The Shúhtaot'ine (Mountain Dene) are one of the peoples that are part of the Sahtu Dene and Métis. The Shúhtaot'ine are the traditional users and travelers of Shúhta, the Central Mackenzie Mountains, including the lands now in Nááts'įhch'oh National Park Reserve.

The Sahtu Dene and Métis continue to use this land to hunt moose and caribou, catch fish, and gather berries and medicines. Long before paddlers and outdoor adventurers began coming to these lands, the Shúhtaot'ine travelled annual circuits over high alpine passes, down twisting river valleys, and out into the forests and lowlands. The ingenious mooseskin boat, a vessel made of spruce and raw moose hides, was used to travel down several of the region’s rivers.

Today, many of the Shúhtaot'ine reside in the Sahtu communities of Tulita and Norman Wells, on the banks of the Deho, the Mackenzie River. The Shúhtaot'ine dialect is used by Parks Canada for Nááts’įhch’oh National Park Reserve place names.

Les Shúhtaot'ine (Dénés des montagnes) est l’un des peuples qui font partie des Dénés et Métis du Sahtu. Les Shúhtaot'ine sont les utilisateurs et les voyageurs traditionnels de Shúhta, les monts Mackenzie centraux, y compris les terres maintenant situées dans la réserve de parc national Nááts'įhch'oh.

Les Dénés et Métis du Sahtu continuent d’utiliser ces terres pour chasser l’orignal et le caribou, pour attraper du poisson, et pour cueillir des baies et des médicaments. Bien avant que les pagayeurs et les aventuriers de plein air ne commencent à arriver sur ces terres, les Shúhtaot'ine parcouraient chaque année des circuits sur les hauts cols alpins, dans les vallées sinueuses, et dans les forêts et les basses terres. L’ingénieux bateau en peau d’élan, un bateau fait d’épinettes et de peaux d’orignal brutes, a été utilisé pour descendre plusieurs rivières de la région.

Aujourd’hui, de nombreux Shúhtaot'ine résident dans les communautés du Sahtu de Tulita et de Norman Wells, sur les rives du Deho, le fleuve Mackenzie. Parcs Canada utilise le dialecte des Shúhtaot'ine pour les noms de lieux de la réserve de parc national Nááts’įhch’oh.