Nááts’įhch’oh National Park Reserve does not yet have regulations to enable fishing. As a result, visitors are not allowed to fish in any lakes, rivers, or streams during their stay. Only harvesting by local Indigenous traditional users is permitted at this time.

Nááts’įhch’oh National Park Reserve’s cold, clear waters provide excellent habitat for fish. They live throughout the headwaters of the area’s three major rivers: Pı̨́ı̨́p'enéh łéetǫ́ǫ́ Deé (Broken Skull), Tehjeh Deé (South Nahanni), and Łáhtanįlį Deé (Little Nahanni).

Rocky, fast-flowing streams carrying snowmelt provide ideal conditions for Arctic grayling, which depend on the high dissolved oxygen content in very cold water. Small aquatic insects cling to submerged rocks, providing food for the slimy sculpins that are found in the park’s streams and lakes. The still and clear waters of lakes like Ǫtaa Tué Fehto (Divide Lake) offer some of the best opportunities to observe fish in their aquatic habitats. Expect to see schools of tiny minnows as well as large, solitary adults scanning for food.

Research by Parks Canada and Fisheries and Oceans Canada has identified four fish species in Nááts’įhch’oh National Park Reserve: slimy sculpin, Arctic grayling, burbot, and lake trout. Relatively few species exist here because geographic barriers prevent most fish from migrating upstream into these mountains. Náįlįcho (Virginia Falls) in neighbouring Nahanni National Park Reserve is a prime example; this powerful, 96 meter cascade on the Nahanni River is impossible for fish to ascend.

Monitoring fish species and aquatic environments

La réserve de parc national Nááts’įhch’oh n’a pas encore de réglementation qui permette la pêche. Par conséquent, les visiteurs ne sont pas autorisés à pêcher dans les lacs, les rivières ou les cours d’eau pendant leur séjour. Seule la récolte par les utilisateurs traditionnels autochtones locaux est permise en ce moment.

Les eaux claires et froides de la réserve de parc national Nááts’įhch’oh offrent un excellent habitat pour les poissons. Ils vivent dans le cours supérieur des trois grandes rivières de la région : Pı̨́ı̨́p’enéh łéetǫ́ǫ́ Deé (rivière Broken Skull), Tehjeh Deé (rivière Nahanni Sud) et Łáhtanįlį Deé (rivière Little Nahanni).

Des débits rapides et rocailleux transportant la fonte des neiges offrent des conditions idéales pour l’ombre de l’Arctique, qui dépend de la teneur élevée en oxygène dissous dans de l’eau très froide. De petits insectes aquatiques s’accrochent aux rochers submergés, fournissant de la nourriture pour les chabots visqueux qui se trouvent dans les cours d’eau et les lacs du parc. Les eaux claires et tranquilles des lacs comme le Ǫtaa Tué Fehto (lac Divide) offrent certaines des meilleures occasions d'observer les poissons dans leurs habitats aquatiques. Attendez vous à voir des bancs de minuscules ménés ainsi que de grands adultes solitaires qui recherchent de la nourriture.

Les recherches effectuées par Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada ont indiqué quatre espèces de poissons dans la réserve de parc national Nááts’įhch’oh : le chabot visqueux, l’ombre de l’Arctique, la lotte et le touladi. Relativement peu d’espèces existent ici puisque les obstacles géographiques empêchent la majorité des poissons de migrer en amont dans ces montagnes. Náįlįcho (chute Virginia), dans la réserve de parc national Nahanni voisine est un bon exemple; cette puissante cascade de 96 mètres sur la rivière Nahanni est impossible à escalader pour les poissons.

Surveillance des espèces de poissons et des milieux aquatiques