Nááts’įhch’oh National Park Reserve protects the Tehjeh Deé (South Nahanni River) watershed as well as Túoch'ee Tué (O’Grady Lake), which flows into Túoch'ee Deé (Natla River). These snow-fed waters are renowned among whitewater paddlers for their technical challenges: rock gardens, rapids, and other features. River basins within the park lack infrastructure and industrial development, meaning that aquatic ecosystems are relatively pristine. Streams, rivers, lakes, and wetlands provide important habitat for fish, aquatic invertebrates, birds, as well as mammals like muskrats and beaver.

Most waterways in the park are ice covered for about seven months per year. Deep winter snowpack and ice melt rapidly in the spring. Throughout the summer, water temperatures in rivers and streams hover above freezing, although lakes and wetlands are several degrees warmer.

The park’s three major rivers drain into the Tehjeh Deé (South Nahanni River, or Nahʔa Dehé in the Dehcho language), which is a tributary of the Deho (Mackenzie River), the longest in Canada. Its waters drain into the Arctic Ocean. Other major rivers originating from the Shúhta (Central Mackenzie Mountains), although not within the park’s boundary, include the Begaadeé (Keele) and Túoch'ee Deé (Natla). For many generations these rivers have served as travel routes between the mountains and lowlands for the Sahtu Dene and Métis people. Mooseskin boats were often used to transport people and goods down these waterways.

La réserve de parc national Nááts’įhch’oh protège le bassin hydrographique de Tehjeh Deé (rivière Nahanni Sud) ainsi que Túoch’ee Tué (lac O’Grady), qui se jette dans Túoch’ee Deé (la rivière Natla). Ces eaux alimentées par la fonte des neiges sont renommées chez les pagayeurs en eaux vives pour leurs défis techniques : les jardins de rocailles, les rapides et autres caractéristiques. Les bassins des rivières à l’intérieur du parc n’ont aucune infrastructure ou développement industriel, ce qui signifie que les écosystèmes aquatiques sont relativement vierges. Les cours d’eau, les rivières, les lacs et les terres humides fournissent un habitat important pour les poissons, les invertébrés aquatiques, les oiseaux, ainsi que les mammifères comme les rats musqués et les castors.

La plupart des cours d’eau du parc sont couverts de glace pendant environ sept mois par année. Au printemps, la couche de neige profonde et la glace fondent rapidement. Tout au long de l’été, les températures des rivières et des cours d’eau se stabilisent au dessus du point de congélation, bien que la température des lacs et des terres humides soit plus élevée de plusieurs degrés.

Les trois grandes rivières du parc se jettent dans la Tehjeh Deé (la rivière Nahanni Sud, ou Nahʔa Dehé dans la langue Dehcho), qui est un affluent du Deho (fleuve Mackenzie), le plus long au Canada. Ses eaux se jettent dans l’océan Arctique. Les autres principaux cours d'eau provenant de Shúhta (monts Mackenzie centraux), même s’ils ne se trouvent pas dans les limites du parc, comprennent la Begaadeé (rivière Keele) et Túoch'ee Deé (rivière Natla). Pendant de nombreuses générations, ces rivières ont servi de routes entre les montagnes et les basses terres pour les Dénés et les Métis de Sahtu. Les bateaux en peau d’orignal étaient souvent utilisés pour le transport des personnes et des marchandises sur ces cours d’eau.