The landscapes of Nááts’įhch’oh National Park Reserve are home to nearly 200 identified species of vascular plants, in addition to a wide variety of mosses and lichens. From mountaintops to valley bottoms, diverse habitats support unique and beautiful examples of subarctic vegetation. Note that harvesting of plants and plant parts within park boundaries is only permitted by local Indigenous traditional users.

Plants serve intrinsic roles within their environments. They influence – and are affected by – animals, local climate, underlying rocks and soils, and water regimes. Together, these intricate relationships define the park’s ecosystems. Plants stabilise rocky slopes, produce oxygen, and provide food sources for herbivorous animals like moose and caribou.

The park’s northern latitude and mountainous location affect growing conditions for vegetation in fundamental ways. Not far from the Arctic Circle, the park has great seasonal differences in light availability. The dark winter months bring extreme cold and a deep snowpack, but long daylight hours in the summer help plants to grow and reproduce quickly. This is especially true on south-facing slopes, which receive the most direct sunlight. Elevation also determines where plant species can be found; high in the mountains, cold winds and low temperatures exclude all but the hardiest species, while valleys buffer harsh weather and provide sheltered areas for diverse plant communities to thrive.

The park’s terrestrial ecosystems can be divided into four broad categories, each distinguished by the species and conditions that exist there.

    Alpine
    alpine plants
    © Parks Canada / Jenny George

    Rugged mountain ridges and alpine meadows feature species that are hardy enough to persist under difficult growing conditions. Snow can fall during any month of the year in the mountains, giving alpine plants a particularly short season to grow and reproduce. They must be able to anchor themselves well in shallow, rubbly soils in order to endure high winds and rock falls and reproduce quickly during the short summer season.

    Hiking up to these higher elevations during the summer months provides an opportunity to see wildflowers like white mountain avens, mountain harebell, Lapland rosebay, and pink mountain heather. Nodding campion and inky blue gentian feature particularly delicate and unique flowers. These alpine blossoms peak during the month of July and fill mountain slopes with vibrant colour. Though few trees exist in these environments, stunted subalpine firs sometimes grow in depressions and on slopes protected from prevailing winds. The tangled, stout growth forms they have at these elevations are known as krummholtz, a German term meaning “crooked wood”

    Sub-alpine forest
    Plants_mixed-forest
    © Parks Canada / Fritz Mueller

    Sheltered areas below the alpine zone permit denser growth of trees and other plants. At the upper margin of this zone, shrubs like dwarf birch create dense thickets that are punctuated by sentinel-like firs. Caribou visit these areas while foraging, searching for thick patches of ground lichens. Forests farther down into the valleys feature lush groves of black and white spruce. Their understory includes shrubby plants like willows and Labrador tea, as well as an array of wildflowers.

    Blossoming begins early here; flowers are most numerous in June and many species have finished by early August. Paddlers and hikers travelling through forested zones are likely to see river beauty, mountain larkspur, Arctic lupine, and fireweed. Orchids, such as the sparrow’s-egg lady’s-slipper and green bog orchid, grow in moist, shady areas.

    Toward the end of the summer, fruits like blueberries, bog cranberries, wild currants, and gooseberries ripen, and bears eat them in earnest to prepare for hibernation. Hillside carpets of dwarf birch go through a magnificent colour transition through red and orange hues in the autumn, while aspen and poplar trees add bursts of golden yellow to the landscape.

    Wetlands
    Plants_wetlands
    © Parks Canada / Fritz Mueller

    Plant communities in these moist environments are well adapted to waterlogged soils with low dissolved oxygen levels. Several sedge and willow species thrive here; sometimes they grow on floating mats of vegetation that are also dense with spongy mosses. Raised hummocks often support copses of black spruce trees, whose roots can tolerate wetter soils. Arctic dock, alpine bistort, common palustre, yellow thimbleweed, and Arctic starflower bloom close to the water’s edge during the summer. A carnivorous plant, the common butterwort, also grows in these damp environments.

    Enjoy these wetland ecosystems at Nááts’įhch’oh Tué (Moose Ponds), where a network of beaver dams has created a series of ponds, pools, and channels. Verdant vegetation forms a backdrop for observing moose, beaver, and caribou, as well as an abundance of migratory bird species.

    Geothermal areas
    Plants_Geothermal-areas
    © Parks Canada / Fritz Mueller

    Hot springs in the park are sources for warm, mineral-rich water that creates unique micro-ecosystems. At Sadéé Shúh Gaǫfáá (Sunlight Mountain Hot Spring) and Pı̨́ı̨́p'enéh łéetǫ́ǫ́ Gaǫfáá (Broken Skull Hot Spring), a profusion of flowering species like bog lobelia, yellow rattle, starry false Solomon’s seal, and death camas grow around hot pools. Sadéé Shúh Gaǫfáá is the only known location in the Northwest Territories where Prunella vulgaris (Heal-All or Self-Heal) can be found.

    Tread lightly when visiting these special plant communities, leaving them intact so that other visitors may have the same enjoyable experience while they enjoy a relaxing soak.

Les paysages de la réserve de parc national Nááts’įhch’oh abritent près de 200 espèces identifiées de plantes vasculaires, en plus d’une grande variété de mousses et de lichens. Du sommet des montagnes au fond des vallées, divers habitats soutiennent des exemples uniques et magnifiques de végétation subarctique. À noter que la récolte des végétaux et parties de végétaux à l’intérieur des limites du parc est permise uniquement pour les utilisateurs traditionnels autochtones locaux.

Les plantes ont un rôle intrinsèque à jouer au sein de leur environnement. Elles ont une incidence sur les animaux, le climat local, les roches et les sols souterrains et les régimes hydrologiques – en plus d’être touchées par ces derniers. Ensemble, ces relations complexes définissent les écosystèmes du parc. Les plantes stabilisent les pentes rocheuses, produisent de l’oxygène et fournissent des sources de nourriture pour les animaux herbivores comme l’orignal et le caribou.

La latitude nordique et l’emplacement montagneux du parc ont des répercussions sur les conditions de croissance de la végétation de manière fondamentale. Situé non loin du cercle polaire arctique, le parc a de grandes différences saisonnières en matière de luminosité disponible. Les mois d’hiver sombres apportent un froid extrême et un épais manteau de neige, mais les longues heures de clarté de l’été aident les plantes à pousser et à se reproduire rapidement. C’est particulièrement vrai sur les pentes exposées au sud, qui reçoivent la lumière du soleil la plus directe. L’altitude détermine également l’endroit où se trouvent les espèces végétales; haut dans les montagnes, les vents froids et les basses températures excluent toutes les espèces, sauf les plus robustes, alors que les vallées tempèrent les conditions météorologiques difficiles et fournissent des zones abritées afin que diverses communautés végétales puissent prospérer.

Les écosystèmes terrestres du parc peuvent être divisés en quatre grandes catégories, chacune se distinguant par les espèces et les conditions qui y prévalent.

    Zone alpine
    © Parcs Canada / Jenny George

    Les crêtes escarpées des montagnes et les prés alpins présentent des espèces qui sont à peine suffisantes pour persister dans des conditions de croissance difficiles. Dans les montagnes, la neige peut tomber tous les mois de l’année, ce qui donne aux plantes alpines une saison de croissance et de reproduction particulièrement courte. Elles doivent être bien ancrées dans des sols peu profonds et rocailleux afin de supporter des vents forts et des chutes de rochers, et elles doivent se reproduire rapidement au cours de la courte saison estivale.

    La randonnée jusqu’à ces altitudes plus élevées pendant les mois d’été offre l’occasion de voir des fleurs sauvages comme la dryade à feuilles entières, la campanule tomenteuse, le rhododendron de Laponie et la phyllodoce à feuilles de camarine. Le silène de l’Oural et la gentiane d’encre bleue ont des fleurs uniques particulièrement délicates. Ces fleurs alpines fleurissent au cours du mois de juillet et couvrent les pentes montagneuses de couleurs vibrantes. Bien que quelques arbres existent dans ces milieux, les sapins subalpins rabougris poussent parfois dans les dépressions et sur des pentes protégées des vents dominants. Les formes enchevêtrées et robustes que ces derniers ont à ces altitudes sont connues sous le nom de krummholtz, un terme allemand qui signifie « bois tordu »

    Forêt subalpine
    Plants_mixed-forest
    © Parcs Canada / Fritz Mueller

    Les zones abritées sous la zone alpine permettent aux arbres et à d’autres plantes d’avoir une densité de croissance plus importante. À la limite supérieure de cette zone, les arbustes comme le bouleau glanduleux créent des fourrés denses qui sont ponctués de sapins ressemblant à des sentinelles. Le caribou visite ces zones en quête de nourriture, à la recherche de bancs épais de lichens terrestres. Les forêts situées plus bas dans les vallées présentent des bosquets luxuriants d’épinettes noires et blanches. Leur sous étage comprend des plantes arbustives comme les saules et le thé du Labrador, ainsi que toute une gamme de fleurs sauvages./p>

    La floraison commence tôt ici; les fleurs sont plus nombreuses en juin et de nombreuses espèces ont fini de fleurir au début d’août. Les pagayeurs et les randonneurs qui voyagent à travers les zones boisées sont susceptibles de voir l’épilobe à feuilles larges, le pied d’alouette glauque, le lupin arctique et l’épilobe à feuilles étroites. Les orchidées, comme le cypripède œuf de passereau et l’orchidée de tourbières vertes, poussent dans des zones humides et ombragées./p>

    Vers la fin de l'été, les fruits comme les bleuets, les canneberges des tourbières, les groseilles sauvages et les groseilles à maquereau mûres, et les ours les mangent en quantité pour se préparer à hiberner. Les tapis montagneux de bouleaux glanduleux passent par une magnifique transition de couleurs, adoptant des teintes de rouge et d’orange au cours de l’automne, alors que les trembles et les peupliers ajoutent des salves de jaune doré au paysage.

    Terres humides
    Plants_wetlands
    © Parcs Canada / Fritz Mueller

    Les communautés végétales dans ces milieux humides sont bien adaptées aux sols gorgés d’eau à faibles niveaux en oxygène dissous. Plusieurs espèces de carex et de saules prospèrent ici; parfois, ils poussent sur des tapis flottants de végétation qui sont également denses avec des mousses spongieuses. Les poches soulevées soutiennent souvent les taillis d’épinettes noires, dont les racines peuvent tolérer les sols humides. La patience arctique, la renouée vivipare, le palustre commun, l’anémone de Richardson et la trientale arctique fleurissent près du bord de l’eau pendant l’été. Une plante carnivore, la grassette vulgaire, pousse également dans ces milieux humides.

    Profitez de ces écosystèmes humides à Nááts’įhch’oh Tué (Moose Ponds), où un réseau de barrages de castors a créé une série de bassins, de piscines et de canaux. La végétation verdoyante forme une toile de fond pour observer l’orignal, le castor et le caribou, ainsi qu’une abondance d’espèces d’oiseaux migrateurs.

    Zones géothermiques
    Plants_Geothermal-areas
    © Parcs Canada / Fritz Mueller

    Les sources thermales du parc sont des sources d’eau chaude riches en minéraux qui créent un microécosystème unique. À Sadéé Shúh Gaǫfáá (sources thermales Sunlight Mountain) et à Pı̨́ı̨́p’enéh łéetǫ́ǫ́ Gaǫfáá (sources thermales Broken Skull), il y a une profusion d’espèces de plantes à fleurs comme la lobelie de Kalm, la rhinanthe crête de coq, la smilacine étoilée et le zigadène vénéneux poussent autour des sources thermales. Sadéé Shúh Gaǫfáá est le seul endroit connu des Territoires du Nord-Ouest où l'on trouve Prunella vulgaris (brunelle commune, brunelle vulgaire ou prunelle vulgaire).

    Soyez prudent lorsque vous visitez ces communautés végétales spéciales, laissez les intactes afin que d’autres visiteurs puissent profiter de la même expérience agréable pendant qu’ils profitent d’une baignade relaxante