackenzie Mountains, the park protects them.

1.2 Ecological Integrity Statement

Nahanni National Park Reserve’s Ecological Integrity Statement incorporates input from elders, community leaders, government agencies and other interested groups. This is a synopsis of the Ecological Vision for Nahʔą Dehé, drafted from those inputs:

Nahʔą Dehé will protect a wilderness watershed in the Mackenzie Mountains where natural processes remain the dominant forces shaping the park’s ecosystem and where native biodiversity will be maintained. Traditional subsistence harvesting will continue to be an integral part of the ecosystem and will occur in accordance with Dene law and principles. Nahʔą Dehé will be a model of cooperative management with First Nations of the Deh Cho where ecological and cultural integrity is protected, visitor access and enjoyment is encouraged within the limits of ecological integrity and wilderness experience, and messages of natural and cultural heritage are communicated with excellence. Nahʔą Dehé will also promote excellence in the conduct of science and cooperative resource protection.

1.3 Historical Context of Licensing Guided River Outfitting

Parks Canada initiated business licensing of commercial river outfitters following the establishment of Nahanni National Park Reserve. However, guiding on the South Nahanni River predates park establishment. In the first Nahanni management plan (1987), Nahanni National Park Reserve did not restrict the number of commercial outfitters. Licences were limited in the Nahanni National Park Reserve Management Plan Amendments (1994). The amendments stated that Nahanni National Park Reserve would not exceed 4 licences, and one additional licence would be reserved for a qualified Dehcho business. The 2004 management plan also recognized the issuance of 4 licences plus one additional licence for a qualified Dehcho business. The 2010 management plan was also in line with the 4 plus one licence framework but it was open to increasing licences as a result of park expansion. The first management plan for Nááts’įhch’oh (2017) did not set a limit on number of licences, as visitation has been relatively low and there is room for growth.

All Nahanni management plans to date have shared the common conclusion that placing limitations on river use activities on the South Nahanni River is necessary to manage potential impacts to park resources, maintain the true wilderness character, balance commercial and non-commercial access and remain within the limits of existing infrastructure capacity. As parameters change or shift Nááts’įhch’oh and Nahanni National Park Reserves may apply adaptive management with a precautionary approach to river use and licensing. However, limitations for commercial activities may continue for future planning purposes.

2.0 Scope

These guidelines provide clarity for commercial river outfitting in Nahanni and Nááts’įhch’oh National Park Reserves. Following implementation, the effectiveness of these guidelines and strategies may be monitored through ongoing consultations and stakeholder engagement. This document may be revised as and when required either by request of our Indigenous cooperative management partners, commitments outlined in the guidelines or if operational realities significantly change. Nááts’įhch’oh and Nahanni National Park Reserves will engage with communities and stakeholders during any subsequent reviews or revisions of this document. The aim is to develop effective strategies for sustainable visitation in Nahanni and Nááts’įhch’oh National Park Reserves. It is important to note that applications will be processed with the full advice of our Dene and Métis partners.

Under the National Parks of Canada Businesses Regulations, and in accordance with them, it is for a Superintendent at first instance to receive an application for a licence, decide what and how much information is necessary to consider the application, make a decision concerning the application, and decide on any terms and conditions in the licence. This document is a guide to a Superintendent but does not fetter a Superintendent’s discretion, authorities and responsibilities under the Regulations, and this document must be interpreted accordingly.

2.1 Interpretation

Act – means the Canada National Parks Act.
Advisory Committee – means the Committee that may be established to review and evaluate applications for a licence pursuant to a notification.
Business - means any trade, industry, employment, occupation, activity or special event carried on in a park for profit, gain, fund raising or commercial promotion, and includes an undertaking carried on in a park by a charitable organization, or by an organization or individual on a non-profit basis. National Parks of Canada Businesses Regulations SOR/98-455.
Chief Executive Officer – means an officer appointed by the Governor in Council pursuant to the Parks Canada Agency Act. The Chief Executive Officer, under the direction of the Minister, has the control and management of the Agency and all matters connected with it.
Impact Benefit Plan – means the Impact and Benefit Plan (IBP) as it relates to Nááts’įhch’oh National Park Reserve. It is a legally binding agreement made between the Government of Canada and the Sahtu Dene and Métis.
Dehcho and/or Sahtu Business –means a business that is:
(a) a sole proprietorship owned by a Dehcho or Tulita District Sahtu Dene or Métis member(s) or Tulita District Land Corporation; or
(b) an entity that is:

    (i) a corporation with 51 percent or more of the corporation’s voting shares beneficially owned by a Dehcho or Tulita District Sahtu Dene or Métis member(s) or Tulita District Land Corporation;
    (ii) a co-operative controlled by a Dehcho or Tulita District Sahtu Dene or Métis member(s) or Tulita District Land Corporation;
    (iii) a partnership that is 51 percent or more controlled by a Dehcho or Tulita District Sahtu Dene or Métis member(s) or Tulita District Land Corporation or by an entity described in subclause (i) or (ii); (iv) a not-for-profit organization controlled by a Dehcho or Tulita District Sahtu Dene or Métis member(s) or Tulita District Land Corporation; or
    (v) a joint venture or consortium in which a Dehcho or Tulita District Sahtu Dene or Métis member(s) or Tulita District Land Corporation have, or an entity described in subclause (i), (ii), (iii) or (iv) has, 51 percent or more ownership and control;

Licence - means a licence issued by the Superintendent pursuant to section 4.1, or issued or reinstated under subsection 10.1(2), as the case may be. National Parks of Canada Businesses Regulations SOR/98-455.
Licensee - means the holder of a valid licence. National Parks of Canada Businesses Regulations SOR/98-455.
Nááts’įhch’oh Management Committee - means the cooperative management board for Nááts’įhch’oh National Park Reserve pursuant to the Impact Benefit Plan. Composition includes appointees from: the Tulita Renewable Resources Council, the Norman Wells Renewable Resources Council, and the Minister responsible for Parks Canada. One federal appointee is made in consultation with the Government of the Northwest Territories and one upon the recommendation of Dehcho First Nations.
Nahʔą Dehé Consensus Team – means the Indigenous cooperative management board for Nahanni National Park Reserve pursuant to the Interim Park Management Arrangement (2003). Composition includes representatives from: Parks Canada (2); Dehcho First Nations (2); Nahʔą Dehé Dene Band (2); and the Nááts’įhch’oh Management Committee (1).
Nái̖li̖cho Allocation – means the calendar day of arrival at Nái̖li̖cho. All groups will have a maximum two night stay at Nái̖li̖cho. The Superintendent of Nahanni National Park Reserve administers allocation.
Nái̖li̖cho Capacity - means the maximum amount of people (54) that the infrastructure at Nái̖li̖cho can accommodate for one night of camping, without unreasonably impacting heritage resources and visitor enjoyment.
Notification – means notification to the public that Nahanni and/or Nááts’įhch’oh National Park Reserve(s) may review new applications for licence(s) to offer guided river outfitting services. Regulations – means the National Parks of Canada Businesses Regulations SOR/98-455 pursuant to the Canada National Parks Act.
Superintendent – means an officer appointed under the Parks Canada Agency Act S.C. 1998, c. 31 who holds the office of Superintendent of a park or of a national historic site of Canada to which the Canada National Parks Act S.C. 2000, c. 32 applies, and includes any person appointed under the Parks Canada Agency Act who is authorized by such an officer to act on the officer’s behalf.
Year - means the 12-month period beginning on April 1st in each year and ending on March 31st in the next year. National Parks of Canada Businesses Regulations SOR/98-455.


1.0 Introduction

2.0 Scope

3.0 Defining Appropriate Levels of Visitor Use

4.0 Licensing Process for New Applications

Appendix A: Model Terms and Conditions for Licences

Appendix B: Licensing Process for New Applications & Guidelines for Preparing an Application

Lignes directrices sur l’octroi de permis aux pourvoyeurs d’excursions guidées en rivière dans les réserves de parc national Nahanni et Nááts’įhch’oh
Janvier 2019

               RELEVÉ DES RÉVISIONS

    28/01/2019

              Version 1.0 Équipe de direction Version originale

 

Les réserves de parc national Nááts’įhch’oh et Nahanni sont responsables des présentes lignes directrices. Celles-ci ne créent pas de nouveaux pouvoirs et ne délèguent aucun des pouvoirs confiés au directeur en vertu de la loi. En cas d’incompatibilité entre les lignes directrices et une loi, c’est la loi qui prévaudra. Ces lignes directrices ont été élaborées de concert avec les partenaires autochtones de gestion participative et pourront être mises en œuvre avec leur entière collaboration dans les réserves de parc. Elles pourront faire l’objet d’un examen et d’une révision au besoin à la lumière de défis nouveaux ou imprévus. On pourra examiner toute révision proposée aux lignes directrices de concert avec les utilisateurs touchés ou futurs afin d’en évaluer la clarté et le caractère fonctionnel. Les changements apportés au présent document doivent être inscrits dans le tableau ci-dessus. La numérotation des révisions secondaires qui n’entraînent pas de changement d’interprétation ou de processus se fera par centièmes (p. ex. version 1.01, version 1.02). Les révisions majeures qui entraînent un changement sur le plan des mesures stratégiques ou des processus seront désignées par le nombre entier suivant (p. ex., version 2.0, 3.0, 4.0).

 

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

1.0 Introduction 1 1.1 Bien-fondé des réserves de parc national Nahanni et Nááts’įhch’oh
1.2 Énoncé d’intégrité écologique
1.3 Historique de l’octroi de permis aux pourvoyeurs d’excursions guidées en rivière
2.0 Portée
 2.1 Interprétation
3.0 Détermination des taux de fréquentation appropriés
 3.1 Gestion de l’expérience du visiteur
 3.1.1 Nahʔą Dehé/Tehjeh Deé
 3.1.2 Nááts’įhch’oh Tué (marais Moose
 3.1.3 Ǫtaa Tué Fehto (lac Divide)
 3.1.4 Lac Glacier et Cirque of the Unclimbables
 3.1.5 Gahnįhthah Mįe
 3.1.6 Nái̖li̖cho
 3.2 Valeurs et points de vue autochtones
 3.2.1 Équipe du consensus Nahʔą Dehé
 3.2.2 Comité de gestion de Nááts’įhch’oh
 3.3 Taille des groupes, seuils et espacement
 3.4 Quotas pour l’octroi de permis d’exploitation
4.0 Processus d’octroi de permis pour les nouvelles demandes
 4.1 Notification
 4.1.1 Plan de travail
 4.2 Activités de mobilisation des Autochtones
 4.3 Entente sur la revendication territoriale globale des Dénés et Métis du Sahtu
 4.4 Processus du Dehcho et négociations en cours sur les revendications territoriales
 4.5 Pratiques exemplaires en matière de gestion
 4.6 Lignes directrices sur la présentation d’une nouvelle demande
 4.7 Examen préalable
 4.8 Titulaire de permis en règle
 4.8.1 Vente d’un commerce

Liste des annexes
Annexe A : Modalités types des permis
Annexe B : Processus d’octroi des permis pour les nouvelles demandes et lignes directrices pour la préparation d’une demande 

1.0 Introduction

La réserve de parc national Nahanni a été créée en 1976 et a été agrandie en 2009, sa superficie passant à 30 000 km2. La réserve de parc national Nááts’įhch’oh a été créée en 2012 et établie en vertu d’une loi en 2014; elle protège environ 4 895 km2 dans le cours supérieur du bassin versant de la rivière Nahanni Sud. Ensemble, ces deux réserves protègent 86 % du bassin versant de la rivière Nahanni Sud. Appelée Nahʔą Dehé au Dehcho et Tehjeh Deé au Sahtu, cette rivière possède une longue histoire de pourvoyeurs offrant des excursions guidées. Le présent document constitue le premier jeu complet de lignes directrices sur l’octroi de permis aux pourvoyeurs offrant des excursions guidées en rivière dans les réserves de parc national Nahanni et Nááts’įhch’oh.

Ces lignes directrices établissent les principes à suivre dans les réserves de parc national Nahanni et Nááts’įhch’oh pour gérer les permis des pourvoyeurs offrant des excursions guidées en rivière. Elles permettent à Parcs Canada non seulement de s’acquitter de son mandat, mais aussi d’honorer les liens solides que les excursions en rivière créent entre les visiteurs, les peuples des régions du Dehcho et du Sahtu, et ces parcs.

1.1 Bien-fondé des réserves de parc national Nahanni et Nááts’įhch’oh

La réserve de parc national Nahanni (Nahʔą Dehé) est un site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO reconnu dans le monde entier pour ses reliefs géologiques. Milieu sauvage emblématique du Nord, Nahʔą Dehé contient des flèches en pur granit, de vastes plateaux alpins et, en plein centre, la rivière Nahanni Sud, désignée rivière du patrimoine canadien. Ce cours d’eau du grand esprit poursuit sa course bruyante à Náįlįcho (chutes Virginia) et serpente dans certains des canyons les plus profonds du Canada. Les labyrinthes naturels de karst de la réserve de parc Nahanni comptent parmi les exemples les plus spectaculaires de ce type de topographie connus de la race humaine. Les bassins d’eaux minérales de Gahnįhthah forment les plus gros amoncellements de tuf calcaire au Canada. Gahnįhthah est un lieu sacré, résidence du marcheur de l’horizon, Yamba Deja, à l’origine de la loi dénée. Cependant, la réserve de parc national Nahanni est bien plus que la somme de ses reliefs : c’est aussi un paysage culturel, un lieu intemporel, porteur d’un sens profond. Les visiteurs y sont accueillis par les Premières Nations du Dehcho, dont les ancêtres habitent à Nahʔą Dehé depuis des temps immémoriaux. Les alpinistes, les randonneurs, les pagayeurs et les visiteurs de tout acabit puisent inspiration et rapprochement dans cette terre sauvage et ses gens. La réserve de parc national Nahanni est le cadeau offert par les Premières Nations du Dehcho au Canada, et le cadeau du Canada au monde entier.

La réserve de parc national Nááts’įhch’oh est la patrie ancestrale des Shúhtaot'ine, des Dénés des montagnes et des Métis. La culture et la nature s’y entrelacent, et les traditions s’y perpétuent. Les Dénés et les Métis du Sahtu habitant dans le district de Tulita de même que Parcs Canada sont chargés de la protection des terres, de l’eau, de la faune et des lieux spirituels sacrés que l’on trouve dans le parc. Les histoires, les connaissances et les protocoles des Shúhtaot'ine guident les gens et offrent des enseignements. Le parc protège la rivière Nahanni Sud et ses affluents tout en haut dans les monts Mackenzie.

1.2 Énoncé d’intégrité écologique

L’énoncé d’intégrité écologique de la réserve de parc national Nahanni tient compte des observations des aînés, des dirigeants communautaires, des organismes gouvernementaux et d’autres groupes d’intérêt. Il s’agit d’un résumé de la vision sur l’écologie de Nahʔą Dehé, rédigé à partir de ces observations :

Nahʔą Dehé protégera un bassin hydrographique en milieu sauvage au sein des monts Mackenzie, où les processus naturels demeurent les forces dominantes qui façonnent l’écosystème du parc et où la biodiversité indigène sera maintenue. L’exploitation traditionnelle de subsistance continuera de faire partie intégrante de l’écosystème et se fera conformément à la loi et aux principes dénés. Nahʔą Dehé sera un modèle de gestion coopérative avec les Premières Nations du Dehcho où l’intégrité écologique et culturelle sera protégée, où l’accès des visiteurs sera encouragé dans les limites de l’intégrité écologique et de l’expérience en milieu sauvage, et où les messages sur le patrimoine naturel et culturel seront communiqués avec excellence. Nahʔą Dehé fera également la promotion de l’excellence sur le plan de l’exécution des activités scientifiques et de la protection coopérative des ressources.

1.3 Historique de l’octroi de permis aux pourvoyeurs d’excursions guidées en rivière

Parcs Canada a commencé à octroyer des permis d’exploitation aux pourvoyeurs commerciaux d’excursions en rivière après la création de la réserve de parc national Nahanni. Toutefois, des activités guidées étaient déjà offertes sur la rivière Nahanni Sud avant cela. Dans le premier Plan directeur de la réserve de parc national Nahanni (1987), aucune limite n’a été imposée sur le nombre de pourvoyeurs commerciaux. Des modifications apportées à ce plan directeur en 1994 ont eu pour effet de limiter le nombre de permis d’exploitation octroyés. Selon ces modifications, un maximum de quatre permis pouvait être accordé pour la réserve de parc national Nahanni, et un permis supplémentaire était réservé à un commerce qualifié du Dehcho. Le plan directeur de 2004 prévoyait également l’octroi de quatre permis, plus un permis supplémentaire pour un commerce qualifié du Dehcho. Le plan directeur de 2010 poursuivait dans la même veine, mais prévoyait la possibilité d’accroître le nombre de permis en raison de l’agrandissement du parc. Le premier Plan directeur de la réserve de parc national Nááts’įhch’oh (2017) n’établissait pas de limite quant au nombre de permis octroyés étant donné que la fréquentation y est relativement faible et qu’il y a des possibilités de croissance.

Tous les plans directeurs de la réserve de parc Nahinni arrivent à la même conclusion : il faut imposer des limites aux activités récréatives menées sur la rivière Nahinni Sud afin de gérer les répercussions potentielles sur les ressources du parc, d’en préserver le caractère sauvage, d’équilibrer l’accès commercial et l’accès non commercial, et de respecter la capacité des infrastructures actuelles. Au fur et à mesure que changeront ou évolueront les paramètres, les réserves de parc national Nááts’įhch’oh et Nahanni pourront adopter une approche de gestion adaptative axée sur la prudence pour gérer l’utilisation de la rivière et l’octroi de permis. Elles pourront toutefois continuer de limiter les activités commerciales à des fins de planification future.

2.0 Portée

Les présentes lignes directrices expliquent clairement les activités que peuvent mener les pourvoyeurs commerciaux sur les rivières des réserves de parc national Nahanni et Nááts’įhch’oh. Une fois qu’elles seront mises en œuvre, on pourra en évaluer l’efficacité, de même que les stratégies qu’elles contiennent, par la tenue de consultations continues et la mobilisation des intervenants. Elles pourront être révisées au besoin, à la demande de nos partenaires autochtones de gestion participative, en raison des engagements qui y sont énoncés, ou encore si les réalités opérationnelles changent de façon notable. Le personnel des réserves de parc national Nááts’įhch’oh et Nahanni communiquera avec les collectivités et les intervenants lorsque le présent document fera l’objet d’un examen ou de révisions. L’objectif consiste à élaborer des stratégies efficaces pour assurer une fréquentation durable dans les réserves de parc national Nahanni et Nááts’įhch’oh. Il est important de noter que les demandes de permis seront traitées avec le concours complet de nos partenaires dénés et métis.

En vertu du Règlement sur l’exploitation de commerces dans les parcs nationaux du Canada, et conformément à celui-ci, il revient d’abord au directeur de recevoir les demandes de permis, de déterminer la nature et la quantité de renseignements dont il a besoin pour étudier ces demandes, de rendre une décision à leur sujet et d’établir les modalités des permis. Le présent document se veut un guide pour le directeur, mais ne doit pas entraver la discrétion, le pouvoir et les responsabilités confiés à ce dernier par le Règlement. Il doit donc être interprété en conséquence.

2.1 Interprétation

Allocation à Nái̖li̖cho – Désigne le jour civil de l’arrivée à Nái̖li̖cho. Tous les groupes sont autorisés à y séjourner deux nuits au maximum. Le directeur de la réserve de parc national Nahanni gère l’allocation.
Année – Désigne la période commençant le 1er avril d’une année et se terminant le 31 mars de l’année suivante. Règlement sur l’exploitation de commerces dans les parcs nationaux du Canada, DORS/98-455. Capacité de Nái̖li̖cho – Désigne le nombre maximum de personnes (54) que l’infrastructure de Nái̖li̖cho peut accueillir pour une nuit de camping sans que cela ait un impact déraisonnable sur les ressources du patrimoine et l’agrément des visiteurs.
Comité consultatif – Désigne un comité pouvant être mis sur pied pour étudier et évaluer les demandes de permis à la suite d’une notification.
Comité de gestion de Nááts’įhch’oh – Désigne le conseil de gestion participative de la réserve de parc national Nááts’įhch’oh conformément au Plan des répercussions et des avantages. Il est composé de personnes nommées par le Conseil des ressources renouvelables de Tulita, par le Conseil des ressources renouvelables de Norman Wells et par le ministre responsable de Parcs Canada. Un membre est nommé par le gouvernement fédéral en consultation avec le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord Ouest et un autre, sur recommandation des Premières Nations du Dehcho.
Commerce – Désigne tout métier, industrie, emploi, profession, activité ou événement spécial exercé, exploité ou mené dans un parc, à des fins lucratives ou pour une collecte de fonds ou une promotion commerciale, notamment une entreprise exploitée par une œuvre de bienfaisance ou une entreprise sans but lucratif exploitée par une organisation ou une personne. Règlement sur l’exploitation de commerces dans les parcs nationaux du Canada, DORS/98-455.
Commerce du Dehcho ou du Sahtu – Désigne :
(a) une entreprise à propriétaire unique appartenant à un membre des Dénés ou des Métis du Dehcho ou du Sahtu, district de Tulita, ou à la Tulita District Land Corporation;
(b) une entité qui est :

    (i) une société dont plus de 51 p. 100 des actions avec droit de vote sont la propriété effective d’un membre des Dénés ou des Métis du Dehcho ou du Sahtu, district de Tulita, ou de la Tulita District Land Corporation; (ii) une coopérative contrôlée par un membre des Dénés ou des Métis du Dehcho ou du Sahtu, district de Tulita, ou par la Tulita District Land Corporation;
    (iii) une société de personnes contrôlée à plus de 51 p. 100 par un membre des Dénés ou des Métis du Dehcho ou du Sahtu, district de Tulita, ou par une entité visée aux sous-alinéas (i) ou (ii);
    (iv) un organisme sans but lucratif contrôlé par un membre des Déné
    s ou des Métis du Dehcho ou du Sahtu, district de Tulita, ou par la Tulita District Land Corporation; ou (v) une coentreprise ou un consortium dont un membre des Dénés ou des Métis du Dehcho ou du Sahtu, district de Tulita, ou la Tulita District Land Corporation, ou une entité visée aux sous-alinéas (i), (ii), (iii) ou (iv), a la propriété et le contrôle à plus de 51 p. 100.

Directeur – Désigne un agent nommé en vertu de la Loi sur l’Agence Parcs Canada, L.C. 1998, ch. 31, qui occupe le poste de directeur d’un parc ou d’un lieu historique national du Canada auquel s’applique la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada, L.C. 2000, ch. 32, et comprend toute personne nommée en vertu de cette loi qui est autorisée par un tel dirigeant à agir en son nom.
Directeur général – Désigne un agent nommé par le gouverneur en conseil en vertu de la Loi sur l’Agence Parcs Canada. Le directeur général, qui relève du ministre, a pour responsabilité de diriger et de gérer l’Agence et tout ce qui s’y rattache.
Équipe du consensus Nahʔą Dehé – Désigne le conseil autochtone de gestion participative de la réserve de parc national Nahanni en vertu de l’Entente provisoire relativement à la gestion de la réserve du parc national Nahanni (2003). L’Équipe est composée de représentants de Parcs Canada (2); des Premières Nations du Dehcho (2); de la bande des Dénés de Nahʔą Dehé (2); et du Comité de gestion de Nááts’įhch’oh (1). Loi – Désigne la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada.
Notification – Désigne l’avis donné au public selon lequel la réserve de parc national Nahanni ou la réserve de parc national Nááts’įhch’oh peut étudier de nouvelles demandes de permis de pourvoyeurs concernant l’offre de services guidés en rivière.
Permis – Désigne un permis délivré par le directeur en vertu de l’article 4.1 ou délivré ou rétabli en application du paragraphe 10.1(2), selon le cas. Règlement sur l’exploitation de commerces dans les parcs nationaux du Canada, DORS/98-455.
Plan des répercussions et des avantages – Désigne le Plan des répercussions et des avantages associé à la réserve de parc national Nááts’įhch’oh. Il s’agit d’une entente exécutoire conclue entre le gouvernement du Canada et les Dénés et Métis du Sahtu.
Règlement – Désigne le Règlement sur l’exploitation de commerces dans les parcs nationaux du Canada, DORS/98-455, pris en vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada.
Titulaire de permis – Désigne le détenteur d’un permis valide. Règlement sur l’exploitation de commerces dans les parcs nationaux du Canada, DORS/98-455.


1.0 Introduction

2.0 Portée

3.0 Détermination des taux de fréquentation appropriés

4.0 Processus d’octroi de permis pour les nouvelles demandes

Annexe A : Modalités types des permis

Annexe B : Processus d’octroi des permis pour les nouvelles demandes et lignes directrices pour la préparation d’une demande