As a remote park with challenging terrain, Nááts’įhch’oh National Park Reserve demands a specialised strategy for monitoring wildlife. Staff flights to the park are only possible during a few summer months, and harsh winter weather tests the limits of equipment left in the field.

Parks Canada has taken these conditions into account in developing a monitoring program based on a network of remote cameras. These units are anchored to trees and metal posts to capture images of wildlife that pass by, triggering motion sensors. Cameras serve as low-impact and robust tools for monitoring wildlife, particularly large and mobile species like caribou.

The images give Parks Canada scientists valuable information about body condition, reproductive success, and seasonal habitat use. This information is especially important for long-term monitoring of the Northern Mountain population of woodland caribou, a species at risk. The park collaborates closely with neighbouring Nahanni National Park Reserve in tracking caribou populations, as well as those of other wildlife species.

Privacy and security

Though nearly all cameras are positioned along wildlife trails in little-accessed areas of the park, some are installed near sites that visitors access – such as at hot springs. These units have identifying decals and contact details for the Nááts’įhch’oh National Park Reserve office. Parks Canada handles all camera data securely and deletes images in which visitors appear.

En tant que parc éloigné ayant un terrain difficile, la réserve de parc national Nááts’įhch’oh exige une stratégie spécialisée pour la surveillance de la faune. Les vols amenant le personnel au parc ne sont possibles que pendant quelques mois d’été, et les rudes conditions hivernales testent les limites de l’équipement laissé sur le terrain.

Parcs Canada a tenu compte de ces conditions au cours de l’élaboration d’un programme de surveillance fondé sur un réseau de caméras de la faune. Ces unités sont ancrées à des arbres et des poteaux de métal pour saisir des images de la faune qui passe par là, déclenchant des détecteurs de mouvement. Les caméras servent d’outils robustes à faible incidence pour la surveillance de la faune, en particulier les grandes espèces mobiles comme le caribou.

Les images donnent aux scientifiques de Parcs Canada des renseignements précieux sur l’état corporel, le succès de la reproduction et l’utilisation saisonnière de l’habitat. Ces renseignements sont particulièrement importants pour la surveillance à long terme de la population caribou des bois des montages du Nord, une espèce en péril. Le parc collabore étroitement avec la réserve de parc national Nahanni voisine pour effectuer le suivi des populations de caribous, ainsi que celui d’autres espèces sauvages.

Vie privée et sécurité

Même si presque toutes les caméras sont placées le long de sentiers fauniques peu accessibles du parc, certaines sont installées près de sites auxquels les visiteurs ont accès – comme les sources thermales. Ces unités ont des autocollants d’identification et les coordonnées du bureau de la réserve de parc national Nááts’įhch’oh. Parcs Canada traite toutes les données des caméras de manière sécuritaire et efface les images dans lesquelles des visiteurs apparaissent.